Artificial Intelligence Resources

All-Purpose/Text Generation Tools

• ChatGPT - from OpenAI - various models (GPT 4o, o3, 04-mini) available for help with anything from basic tasks to advanced reasoning. Also has Deep Research capabilities.
• Gemini - from Google (Alphabet) - powerful LLM that's newest version is 2.5 Flash or Pro. Also has Deep Research capabilities. 
• Co-Pilot - from Microsoft - uses GPT models. If pay for monthly subscription can integrate with Microsoft 365 and the Office applications.  
• Claude - from Anthropic - version 3.5 is a powerful tool focused on text and data.  It is considered "safer" than others and puts more guardrails up. Claude 3.5 Haiku is their fastest, more cost-efficient model while Claude 3.5 Sonnet is a powerful model for data analysis, coding, or detailed content creation that requires accuracy. 
• Meta.ai - from Meta - integrated into Meta apps to offer assistance in a variety of situations.  
• Perplexity - from PerplexityAI - designed for research and has a free version without having to sign up, which can make it easier to use in the classroom. Automatically includes source links in responses and you can choose to search different types of sources like the Web, Academic, or Social. Perplexity is also accessing different LLMs (Claude, GPT, etc.) and you can specify which model to use for your task. With the Pro version you also have access to the new DeepSeek model.  

Image Generation Tools

• DALL-E - version 3 makes it easier to translate ideas into images. Integrated into ChatGPT and considered one of the best image-generators.  
• Adobe Firefly - use text to generate images, upload images to remove objects or transform images.  Integrated into Photoshop and other Adobe products, but can also try it out with free standalone version.  Adobe does not train its AI on copyrighted images and marks all images as being AI generated.   
• Image FX (from Google) - creates high quality, realistic images using free version. 
• Microsoft Designer - powered by DALL-E and free with a Microsoft account. Integrates easily with Office applications.
• Meta.ai - integrated in Meta apps and gets good reviews for image generation.
• Midjourney - use in Discord to generate images from text prompts. Considered one of the better image-generators for high-quality images.  
• NightCafe - AI art generator that emphasizes the art community.  Free and can earn credits for more powerful features. Has ability to use different image models (DALL-E 2, Stable Diffusion). 
• Craiyon - turn text prompts to art - limited number of free images.  
• Hotpot - creates AI generated art and is particularly good at portraits, corporate headshots or avatars.  
• Getty Images - though not free, it comes with the rights for reproducing images for commercial use since it is trained on the Getty Images library only. 
• Recraft - the best image generator for including text on images and more overall flexibility. Used by designers and marketers from numerous large companies.

Video Generation Tools

• Sora - available through ChatGPT - text to video generator that takes advantage of powerful OpenAI technology.
• DeepMotion - create animations through AI-powered motion capture and real-time 3D body tracking.  
• Fliki - turn text into videos with lifelike voiceovers, dynamic AI video clips and other AI-powered features.  
• Runway - a powerful tool that allows for a lot of flexibility in creating high-quality videos. 
• Synthesia - popular AI video generation platform.  Create professional videos without mics, cameras, actors or studios. 
• HeyGen - generate videos in 175 languages using a script you provide, or an AI-generated one. Translates videos as well.

Music Generation Tools

• Suno AI - input a song description including style and topic and in seconds a song with vocals, background music, and instruments is generated. 
• SongR - text-to-song generation after identifying a music genre and a few keywords. 
• Soundraw.io - produces high-quality background music, though it does not generate via prompts but rather by choosing settings. 
• Riffusion - for this tool you first need to enter the song lyrics, either created by you or generated by AI and identify a genre, vocal style etc. 
• Beatoven - a royalty-free music generation tool. Provide a prompt that identifies the duration, vibe, era, and occasion for the music. 
• Mubert - create royalty-free music either from scratch or by referencing a YouTube video. You can generate tracks, loops, mixes, and jingles.
• MusicFX (from Google) - provides most accurate text-to-song generation. 

Research Assistants - Text-based

• ChatPDF - upload a PDF article or other document and ChatPDF can read, summarize and answer questions about the article in any language. ChatPDF does not share your files, they are stored securely until you delete them.   
• Scholarcy - built specifically for academic papers, upload an article and receive a summary, highlight content, and write notes. 
• Consensus - search engine that uses AI to extract key findings from scientific research. Consensus is searching all content in Semantic Scholar. 
• Elicit - The AI Research Assistant - uses AI to help automate research workflows.  Can help with literature reviews by finding and summarizing articles.  Can also help with brainstorming, summarization and text classification.  Searching all content in Semantic Scholar.  
• The Literature - Realtime PubMed Analysis - can analyze sources and create a literature review from open access sources in PubMed.
• Logically - upload many documents and get a manageable amount of reliable information from those documents. Or search Semantic Scholar or Google Scholar. Can create a chatbot to use with your data.  
• NotebookLM (from Google) - upload documents, videos, or websites and get summaries, make connections, or even create an AI-generated podcast from your uploaded sources.   
• ScholarAI - a ChatGPT plugin that allows you to access open access research articles.  
• Unriddle.ai - a research and writing tool that finds information from documents, takes notes and helps you write.  As you type, content from your library will pop up to help create a document faster.  

Research Assistants - Citation-based

• Research Rabbit - this is a "citation-based literature mapping tool" that is able to find related articles from an article you provide or will monitor your interests and recommend related sources.  Has interactive visualizations of the scholarly research around a topic. Free.
• Connected Papers - get a visual overview of an academic field and see how articles are connected. Cleaner interface than Research Rabbit. Limited free version.
• Litmaps - Discover relevant academic papers in a field and visualize how the research is connected. Good at showing the evolution of a field of research. Limited free version.

Tools for Writing Help

• Grammarly - online grammar, spelling and punctuation checker. Also helps with generating ideas for writing and citations.  
• QuillBot - helps with paraphrasing, grammar and spelling, and tone detection.   
• Writesonic - a tool to help write articles with paraphrasing help, text expansion, and summarization.  
• HyperWrite - writing assistant with web search and citations. Helps write drafts, provide feedback, or refine ideas.
• AudioPen - "converts voice notes into text that's easy to read and ready to share." Helpful for those with dysgraphia, dyslexia, and other learning differences that impact writing. A limited free version. 

Tools to Help with Studying and Managing Workloads

• Tutor.ai - a customizable learning tool that includes interactive lessons, practice exercises, real-life feedback and progress tracking.
• TurboLearn AI - upload audio, video, website or PDF and using AI this tool will create flashcards, quizzes and more.  Students can record lectures and have AI produce notes, flashcards, etc. on the lecture.  
• Otter.ai - (may be blocked on UNC devices) used for recording, transcribing and organizing recordings and conversations.  You can transcribe conversations (like meetings or lectures) in real-time or via a recording. Otter also provides automated summaries, action items and can search the transcripts.  
• Notion - a management platform with integrated AI assistance that helps you organize work, projects and life.  Helps build to-do lists, tables, databases and much more. Has AI help with translation, generate next steps, provide summaries, and gain insight from large amounts of notes.  
• Socratic - a free learning app from Google that has the tagline, "Get Unstuck. Learn Better."  It provides explanations and tutorials on subjects or questions students are having trouble with. Also has interactive tutorials, simulations, videos and visual aids.  Available on the Apple App Store or Google Play. 

A Few Other Miscellaneous AI Tools

• Mizou - designed for education, you can create chatbots on your content and rubrics while protecting student privacy. Also has a variety of pre-made chatbots to help with learning, including for practicing interviewing, doctor-patient dialogues, or other simulated interactions. 
• Julius AI - provides the computational help of AI to analyze research data and interact with your files. Helps with graphs and charts. 
• Coefficient - can import data into Excel or Google sheets and then interface with ChatGPT to query data. 
• Toolsaday - has a wide variety of AI tools to help in creative content-generation. Includes a character generator and dialogue generator. Does have some free access.  
• Rytr - an AI story-generating tool that has a free version and can generate poems, plots, and append content. 
• Picsart - this storytelling tool blends text and image generation making it ideal for content requiring both narrative and visual components, like comics or illustrated stories. Does have a limited free version. 

• AIPRM's Ultimate Generative AI Glossary - helps clarify AI-related jargon and terms.  
• AI for Education - prompt library for educators.  Prompts and other ideas for using chatbots to help generate lesson plans, assessments, complete administrative tasks, etc.
• Futurepedia AI Tools Directory - this site has information about thousands of AI tools and is meant to help you find an AI tool to help you with any task.  
• One Useful Thing - blog about understanding the implications of AI for work, education, and life.  By Ethan Mollick a professor at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.  Often contains applications for teaching in higher ed.