Research Guides: ENG 206: Regional Mythologies: Recommended Databases

Databases

Library databases typically provide access to articles from a variety of academic journals. Some also include e-books, newspaper and magazine articles, primary source documents, and multimedia content.

Most of the databases listed here provide the full text of journal articles or will provide a link to the full text in a different database. Sometimes, the full text will not be available. In these cases you will be given the option to request a copy of the article be emailed to you via interlibrary loan.

Subject-Specific Databases

Gale Literature Resource Center
Academic journal articles, biographies, literary criticism, essays, and topic/work overviews on world literature and literary figures from antiquity to the present.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
This cross-cultural database contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life, including mythology, religion, and folklore of different cultural groups.
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Information about the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples of North America from the sixteenth to twentieth centuries.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of titles in a variety of topics, including academic journals and primary sources.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Over 200 full-text journal titles covering literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and more
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Providing full text for thousands of journals, books and other published sources from around the world, this authoritative resource offers an invaluable collection for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.