Research Guides: Surveys, Instruments &amp; Tests: Finding Tests

Published vs. Unpublished

Published tests are commercially available through test publishers. Use of these instruments is through purchase from the publisher, meeting the criteria for the purchase and administration of that test.

Unpublished tests are instruments that are not commercially available and are found in journal articles, ERIC documents, dissertations, or test compilation volumes. Use of these tests often requires contacting the author for permission.

Additional information can be found on APA's webpage, Finding Information about Psychological Tests

Databases to help locate source for a test

UNC Databases

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window Mental Measurements Yearbook contains descriptive information and reviews of commercially available standardized educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement, and intelligence tests. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides information including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, print, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window PsycTESTS, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window After conducting the topical search, refine the search to Publication Type "Questionaire/Scale" to locate appended tests. Refining the search to Publication Type "Research Instrument" will provide a description of a test with the source indicated.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Under "Filters," select "Document Type" then "Test."
ERIC This link opens in a new window To locate appended tests, in Advanced Search limit Publication Type to "Tests/Questionnaires"
ProQuest has stopped providing access to ERIC via their search platform to UNC.

Online Directories

ETS TestLink Database
The Test Collection at ETS is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices with information about tests from the early 1900s to today. It contains tests from U.S. publishers, individual test authors and non-U.S. sources.
ADAI Library: Substance Abuse Screening & Assessment Instruments
This resource is intended to help clinicians and researchers find instruments used for screening and assessment of substance use and substance use disorders.
Child Care & Early Childhood Research Connections: Resource Search
The Research Library is a collection of gray research literature, peer-reviewed journal articles, survey instruments, webinars, and projects funded by the Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation. The link above is set to automatically refine results by Resource Type: "Instruments."
Foreign Language Assessment Directory (FLAD)
A directory of information on nearly 200 tests in over 90 languages. Available information about assessments includes grade and proficiency levels, languages for which each test is available, skills targeted by a test, information about the test’s development, and contact information for further inquiries.
EdInstruments
EdInstruments is a developing library of educational measurement tools intended to be a resource for scholars, educators, schools, districts and the general public.

UNC Test Collection

Michener Library retains some print copies of tests behind the main desk. Items in this collection may be restricted and/or require instructor permission to use. To search the collection, search the library catalog and then under "Refine by" in the left menu, go to "Location" and select "Mich Tests."

Test Publishers & Distributers

Academic Therapy Publications ATP Assessments provides tests and remediation for special education and learning disabilities pre-k through adult.
ACER Assessment (Australian Council for Educational Research) ACER is a recognised international leader in the development and provision of high quality assessment and reporting tools and services for schools, universities, TAFE institutes and Registered Training Organisations, health professionals, employers, and governments in Australia and internationally.
College Board Testing Find information about College Board tests, including the SAT, PSAT/NMSQT, and other tests in the SAT Suite of Assessments; CLEP; and AP Exams.
Educational Testing Service (ETS) Publisher of elementary, secondary, and higher education tests including GRE, TOEFL, and Praxis.
Fast Track Project Data Instruments The Fast Track Project is based on the hypothesis that improving child competencies, parenting effectiveness, school context and school-home communications will, over time, contribute to preventing certain behaviors across the period from early childhood through adolescence. 52 full text instruments are included as well as descriptions of other instruments used that are available for purchase. From the Center for Child and Family Policy at the Sanford School of Public Policy at Duke University.
Hodder Education UK based organization providing coverage for KS3, GCSE, IGCSE, IB and A level alongside numerous vocational qualifications.
Mind Garden, Inc. Provides psychological assessment instruments including leadership, personality, social skills, and more.
Multi-Health Systems, Inc. (MHS) Provides assessments in the areas of clinical, educational, public safety, and talent.
The Myers-Briggs Company Publisher of the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator assessment and other career, conflict management, and leadership tests.
Paradigm Education Solutions (JIST) Provides inventories for career exploration, skills and abilities, and more. A division of Kendall Hunt Publishing.
Pearson Assessments Over 300 clinical and classroom assessments. Formerly PsychCorp and Harcourt Assessments.
PRO-ED, Inc Provides standardized tests in the areas of speech-language pathology, special education, psychology and counseling, occupational and physical therapy, and early childhood.
Psychological Assessment Resources (PAR) Provides tests in the areas of achievement/development, behavior/health, career development, forensic, intelligence/cognitive ability, neuropsychology, personality/mood, and speech/language.
Ramsay Corporation Specializes in tests for operators and skilled technicians, including technical and basic skills to assess maintenance, production, and operator workforces.
Rand Health Surveys Health-related surveys available for free in the public domain, designed for a wide range of purposes, including assessing patients' health, screening for mental health conditions, and measuring quality of care and quality of life.
Riverside Insights Provides tests for special education, English learners, learning styles, dyslexia, ADHD, and more.
Scholastic Testing Service, Inc. Provides tests in the areas of achievement, ability & readiness; gifted education; early childhood and special needs; and creativity
Sigma Assessment Systems Provides tests for employee selection, leadership development, personality, career, and counseling.
Slosson Educational Publications Provides tests in the area of special education, especially one-on-one screening instruments to maximize an individual's ability.
Stoelting Company Provides psychological and special education tests with a focus on disabilities.
Teleometrics & My-Tyme Provides assessments in leadership, management, and teamwork.
Walden Aptitude Testing Provides skills, aptitude, and knowledge tests for employment.
Western Psychological Services Provides assessments in achievement, adaptive/functional, attention/executive function, autism, cognitive/memory, developmental, emotional/behavioral, forensics/personality, motor, oral language, phonological awareness, sensory processing, social/pragmatics, and speech.

Select Compilations and Reviews of Tests

Handbook of Psychological Assessment by Gerald Goldstein (Editor); Daniel N. Allen (Editor); John Deluca (Editor)
Call Number: Available Online
Publication Date: 2019
Measurements in Evaluating Science Education: A compendium of instruments, scales, and tests by Amy J. Catalano; Michael A. Marino
Call Number: Available Online
Publication Date: 2020
Measurements in Distance Education: A compendium of instruments, scales, and measures for evaluating online by Amy J. Catalano
Call Number: Available Online
Publication Date: 2018
Tests: A comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business by Taddy Maddox
Call Number: Michnr Stacks (BF176 .T43 2008)
Publication Date: 2008
The Mental Health Handbook by Trevor Powell
Call Number: Available Online
Publication Date: 2017