Research Guides: Music Business & Entrepreneurship: Databases & Online Resources

Music Business Journals & Periodicals

Music Business Journal
Create by a Berklee student, the Music Business Journal provides in-depth analysis of industry trends, and follows their effects on both music and the world. It aims to inform, inspire, and provoke discussion on an intellectual level within the Berklee community and beyond.
International Journal of Music Business Research
IMBRA aims to facilitate and present the latest research concerning the structures and processes within the music business/industries. IMBRA defines the music business in its broadest sense to include not only the production, distribution and reception of music, but also music training and teaching as well as supporting industries such as musical instrument manufacturing, the media and advertising.
Music Business Worldwide
Music Business Worldwide (MBW) is the leading information service for the global music industry. Established in 2015, MBW provides news, insight and jobs to the worldwide business.

ProQuest Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes over 1.3 million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of publication. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874. Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals This link opens in a new window
RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals is an international, highly annotated database with detailed content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950--from Beethoven to Bartok, from Berlioz to Berg, and from Schubert to Shostakovich--all provided by internationally-recognized scholars and editors. RIPM currently indexes the contents of 140 music periodicals including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, press reviews, and more. In addition, RIPM offers more than 5,000 English-language translations of articles from journals in other languages.