In 1976, the bestselling author, James A. Michener, donated thirty-seven linear feet of his papers to the University of Northern Colorado laying the foundation for the James A. Michener Papers and Special Collections at the University Libraries. The papers were primarily related to the novel Centennial, which was published in 1974. Shortly before his death, Michener designated the University of Northern Colorado as the official repository for his papers. Archivists at UNC continue to process and preserve the immense volume of materials documenting the life and legacy of James A. Michener. The James A. Michener Papers and Special Collections consists of nearly 1,000 linear feet of materials including research notes, manuscripts, galley proofs, correspondence, field notebooks, maps, photographs, and slides he collected while writing his novels.
The James A. Michener research guide will promote access to archival materials in the collection, provide an overview of Michener's life and literary impact, and highlight significant artifacts housed in the collection. Links to other resources about Michener including biographies, bibliographies, and additional Michener archival collections at other institutions are provided.
Photo credit: University of Northern Colorado
The James A. Michener Papers and Special Collections consists of 100 distinct collections. Each collection contains primary source material pertaining to a specific book, donor, or person associated with Michener. Due to the large scope of the collection, some materials have been moved from their original series. In such cases, accession records have been created by university archivists to note these changes.
Book Collections
The Michener book collections are arranged according to the Library of Congress Classification system.
An author search on Michener, James A. (James Albert), 1907-1997 in the catalog will retrieve records for materials by Michener. The same name as a subject search will retrieve materials about Michener.
The Groseclose Collection. David A. Groseclose, a book collector and Michener expert, amassed a nearly exhaustive collection of first and subsequent editions and variants of James A. Michener works. UNC acquired Groseclose’s substantial collection shortly after Mr. Michener named UNC the repository for his papers.
David A. Groseclose’s book, James A. Michener : a Bibliography (Austin, TX : State House Press, 1996) contains a thorough description of each Michener first edition [PS3525.I19 Z63 1996]. Subsequent English-language printings and editions are listed in a separate chapter, in chronological order. The numbering scheme in this bibliography arranges materials into groupings of works by Michener; works to which Michener contributed; works for which Michener wrote forewords; materials about Michener; audio-visual materials about Michener, and so on. Click here to find all cataloged materials from the Groseclose book collection.
Archival Collections
To locate physical materials:
Descriptive information about many of the rare and unique materials in the physical collection can be found in ArchivesSpace. If there is a specific topic you are interested in, you may type it into the search bar at the top of the page.
To access contents housed in the physical archives, you must visit the Archival Services Office in L119.
To locate digital materials:
Digital artifacts can be located by browsing the James A. Michener Digital Collection or by using the search bar on the Digital UNC home page.
Blanton Museum of Art
The Blanton Museum of Art was the primary repository for Michener’s personal collection of American contemporary art. The museum is also home to the Mari and James A. Michener Gallery Building.
Library of Congress
The James A. Michener papers at the Library of Congress contain correspondence, writings, speeches, journals, interviews, scripts, notes, legal and financial records, biographical material, newspaper clippings, photographs, and other papers documenting Michener's literary career, his interest in politics, his art collection, and the adaptation of his works for stage and screen. The bulk of the collection contains materials from 1945-1970.
Michener Art Museum
The Michener Art Museum archives house several Michener collections including correspondence, photographs, notes, and audiovisual materials.
Swarthmore College
The Swarthmore College Rare Book Room houses a collection of rare and limited edition works by Michener.
Talbot County Free Library
The Maryland Room at the Talbot County Free Library houses the Chesapeake manuscript and Michener’s research for the book.
University of Miami
The James A. Michener papers at the University of Miami contain notes, research materials, and drafts relating to Caribbean.
University of Texas at Austin
The Briscoe Center for American History at the University of Texas houses the James A. Michener Texas Project Archive. This collection relates to James A. Michener and his work on the novel Texas, as well as his association with the University of Texas and the Texas Center for Writers.
University of Virginia
The Albert Erskine papers at the University of Virginia contain correspondence, research, and editing notes exchanged between Michener and Erskine, his editor. The collection contains material from 1956-1985.
Biographical Information
James A. Michener: A Biography by John P. Hayes
Michener: A Writer's Journey by Stephen May
The World is My Home by James A. Michener
Bibliographic Information
James A. Michener: A Bibliography by David A. Groseclose
Search the MLA International Bibliography for titles by Michener.
Literary Criticism
James A. Michener by George J. Becker
James A. Michener by A. Grove Day
James A. Michener: a Critical Companion by Marilyn S. Severson
Search the Literature Resource Center for critical content related to Michener.
The James A. Michener Papers and Special Collection are housed in the Michener Library. For help accessing the collection, you may contact us by phone, fax, or email and in person at the Archival Services Office on the lower level of Michener Library.
Archival Services Office
James A. Michener Library, L119
8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Monday - Friday
Phone: 970-351-2854
Fax: 970-351-2963