For questions, more information, or other concerns, please contact any member of the Scholarly Communication Department:
Jen Mayer
Head of Scholarly Communication
Contact & Directory Page
Schedule an appointment
Nancy Henke
Textbook Affordability Librarian
Contact & Directory Page
Schedule an appointment
Nicole Webber
Scholarly Communication Librarian
Contact & Directory Page
Schedule an appointment
Stephanie Wiegand
Scholarly Publishing Librarian
Contact & Directory Page
Schedule an appointment
Follow the University Libraries:
As the cost of textbooks has continued to increase, movements to find course materials at either no cost or a low-cost are emerging – known as affordable course materials. There are many benefits in shifting from commercial to affordable course materials for students, instructors, and other stakeholders. If you are considering converting part of course, an entire course, or multiple courses from commercial to affordable course materials and would like assistance in identifying affordable materials, contact UNC's Textbook Affordability Librarian, Nancy Henke.
Original content authored by faculty or instructors for the courses they teach. Formats include text, audio recordings, video recordings, and much more. This category also includes instructor-created ancillary materials such as slide decks, quizzes, and tests.
A form of open pedagogy, students create course materials and/or ancillary materials as part of their coursework. Examples include a course wiki that introduces course concepts and digital flash cards created in a third-party app.
Teaching, learning and research materials in any medium – digital or otherwise – that have been released under an open (often Creative Commons) license that permits no-cost access, use, adaptation, and redistribution by others with no or limited restrictions.
Journal articles and books that are free, immediately accessible, and online with users allowed to use the materials freely in the digital environment. OA allows for access and use, but not for adaptation or redistribution. The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) and the Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) are examples of OA collections.
Content and resources that are paid for by the University Libraries and openly available to the UNC community through user authentication. Not all electronic library materials are licensed for simultaneous use by an entire class, but many are.
Materials determined by the instructor to be factual and accurate and are freely available through the internet. Resources include TED Talks, Khan Academy, TED Ed, iTunes U, PBS Frontline, EdX, YouTube EDU, and much more.
Creative materials that are either no longer covered by copyright laws or are released directly by creators into the Public Domain. These works can be used freely by anyone without obtaining the creator’s permission.
Fair use allows for limited, socially beneficial uses of copyrighted material without seeking permission. It applies to purposes such as criticism, parody, news reporting, research, scholarship, & teaching. Fair use is determined by the purpose, nature, amount, and effect of the market of the use.
Design Credits:
Teacher-1724960 by Adrien Coquet from The Noun Project is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 3.0.
student-259870 by parkjisun from The Noun Project is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 3.0.
Library-1244000 by Thomas from The Noun Project is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 3.0.
web-2372870 by Explanaicon from The Noun Project is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 3.0.
Public Domain-511 by Public Domain Nouns from The Noun Project is Public Domain.
Scale-1352277 by Mohamed Mb from The Noun Project is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 3.0.