A huge collection of music and performing arts recordings in multiple genres and disciplines, both audio and video, where you can make playlists and pull clips.
The world's largest online classical music library! With almost 1.5 million tracks and hundreds of new CDs added every month, it's the best first place to look for recordings.
A mix of jazz legends and new, contemporary jazz pieces, with recordings by thousands of artists from hundreds of different labels.
Offers high-quality streaming video of British theatre productions, including materials from the Royal Opera House, the Broadway Digital Archive, and the National Jewish Theatre.
A selection of music performances, films, and documentaries across different performing arts disciplines.
A rare and exclusive selection of concerts, ballets, operas, documentaries, master classes, behind-the-scenes footage, and interviews.
Performances of famous musicals and plays as well as film documentaries.
Databases can help you find everything from educational articles to experimental music pieces to interviews with artists. Click on any of the databases below to go directly to it, or search them all at once using the library's Summon portal!
A wide range of primary sources related to the arts in Britain in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores.
An up-to-date general discography of all categories of recorded jazz. If someone recorded it, the information about it should be here!
Includes the full text of New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, New Grove Dictionary of Opera, New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, Oxford Companion to Music, and Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Over 1.2 million full text dissertations, including for music, available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries. Covers all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms, and composition.
International coverage of mostly classical music periodical literature published from the late 18th- to mid-20th-centuries in Europe and the United States.
Contains citations from over 500 scholarly music journals and other publications including books, conference proceedings, and dissertations, in over 200 languages.
Historical jazz periodicals, magazines, journals, and historical documents from the 1920s until the present day.
There's a whole world of free music resources out there! Try one of the links below to explore music options in the greater community of teachers, performers, and composers.
UNC has plenty of databases that are full of information across disciplines - including music! If you didn't find what you were looking for in the music databases, try one of these.
A multidisciplinary research database with full-text journals and magazines. Includes Journal of Music Theory, Music Educator's Journal, Nordic Journal of Music Therapy, and many others.
All the open-access journals you could wish for, including Journal of Jazz Studies, Musicology Today, Harmonia, and Music Theory Online. This is also an excellent source for journals in Spanish!
This collection of articles and books digitized from libraries around the world includes a large collection of music items and is great for researching previous works in the field.
A database of academic journals across all disciplines. Includes American Music, Cambridge Opera Journal, International Journal of Musicology, and many, many more!
Project MUSE is full of digitized ebooks and journals from all over the world, including Black Music Research Journal, Computer Music Journal, Fontes Artis Musicae, and Latin American Music Review.
Search for items in libraries across the globe! You may be able to find an item nearby that you can visit and use, or else request University Libraries to have it sent to us via ILL or Prospector.
Want help, information, or just a chance to see what else the library offers? Reach out to us and the Skinner staff will be more than happy to assist you!
Phone: 970-351-2439
Email: library.music@unco.edu
