Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Frontiers of Science

Find Background Information

Gale Science Encyclopedias - Covering all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences.

Oxford Reference Online - Full-text access to several Oxford University Press reference resources.

Statistical resources - helpful data and analysis.

Broad Exploration

Summon
Summon is a discovery tool that searches across the majority of Libraries resources, including the catalog of books and other items physically held in Michener and Skinner Libraries, journal and newspaper articles, conference papers and ebooks held in databases, and much more.

Enter your keywords into the single search box to begin finding resources. Use the options on the left to refine your search.

Search Science Databases

GeoRef
The American Geological Institute's geoscience database.

GreenFILE (EBSCO)
Indexes scholarly and general titles as well as government documents, drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

MathSciNet
Online version of the American Mathematical Society's Mathematical Reviews.

PsycInfo

An abstract database of psychological literature from the 1800s to the present; includes abstracts of more than 2,150 journal titles (98% are peer reviewed), many with links to full text; also indexes dissertations and book chapters.

PubMed
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 21 million citations from biomedical and life science journals. See information about Pubmed on this page to make use of this resource easier and more productive.

ScienceDirect
Over 1,800 full text journals in the areas of science, technology, and medicine.

Web of Science (ISI)
Over 12,000 journals with current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Cite Your Sources

Other citation management tools exist that might be more accessible.  Examples include:

Citation Machine

EasyBib

Mendeley

Zotero

 

Google Scholar

You may want to try Google Scholar to search for a research topic
Google Scholar

 
For help in using Google Scholar to its fullest, watch this video - it's less than 1.5 minutes long!