Research Guides: Business Research: Home

See the alphabetical list below for business-related databases available at the University of Northern Colorado. For helpful hints on choosing and using the right resources by topic, use the menu to the left. Click here to access all University Libraries Databases.

Business Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window A leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Industry reports, company profiles, country reports, and full-text articles from scholarly business journals. (EBSCO)
Research Library This link opens in a new window Covers scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers in a broad range of subjects.

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information.

Select Individual Newspapers:

Denver Business Journal
Financial Times -1996 to one month ago (rolling) available via ABI/INFORM Global.
Greeley Tribune
Wall Street Journal (Online Edition) - 2010 to present available via ABI/INFORM Global.
Wall Street Journal (Print Eastern Edition) - 1984 to present available via ABI/INFORM Global.

Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window This database contains essential publications for information about the financial services industry, including accounting, tax, banking, and industry trends.
Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new window This database provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines. Find information on companies, economies, markets, international trade, and overall business conditions and practices throughout these regions.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Industry reports, company profiles, country reports, and full-text articles from scholarly business journals. (EBSCO)
Cabells This link opens in a new window Journalytics provides a curated list of over 11,000 academic journals spanning 18 disciplines which guides researchers and institutions in getting the most impact out of their research. You’ll find publisher names, audience types, acceptance rates, and links directly to the journal website. In addition to basic journal details like launch dates, editor contact information, and ISSNs, each entry shows you what to expect during the submission process. Know how to format your manuscript and what type of peer review you’ll get.
Career and Technical Education This link opens in a new window ProQuest Career and Technical Education is the definitive source for vocational information. Both students and instructors can access the database to research virtually any technical topic, including: Computing science, Healthcare, Building trades, Auto mechanics, Sales and retail, Accounting, Graphic design, Photography.
Checkpoint This link opens in a new window Tax and financial information
Conference Board Research This link opens in a new window Over 1000 references on key business issues regarding corporate leadership, economy and business environment, and human capital.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window Millions of dissertations, including those in the disciplines of management theory and techniques, accounting, finance, and business trends.

Resources Provided through Monfort College of Business:

Capital IQ - To set up an account, see the Capital IQ Self-Registration Instructions
Bloomberg for Education Portal (BMC Web Portal) - For help getting started, see the Bloomberg Remote Access Overview documentation
Bloomberg Terminal (temporary remote access) - For help getting started, see the Bloomberg Remote Access Overview documentation

EconLit This link opens in a new window Produced by the American Economic Association. EconLit indexes and abstracts journal articles, essays, research papers, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers.
eForensics Magazine This link opens in a new window eForensics Magazine provides access to over 100 ebooks covering Mobile, Network, Database and Computer Forensics.
Requires users to create an account, and use a coupon code from the website vendor. Instructions for using this database, and the coupon code, can be found by clicking on Username and Passwords. For further assistance, contact Michener Library at (970) 351-2671.
Hakin9 This link opens in a new window Hakin9 is a source of ethical hacker knowledge. It contains the best technical solutions and latest trends in IT security.
Requires users to create an account, and use a coupon code from the website vendor. Instructions for using this database, and the coupon code, can be found by clicking on Username and Passwords. For further assistance, contact Michener Library at (970) 351-2671.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window IBISWorld has over 700 U.S. industry research reports. Reports are updated an average of 3 times a year and include information on industry performance, outlook, operating conditions, and supply chain linkages. UNC's subscription to IBISWorld only includes the US Industry Research Reports (the reports under the Industry Market Research tab). A preview is provided for other content, but the full reports are available for purchase only.
Legal Information Source This link opens in a new window Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, Legal Information Reference Source contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window Mintel Reports for academics. Brands, companies, markets and consumers. Market Intelligence delivering all the data you need and telling you what it means.
Overdrive This link opens in a new window Overdrive provides a selection of audiobooks. Most titles are only available to one person at a time.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window Handbooks in the areas of Business and Management, Economics and Finance, Law, Sociology, and more. UNC does not have access to all titles.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window PrivCo focuses its coverage on major private companies in the U.S. This database provides private company financials and revenues, private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, venture capital fundings, private equity deals, private and family ownership breakdowns, bankruptcies, restructurings, and more.

Regional Business News This link opens in a new window This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Research Library This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary database for researchers of all levels, including publications on the latest business and financial information.
Richard K. Miller & Associates e-book collection This link opens in a new window Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) publishes a wide range of market research handbooks that focus on various consumer-related markets. Each title include market forecasts, sector trends, and statistics.
SBRnet This link opens in a new window The Sports Business Research Network combines market research from the National Sporting Goods Association; the U.S. Department of Commerce; various sports governing bodies; and full-text articles from magazines and newsletters. Subjects covered include sporting goods industry, sports sponsorship and marketing, broadcasting, facilities, broadcasting and new media.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping and data visualization application that lets users create interactive maps, charts, and reports. It includes demographics data (population, age, race, income, employment, housing, education, etc.), from the Census and ACS, consumer spending (CEX) information, and more than 5 million detailed business profiles from Dun & Bradstreet (D&B). Additionally, Simmons NCS with cross-tab capabilities and SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior data with data drilled down to the Block Group level, with information on over 8,000 brands and 450 unique categories, with the ability to generate crosstabs at the national level. You must create a personal login in order to use SimplyAnalytics.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Social Explorer provides easy-to-use tools for visual exploration of demographic information, from census and economic data to election and religion data, and more. With these interactive online tools, users can visually explore change over time and understand the patterns behind the raw numbers.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window Ebooks and journals from Springer, including disciplines like Business and Management, Computer Science, Economics, Law, and Social Sciences.
Statista This link opens in a new window Statista is one of the first statistic portals in the world to integrate data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Data can be downloaded and exported for academic use.
Value Line This link opens in a new window Only 1 person from UNC can access this resource at a time
Value Line provides investment research on companies, industries, markets and economies. From the latest data, sophisticated tools and proven ranks to expert analysis and guidance, Value Line gives you the power to evaluate investments with confidence.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window Campus Research combines breadth of news and business information with superior depth in law-related information.

Forgot How To Do Research? View brief video tutorials on how to find books & scholarly articles and more library basics.

Need More Advanced Help? See our video series geared toward graduate students and more experienced researchers.

Research Tools

APA Style Guide - 6th Edition
See examples and explanations of how to cite different source types in APA format. Also get help with paper formatting, in-text citations, and more.

APA Style Guide - 7th Edition
Guidance on the most recent edition of APA style. This change has not been uniformly adopted on campus yet, so check with your professor about which edition to use if you are not sure.

RefWorks
Use RefWorks to keep track of your references and create bibliographies in any citation style. Create an account using your UNC email address.

RefWorks Help Guide
See our guide on getting started in RefWorks, managing citations, and creating bibliographies.

Using Write-N-Cite with Microsoft Word (Video)
With Write-N-Cite, you can cite references in a manuscript with just a click and watch your paper format instantly including in-text citations, footnotes and your bibliography. The utility installs a RefWorks tab in the MS Word ribbon or you can access it from the References tab in Microsoft Word. See also: Writing with RefWorks.

Cabell's Journalytics
Journalytics provides a curated list of over 11,000 academic journals spanning 18 disciplines which guides researchers and institutions in getting the most impact out of their research. You’ll find publisher names, audience types, acceptance rates, and links directly to the journal website. In addition to basic journal details like launch dates, editor contact information, and ISSNs, each entry shows you what to expect during the submission process. Know how to format your manuscript and what type of peer review you’ll get.

Ulrichsweb
Use Ulrich's to see if a journal or magazine contains scholarly, trade, or popular content and whether it is peer-reviewed. Search by the title of the periodical, such as "Business Ethics Quarterly" or "Journal of Management Studies".

Business Research

Research
Help

► Make an Appointment

► Email Us:
libraries@unco.edu

► Call Us: 970-351-2671

► More Ways to Get Help:
www.unco.edu/library/research-help/

Business Databases

Research Tools

Business Research

Research Help

► Make an Appointment

► Email Us: libraries@unco.edu

► Call Us: 970-351-2671

► More Ways to Get Help: www.unco.edu/library/research-help/

Business Databases

Research Tools

Research
Help

► Email Us:
libraries@unco.edu

► More Ways to Get Help:
www.unco.edu/library/research-help/