University Libraries Meeting the Fiscal Requirements for FY2026

Historical Abstracts with Full Text and America: History and Life with Full Text are abstracting and indexing databases that provide some full text articles. These two databases are being cancelled due cost per use, and to ensure that University Libraries can maintain subscriptions to primary source databases.

Access to these two databases will end December 31, 2025.

An overview of the usage, overlap, and cost analysis conducted by University Libraries personnel is below.

The numbers below reflect the total number of uses (searches, full text downloads, reading of abstracts, etc) for each database for the latest three full years of data.

America: History and Life with Full Text

• 2022: 54
• 2023: 189
• 2024: 76

Historical Abstracts with Full Text

• 2022: 77
• 2023: 169
• 2024: 196

Overlap analysis provides information about the uniqueness of databases.

55.9% of the journal titles available in America: History and Life with Full Text are also available in other resources that will be retain for FY26. 50.2% of the journal titles available in Historical Abstracts with Full Text are also available in other resources that will be retained for FY26.

The unique titles in both databases are not high use titles. If you would like detailed information, please contact Jennifer Leffler, whose contact information is found in the left side column.

Per our licensing agreement with EBSCOhost, University Libraries cannot publicly share pricing information for databases. We can share that we try to keep cost per use for electronic resources below $50. Industry standard for cost per use is usually stated at $10-$15.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text and America: History and Life with Full Text are purchased as a package. Cost per use:

• 2022: $225.47
• 2023: $84.98
• 2024: $115.20