The ACF connects artists with collaborators, organizations, audiences, and resources. It also advocates for composers through storytelling, publications, recordings, hosted gatherings, and industry leadership, as well as providing direct funding and mentorship to a broad and diverse field of music creators, highlighting those who have been historically excluded from participation.
An alliance of working musicians, performers, and songwriters fighting for a healthy creative economy and fair treatment for all creators in the digital world. Members work to defend and protect artists, guided by the Artists’ Bill of Rights, which outlines fundamental principles for today’s music economy.
BMAC is an advocacy organization formed to address systemic racism within the music business. The Coalition advocates on behalf of Black artists, songwriters, producers, managers, agents, executives, lawyers and other passionate industry professionals.
MAC believes music creators should be driving the strategy and conversation about the issues that shape their lives. Artists decide their musical fate every time they write a song or step on stage. MAC believes artists should have the opportunity to decide how to best protect the fate of their music and their other rights and lobbies on national and state levels exclusively on behalf of music creators and professionals.
The Music Inclusion Coalition strives to make the study of music more accessible and inclusive through advocacy, technology, and support as Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) and Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) students move from high school to the collegiate level so that they have opportunities to pursue music as a career.
Founded by Jonathan Azu of the Culture Collective, this online directory lists music professionals from diverse backgrounds seeking opportunities and commissions. Designed for hiring managers to search for talent, it allows anyone to submit their information to be included.
The Music Managers forum provides a platform to connect, enhance, and reinforce the expertise and professionalism of music managers. Its goal is to further the interests of managers and theri artsts in all fields of the music industry, including live performance, recording, and music publishing matters.
The American Association of Independent Music not-for-profit organization that serves as a central voice for a diverse community of over 600 independently owned record labels operating within the United States. A2IM represents their interests in the marketplace, in the media, on Capitol Hill, and as part of the global music community. As an organization, A2IM is committed to protecting the value of independent musical contributions and influence on a policy level.
80,000 musicians comprise the American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada. Members perform in orchestras, backup bands, festivals, clubs and theaters—both on Broadway and on tour. AFM members also make music for films, TV, commercials and sound recordings. As the largest union of musicians in the world, we have the power to make the music industry work for musicians.
The American Musical Instrument Society promotes better understanding of all aspects of the history, design, construction, restoration, and usage of musical instruments in all cultures and from all periods. Membership includes composers, collectors, performers, historians, instrument builders, museums and libraries, and instructors.
ASCAP is a professional organization of over three quarters of a million songwriters, composers, and music publishers, founded and governed by its members and the world leader in performance royalties, advocacy, and service for music professionals.
The Association of Independent Music Publishers was formed in 1977 by a group of Los Angeles music publishers, and has local chapters in Los Angeles, New York and Nashville. The organization's primary focus is to educate and inform music publishers about the most current industry trends and practices by providing a forum for the discussion of the issues and problems confronting the music publishing industry.
An organization of publishers of Christian musicwhich has a strong spiritual dimension who come together to share mutual areas of concern regarding
copyright information, education, administration, and protection, facilitating public and industry awareness in these areas, and to develop continuing personal and professional relationships.
The College Music Society promotes music teaching and learning, musical creativity and expression, research and dialogue, and diversity and interdisciplinary interaction. A consortium of college, conservatory, university, and independent musicians and scholars interested in all disciplines of music, the Society provides leadership and serves as an agent of change by addressing concerns facing music in higher education.
A project of Chamber Music America, this list of diverse composers, including those of various ethnicities and genders, links directly to musicians and composers so that you can more easily explore their works.
Founded in 1958, the Country Music Association (CMA) is the premier trade association of the Country Music industry. Representing professionals making a living in Country Music globally, the organization serves as a critical resource of support and information, honors excellence in the genre and provides a forum for industry leadership.
Donne is a charitable foundation in the UK that seeks to make a positive change in the fight against gender inequality within the music industry. Its main goal is to celebrate, advance, and amplify women in music so that they are seen, heard, and appreciated for their talent so they can leave a legacy of inspiration for future generations.
Founded in 1964, the GMA focuses its efforts on a past, present and future model. Through the GMA Foundation and the GMA Gospel Music Hall of Fame we aim to preserve the legacies (past) of those that have blazed the trail for Gospel music.
The Institute for Composer Diversity works to encourage the discovery, study, and performance of music written by composers from underrepresented groups. It seeks to positively impact three important groups: the audiences and students who will engage with the music, the conductors, performers, and educators who serve to bring that music to those audiences and students, and the composers themselves. In addition to using their databases to find diverse composers and works, you can also take advantage of their publicly presented research data on diversity in the field, and even submit your own works to be included.
The IBMA is a non-profit music association that connects, educates, and empowers bluegrass professionals and enthusiasts, honoring tradition and encouraging innovation in the bluegrass community worldwide.
The International Council for Traditional Music is a scholarly organization which aims to further the study, practice, documentation, preservation, and dissemination of traditional music and dance of all countries. To these ends the Council organizes World Conferences, Symposia, Colloquia, and Fora, and publishes the Yearbook for Traditional Music and the online Bulletin of the ICTM.
The International Society for Music Education (ISME) believes that lived experiences of music, in all their many aspects, are a vital part of the life of all people. ISME's mission is to enhance those experiences by building and maintaining a worldwide community of music educators characterised by mutual respect and support; fostering global intercultural understanding and cooperation among the world's music educators; and pomoting music education for people of all ages in all relevant situations throughout the world.
The Kassia Database is a resource geared toward aiding singers, instructors of voice, pianists, researchers, and music lovers to discover and celebrate art song by women composers. The database includes songs from the Baroque period through the 21st century, and have been categorized by level, voice type, language, composer, and composer dates. Related information includes range, tessitura, piano accompaniment, vocal line, and links to available scores.
This musical organization is made up of concert and marching bands from cities around the world and is dedicated to promoting music, supporting lesbian and gay bands, and stimulating public interest in band music in gay culture.
The intent of this project is to compile a list of pieces by composers who identify as members of the LGBTQ+ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and additional gender/sexuality minorities) community and who have written works for band. This project will be treated as a working document and resource for conductors, educators, performers, and scholars interested in the music of LGBTQ+ band composers. This project is in progress and will be made freely publicly available when complete; in the meantime, it maintains a public list of LGBTQ+ composers and is still accepting submissions for more.
This index of thousands of women musicians and composers focuses mainly on women making various kinds of experimental/avant garde music. Some of these artists may also work within more mainstream forms, but they are included here because of their other work that is more challenging. The network also includes works by transgender and nonbinary individuals.
The Music Business Association serves to nurture our global music community by connecting, empowering and educating the industry’s many players. Representing more than 90 percent of the industry at large, the Association provides a trusted forum that connects, educates and empowers our industry where ideas and collaboration flourish.
Music by Black Composers (MBC) was born from the realization that young musicians learning classical music seldom, if ever, have the opportunity to study and perform music written by Black composers, an omission that silences a rich vein of musical creation from global cultural consciousness. MBC maintains a database of composers and works as well as creating educational resources and bibliographies for further study.
NAfME advocates at the local, state, and national levels; provides resources for teachers, parents, and administrators; hosts professional development events; and offers a variety of opportunities for students and teachers. The Association has supported music educators at all teaching levels for more than a century.
The International Association for the Study of Popular Music (IASPM) is an international organization established to promote inquiry, scholarship and analysis in the area of popular music. Founded in 1981, IASPM has grown into an international network. On national and international levels, the organization’s activities include conferences, publications and research projects designed to advance an understanding of popular music and the processes involved in its production and consumption.
Founded in 1917, the National Music Publishers’ Association is the trade association representing all American music publishers and their songwriting partners. Its mission is to protect, promote, and advance the interests of music’s creators. The NMPA is the voice of both small and large music publishers and is the leading advocate for publishers and their songwriter partners in the nation’s capital and in every area where publishers do business.
The Society for American Music is dedicated to the study, teaching, creation, and dissemination of all musics in the Americas. As a scholarly, collegial, and inclusive organization, it serves a wide and diverse array of academics, librarians, composers, performers, and members of the general public.
The Society for Music Theory promotes the development of and engagement with music theory as a scholarly and pedagogical discipline. It construes the discipline broadly as embracing all approaches, from conceptual to practical, and all perspectives, including those of the scholar, listener, composer, performer, teacher, and student.