Research Guides: DEI & Antiracism Library Resources: Databases

Accessing Databases at UNC Libraries

Screenshot of Hispanic American Newspapers database The databases below focus on issues related to equity, diversity, inclusion, and antiracism. They are organized by race & ethnicity, disability, gender & sexuality, and general topics. Each database provides access to either primary historical sources, secondary research studies, and/or demographic statistics. Click on the i next to each database to learn what it contains. You will need to log in with your UNC credentials to access materials in the databases.

Databases

African American Communities This link opens in a new window Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new window The African American Historical Serials Collection features 173 periodicals spanning from 1816 through 1922. The periodicals in this collection include newspapers and magazines, in addition to reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and educational and service institutions.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window Includes more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities. This resource has been developed with, and has only been made possible by, the permission and contribution of the newspaper publishers and Tribal Councils concerned.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection This link opens in a new window The Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection presents historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture. Most documents are in Spanish, while some are in English. All content in indexed and searchable in both languages.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window With its curated full-text materials, Ethnic Diversity Source is essential to support the study of African Americans, Arab Americans, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans, Latinx Americans, Multiracial Americans, and Native Americans, among others, with respect to their cultures, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences. Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, historical documents, and biographies are complemented by primary sources, such as speeches and interviews. Complete with robust collections of videos and e-books, Ethnic Diversity Source creates a dynamic research experience for students and researchers.
Fuente Academica This link opens in a new window Over 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window Part of America's Historical Newspapers. Largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window Journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window Enabling exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century, Indigenous Peoples: North America illustrates the fabric of the North American story with unprecedented depth and breadth. Indigenous Peoples: North America provides a robust, diverse, and appealing search experience and enable intelligent inquiry into the culture and heritage of indigenous people. Indigenous Peoples: North America is sourced from both American and Canadian institutions, as well as direct-from-source from newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations. The collection also features indigenous-language materials, including dictionaries, bibles, and primers.
Latino Literature This link opens in a new window Contains approximately 380 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window A collection focused on African American and African history and culture, featuring reference works, primary sources, images, maps, timelines, and biographies.
Race Relations in America: 1943-1970 This link opens in a new window Explore three pivotal decades in the struggle for civil rights in America through the eyes and work of sociologists, activists, psychologists, teachers, ministers, students and housewives. Sourced from the records of the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries, housed at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans, this resource provides access to a wealth of documents highlighting different responses to the challenges of overcoming prejudice, segregation and racial tensions. These range from survey material, including interviews and statistics, to educational pamphlets, administrative correspondence, and photographs and speeches from the Annual Race Relations Institutes.

Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new window At completion, Disability in the Modern World will include 150,000 pages of primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with 125 hours of video. The content is essential for teaching and research—not only in the growing disciplines of disability history and disability studies, but also in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I This link opens in a new window Brings together primary source content on the social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Includes the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.
Defining Gender This link opens in a new window Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
Everyday Life and Women in America c.1800-1920 This link opens in a new window Everyday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920 showcases unique primary source material for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new window
History of Feminism This link opens in a new window This resource covers the fascinating subject of feminism over the long nineteenth century (1776–1928). It contains an extensive range of primary and secondary resources, including full books, selected chapters, images, and journal articles. Content is arranged into 8 key subject categories, each with their own short subject introductions, to assist research and study, and newly commissioned thematic essays provide an insightful overview and excellent starting point to 16 vital topics within feminism. The resource focuses on the period 1776-1928, however many of the primary source collections included extend beyond this period.
Women and Social Movements, International This link opens in a new window Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and conference proceedings at which pivotal decisions were made and social movements were born, this landmark online collection traces the global history of women's international agendas and illuminates their enormous influence on the course of events and shifts in attitudes that have defined modern life.

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window Produced by Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) at Yale University, this cross-cultural database contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new window This resource is designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period, between 1490 and 2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social-justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window The most ambitious project of its kind, Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is a historical archive that embraces the scholarly study of slavery in a comprehensive, concep- tual and global way. This digital collection comprises five million pages of documents organized in four parts: • Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition • Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World • Part III: Institution of Slavery • Part IV: Age of Emancipation
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Social Explorer provides easy-to-use tools for visual exploration of demographic information, from census and economic data to election and religion data, and more. With these interactive online tools, users can visually explore change over time and understand the patterns behind the raw numbers.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window Contains indexing for more than 500 publications covering a wide range of interdisciplinary fields such as addiction studies, anthropology, corrections, economics, gender studies, gerontology, minority studies, political sciences, psychology, sociology.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Help

Need help finding something? Stuck on your research project? Want to suggest that we buy something for the Libraries collection or add something to this research guide? We got you!

Contact librarian Annie Epperson directly at annie.epperson@unco.edu
Or get help via chat, phone, text, or an online or in-person appointment from any librarian

We're excited to hear from you!