Instruction

Instructional Support

Archives & Special Collections is committed to providing quality instruction for the university’s undergraduate and graduate students. We are available to help instructors incorporate archival research and materials into their classes through the following:

• General instruction sessions on archives, primary sources, and how to locate and use archival materials
• Customized instructional sessions on selected materials pertaining to specific topics
• Tours and reading room orientations to familiarize students and instructors with Archives & Special Collections
• Design of course assignments that incorporate the use of archival material
  Individual consultations with students on their research projects

Classes can take place in Michener Library or another classroom on campus, depending on the archival materials being used. Please note that rare and fragile materials must remain in Michener Library. Because most classes are customized to meet the needs of the students, please contact us as far in advance as possible to ensure the highest quality instruction.

Please email library.archives@unco.edu, complete an Instruction Request Form, or call 970-351-2333 to discuss your instructional needs.

Tours

Tour the Archives! Every last Wednesday of the month at 1:00pm during spring and fall semesters, we host tours open to all. Tours are approximately 30 minutes and include standing and light walking.

We also offer tours by appointment. See the Tours & Presentations page for more info or for how to schedule.

Other Offerings

Archives staff are available for talks and presentations about our collections, preserving organizational records, and more! Please email library.archives@unco.edu or call 970-351-2333 to discuss your instructional needs.

We also offer internships and job shadows for your students. Visit our Internships & Volunteers page to learn more.