Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Journal Publication Outlets

Guidance on selecting the best journal to publish your research.

Introduction

decorative image

Journal directories are reference resources that provide identifying information about journals and search tools that facilitate finding specific titles or titles with particular characteristics. Directories can be comprehensive or curated, so the presence or absence of a title does not necessarily indicate that its quality. Therefore, it is important to understand the scope and purpose of a directory, as well as other evaluation methods, in order to properly assess journal quality.

Journal Directories

Cabells LogoCabells Journalytics

Cabells Journalytics is a subscription-based directory of journals in 18 disciplines that helps researchers search and compare titles. It contains journal summaries, acceptance rates, and manuscript guidelines, as well as Altmetric Reports and the Cabell's Classification Index (CCI) to describe a journals influence.

 

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)DOAJ Logo

DOAJ is an independent, multidisciplinary index of peer-reviewed, open access journals with international scope. Journals are vetted through an application and screening process based on criteria developed in collaboration with the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE) and the Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA).

 

Ulrichsweb Global Serials DirectoryUlrichsweb Logo

Ulrichsweb contains a wide range of periodicals including academic and scholarly journals, trade publications, popular magazines, and newspapers. Records provide peer review and open access statuses, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, historic titles, and reviews written by librarians.

 

Web of Science Master Journal ListWeb of Science Group Logo

The Master Journal List is consists of the multiple indices hosted on the Web of Science platform by Clarivate. It is multidisciplinary and international in scope, and it is curated to include journals that demonstrate high levels of editorial rigor and best practice.

 

Sherpa ServicesSherpa Romeo Logo

Sherpa Romeo enables researchers and librarians to see publishers' conditions for open access archiving on a journal-by-journal basis, and Sherpa Juliet enables researchers and librarians to see funders' conditions for open access publication.

Journal Finders

Journal finders are enhanced directories that use the language of your manuscript (title, abstract, or keywords) to suggest journal titles to which you might consider submitting your work. Journal finders are often specific to a discipline or publisher. Some examples include:

Image Credits:

Image adapted from SalomeMaydron from Pixabay