In addition to the journals spotlighted below, you can also visit the Journal Finder to search for specific titles and subjects!
African Arts presents original research and critical discourse on traditional, contemporary, and popular African arts and expressive cultures. Since 1967, the journal has reflected the dynamism and diversity of several fields of study, publishing richly illustrated articles in full color, incorporating the most current theory, practice, and intercultural dialogue.
An annual, peer reviewed, accredited, academic journal established in 1954 by Hugh Tracey, founder of the International Library of African Music. The journal publishes original articles pertaining to contextualized studies of African music and related arts. Since it was re-launched in 2007, it features a CD compilation of audio examples illustrating the articles in each edition, which generally consists of field recordings from the article authors' research.
Arte y políticas de identidad is a magazine that addresses the various scientific subject areas related to art and identity politics. Contains original research articles and theoretical review, both in the basic and methodological fields and applied to art. It also includes a section dedicated to interviews, artistic interventions and exhibition reviews.
Filled with well illustrated articles, iconic French-language journal Arts d'Afrique Noire has carved for itself a special niche in the small world of those who were passionate about the traditional arts of the many groups and cultures of Sub-Saharan Africa.
Asian Music, the journal of the Society for Asian Music, is the leading journal devoted to ethnomusicology in Asian music, publishing all aspects of the performing arts of Asia and their cultural context.
Asian Theatre Journal is dedicated to the performing arts of Asia, focusing upon both traditional and modern theatrical forms. This engaging, intercultural journal offers descriptive and analytical articles, original plays and play translations, book and audiovisual reviews, and reports of current theatrical activities in Asia.
A peer-reviewed publication devoted to the study of all aspects of Australasian music, musical life, and the resources for such studies, which aims to publish a wide range of articles, including the life and works of those involved in Australasian music such as composers and performers; histories of music in particular geographical locations or at particular institutions; reception history; critical catalogues of composers' works; inventories of manuscript and archival holdings in public collections; editions of primary source material including letters, diaries, and autobiographical material; bibliographies; and catalogues of audio-visual material.
BioScope: South Asian Screen Studies encourages theoretical and empirical research both on located screen practices and wider networks, linkages, and patterns of circulation. This involves research into the historical, regional, and virtual spaces of screen cultures, including globalized and multi-sited conditions of production and circulation.
Black Camera, a journal of Black film studies, is devoted to the study and documentation of the Black cinematic experience and aims to engender and sustain a formal academic discussion of Black film production. It includes reviews of historical as well as contemporary books and films, researched critiques of recent scholarship on Black film, interviews with accomplished film professionals, and editorials on the development of Black creative culture.
Black Film Review is an international publication focusing on films and filmmakers from the African Diaspora in the 1980s and 1990s, with a focus on independent cinema.
Begun in 1980, Black Music Research Journal is published in the spring and fall of each year and includes articles about the philosophy, aesthetics, history, and criticism of black music. Many issues are devoted to a single theme, such as Blind Lemon Jefferson or Black music in Europe.
The primary purpose of The Black Perspective in Music is to provide an opportunity for the free expression of ideas and opinions by persons interested in the Black-American and African performing arts, particularly from the creative point of view. Regular features include articles by musicologists, ethnomusicologists, historians, composers, and performing artists; interviews with well-known personalities in the arts; listings of new books, music, musicals, films, and recordings; announcements of special events (festivals, conferences, premiere performances, symposia), and periodic surveys of bibliographic materials.
Published from the 1980s through 1990s, this journal sought to establish theomusicology—a theologically informed musicology—as a distinct discipline, incorporating methods from anthropology, sociology, psychology, and philosophy to examine the full range of black sacred music. Topics include black secular music, the early days of rap, soul, jazz, civil rights songs, the religious music of Africa and the African diaspora, spirituals, gospel music, and the music of the black church.
Callaloo, the premier journal of literature, art, and culture of the African Diaspora, publishes original work by and about writers and visual artists of African descent worldwide. The journal offers an engaging mixture of fiction, poetry, critical articles, interviews, drama, and visual art.
Created by a recognized historian of Latin American cinema, Cinémas d'Amérique Latine reports on current and past events in the worlds of Latin American cinematographies. It is published trilingually in French, Portuguese, and Spanish.
A bi-monthly magazine of folk and world music, offering extensive reviews of folk music recordings, videos, books, and concerts as well as in depth profiles of musical artists and venues.
Ethnomusicology is an international, peer-reviewed journal published three times a year by the University of Illinois Press, and features scholarly articles representing theoretical perspectives and research in ethnomusicology and related fields, as well as book, sound recording, film, video, and multimedia reviews.
The academic, refereed journal of the British Forum for Ethnomusicology. The journal seeks to provide a dynamic forum for the presentation of new thinking in the field of ethnomusicology, defined broadly as the study of "people making music", and encompasses the study of all music, including Western art music and popular music.
Founded by artist Samella Lewis, the International Review of African American Art is a publication of Hampton University, an important institution historically in the cultivation of Black artists and the collection of African American art and site of the oldest African American museum in the United States.
Jewish Film & New Media provides an outlet for research into any aspect of Jewish film, television, and new media and is unique in its interdisciplinary nature, exploring the rich and diverse cultural heritage across the globe. The journal is distinctive in bringing together a range of cinemas, televisions, films, programs, and other digital material in one volume and in its positioning of the discussions within a range of contexts—the cultural, historical, textual, and many others.
Journal of Japanese and Korean Cinema publishes articles on the cinema of Japan and Korea, exploring relationships between Japanese and Korean film, globalized film-making, and cultural identity.
This scholarly journal focuses on the Orthodox Jewish cantorate in America and features articles on halakhic problems of synagogue music and liturgy, as well as on traditional nusah and hazzanut.
The Journal of Music Therapy (JMT) is a forum for authoritative articles of current music therapy research and theory, including book reviews and guest editorials. It seeks to advance research, theory, and practice in music therapy through the dissemination of scholarly work. Its mission is to promote scholarly activity in music therapy and to foster the development and understanding of music therapy and music-based interventions, and often features work on the intersection of disability, mental illness, and the arts.
This journal focuses on Indian classical music from all ethnic groups and parts of the country, especially traditional genres and forms.
An accredited, internationally refereed journal that aims to combine ethnomusicological, musicological, music educational and performance-based research in a unique way to promote the musical arts on the African continent. This journal also incorporates book, audio and audiovisual media and software reviews.
Koreana is published by the Korea Foundation to promote Korean arts and culture around the world and deals with a broad spectrum of Korean arts and culture, ranging from Paleolithic relics to contemporary media and installation art; from the splendid royal court culture of the Joseon Dynasty to today’s street art and fashion; and from literature to film and various other cultural genres.
LAMR explores the historical, ethnographic,and sociocultural dimensions of Latin American music in Latin American social groups, including the Puerto Rican, Mexican, Cuban, and Portugese populations in the United States.
The Latin American Theatre Review (LATR) is published twice per year by The University of Kansas' Department of Spanish and Portuguese and the Center of Latin American Studies. Founded in 1967, it covers all aspects of Latina/o and Latin American theatre and performance and is one of the premiere scholarly journals in its field.
Mudra Jurnal Seni Budaya encompasses various concepts, ideas, phenomena, and analyses related to the topics of arts in Southeast Asia, with a special focus on performing artforms of the area.
First published in 1974, Musica Judaica is the only scholarly journal devoted solely to Jewish music. Its content is varied and wide ranging and is the premier collection of authoritative scholarly writing on Jewish musicology, as well as adding to the fields of Jewish studies, ethnomusicology, and parallel musicological journals with other specialities.
MUSICultures is the annual scholarly journal of The Canadian Society for Traditional Music / La Société canadienne pour les traditions musicales. It publishes original articles in English and French on a wide range of topics in ethnomusicology, traditional music research, and popular music studies
Focused primarily on African music research, Muziki welcomes scholarly articles and reviews of books, music, and recordings related to musical theory and practice of the African continent and beyond. It aims to provide a platform for established and emerging scholars in the fields of performance practice, ethnomusicology, and ‘traditional’ musicology as well as jazz and popular music studies encompassing diverse aspects of local, diasporic, and global research.
Nka focuses on publishing critical work that examines contemporary African and African Diaspora art within the modernist and postmodernist experience and therefore contributes significantly to the intellectual dialogue on world art and the discourse on internationalism and multiculturalism in the arts. Nka mainly includes scholarly articles, reviews (exhibits and books), interviews, and roundtable discussions.
Perspectives in the Arts and Humanities Asia is an international peer-reviewed journal that is multi-disciplinary in scope and features articles in literature, philosophy, theology, performance arts, visual arts, forms of media and other related areas, especially studies engaging Philippine and Asian experience.
This magazine is focused on the musical culture of Chile, considering both the musical theory and composition itself as well as their cultural and sociocultural framework. It incorporates content related to composers, performers, instruments, and folk, popular, urban, and indigenous genres unique to the area.
Published by the State University of Paraná in Brazil, this journal focuses not only on the musicological framework of Brazilian indigenous and popular music forms, but also on their effect around the world and their interactions with other genres and styles of composition.
South African Theatre Journal provides a leading forum for the academic discussion of issues relating to theatre, performance and the media, notably as these manifest themselves in Southern Africa and further afield on the African continent. The journal features peer-reviewed articles on the history, theory and practice of the performing arts, as well as the methodology of theatre research and performance studies. The journal incorporates theatre reports, book reviews, commentaries, and play texts.
Studies in Latin American Popular Culture, an annual interdisciplinary journal, publishes articles, review essays, and interviews on diverse aspects of popular culture in Latin America. Articles are written in English, Spanish, or Portuguese.
Studies in Spanish & Latin American Cinema is dedicated to the study of Spanish-speaking and Latin American cinemas, including the cinemas of Spain and Spanish-speaking South, Central, and North America including the Caribbean, as well as Brazil.
Wacana Seni, published by Penerbit Universiti Sains Malaysia, promotes the advancement of scholarly knowledge about visual art, performance art, music and design, particularly in Malaysia and Asia. The journal publishes scholarly articles, research paper and findings, artist’s project, conversational dialogues with prominent artists, as well as reviews of books, recordings, exhibitions, and performances.
Women & Performance: A Journal of Feminist Theory publishes interdisciplinary feminist perspectives in various fields of performance studies, as well as queer, critical race, and post- and decolonial theory.
Contemporary women's art practice and the historical debates that relate to women's art. Emerging and established artists are featured from around the world.
This peer-reviewed journal seeks a critical understanding of the performing arts and cultural practices involving music, dance, and theater worldwide, as well as the many cultural contexts in which they come into being. It provides scholars from a multiplicity of academic backgrounds a forum for the discussion of musics from around the world, their dynamics and their many meanings, manifested in a variety of ever changing forms ranging from highly particular and localized systems of musical thinking in traditional musics to global (musical) cultural flows and consumption.
The databases below provide the option to focus on performing arts disciplines and issues related to equity, diversity, and inclusion, either in terms of race, ethnicity, disability, gender, and/or sexuality.
