Skip to Main Content

Recreation, Tourism & Hospitality

A guide of library resources for students and faculty of recreation, tourism, and hospitality at the University of Northern Colorado.
Find Journal Articles by Topic
Recreation, Tourism & Hospitality is an interdisciplinary field that may delve into business literature, social sciences and sociology literature, psychology literature, sport literature, or all the above. Business Source Premier and ABI/INFORM Global are the best starting places for business research, while Social Sciences Full Text covers many fields at once, and PsycINFO is the premier psychological literature database in the world. Additional databases are listed below. To browse all UNC Libraries databases, see Databases A-Z.
4 Best Starting Places for Recreation, Tourism & Hospitality Topics
Business Source Premier
 
ABI/INFORM Global
PsycINFO
 
Social Sciences Full Text
Google ScholarAnd, if you’re thinking, “Wait, what about Google Scholar?” I’ll answer you by saying that Google Scholar is a fine tool for what it is. But if you are using Google Scholar to find literature on your topic, you need to take some extra steps. For instance, library databases allow you to limit your results to peer-review journals – or only index peer reviewed journals (e.g., PubMed). Many databases include limits that Google Scholar does not have; to name two really useful limiters: type of article (qualitative, quantitative, systematic review, etc.) and age group (6-12, 13-18, 19-44, etc.). If you do find articles through Google Scholar, use UlrichsWeb to determine if the articles were published in peer reviewed journals.