There are several collections in the James A. Michener papers and special collections that contain images in various media forms. Below are three digitized collections containing Michener related images showcasing Michener's travels in Spain and the Southwestern United States.
To access the digitized image for each collection, click the blue "Digital UNC" link. For more information about the contents of the individual collection, click the blue "finding aid" link.
Please note that copyright restriction may apply. User is responsible for all copyright compliance. Please contact the UNC University Libraries Archives and Special Collections at library.archives@unco.edu or 970-351-2854 for further information.
This collection features photographs that inspired some of the scenes in Centennial. The photographs in this collection were taken by James Michener himself. The Centennial collection can be accessed at Digital UNC. For a complete listing of resources in this collection, please see the Centennial Collection Finding Aid.
This collection primarily consists of candid photographs of Michener, his wife, and friends taken by Vavra; and photographs of images used in the book Iberia: Spanish Travels and Reflections. The Robert Vavra images and correspondence can be accessed at Digital UNC. For a complete listing of resources in this collection, please see the Robert Vavra images and correspondence finding aid.
This collection consists of photographs taken by Tessa Dalton, Michener's official photographer while conducting research for Centennial in various locations in the American Southwest. Digitized images from Tessa Dalton papers can be accessed at Digital UNC. For a complete listing of resources in this collection, please see the Tessa Dalton papers finding aid.
