Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Business & Entrepreneurship

A guide to all things in the world of business music, from growing audiences to marketing to composing for businesses and more.

Books on the Music Business

Music Business Handbook and Career Guide by David Baskerville

This fully updated Twelfth Edition includes a comprehensive discussion of the streaming revolution and its impact on all parts of the value chain, including composers, performing artists, publishers, and labels. The book also analyzes shifts in the competing platforms of consumption ranging from fast-shrinking physical formats and broadcasting to downloads and subscription services. This edition offers more vignettes than ever, illustrating how individuals in different industry roles advanced their careers, as well as how they’ve adjusted to the intertwining influences of technology, law, and culture.

All You Need to Know About the Music Business by Donald S. Passman

Since the advent of file-sharing technology in the late 1990s to the creation of the iPod, the music industry has been teetering on the brink of a major transformation—and with the newest switch to streaming music, this change has finally come to pass. Passman’s comprehensive guide offers timely, authoritative information from how to select and hire a winning team of advisors and structure their commissions and fees; navigate the ins and outs of record deals, songwriting, publishing, and copyrights; maximize concert, touring, and merchandising deals; and how the game is played in a streaming world.

Music Business Careers: Career Duality in the Creative Industries by Cheryl Slay Carr

This new volumebook speaks to the dilemma experienced by those struggling with career decisions: focus on creative work, industry work, or both? The potential financial challenges encountered in working in the industry as an emerging artist may necessitate maintaining a second and simultaneous occupation (possibly outside the industry) that offers economic survival. However, this is not Career Duality. Likewise, attending to the business affairs that impact all creatives is not Career Duality. Rather, Career Duality involves the deliberate pursuit of a dual career as both a music industry creative and music business logician, which is stimulated by the drive to express dual proclivities that are simultaneously artistic and analytical.

Music Business Essentials: A Guide for Aspiring Professionals by Mark Cabaniss

This book will take musicians and beginning business students on a journey which imparts not only vital “nuts and bolts” information about the business of music, but provides inspirational and practical tips from a veteran traveler who has successfully navigated his own music business path to success for over 25 years.

The Music Business and Digital Impacts: Innovations and Disruptions in the Music Industries by Daniel Norgård

This book provides rare insights into the difficult and complex dialogues between stakeholders within and outside the music industries in a time of transition. It builds on a series of recorded meetings in which key stakeholders discuss and assess options and considerations for the music industries’ transition to a digital era. These talks were closed to the public and operated under the Chatham House Rule, which means that they involved a very different type of discussion from those held in public settings, panels or conferences. As such, the book offers a much more nuanced understanding of the industries’ difficulties in adjusting to changing conditions, demonstrating the internal power-struggles and differences that make digital change so difficult.

Artist Management for the Music Business by Paul Allen

This book gives a comprehensive view of how to generate income through music and how to strategically plan for future growth, including interviews and case studies with examples of real-world management issues and outcomes. Updates to this new edition include the importance of online streaming to music careers, how anyone can effectively network, tools for successful negotiation, ways to identify and manage income sources, and guidance on the ever-changing social media landscape of the music business.

Understanding the Music Business: Real World Insights by Dick Weissman

This book offers students a concise yet comprehensive overview of the rapidly evolving music industry, rooted in real-world experiences. Anchored by a wealth of career profiles and case studies, this second edition has been updated throughout to include the most important contemporary developments, including the advent of streaming and the shift to a DIY paradigm. A new "Both Sides Now" feature helps readers understand differing opinions on key issues.

The Music Export Business: Born Global by Stephen Chen, Shane Homan, Tracy Redhead & Richard Vella

The music industry is in a state of flux, resulting from changes in technology, markets, government policies and most recently the COVID-19 pandemic. In analyzing the ability of organisations to access international markets from inception, this book assesses global trends in music industry business models, including streaming and national export policies. The book deploys author interviews with industry insiders including musicians, managers, record labels and government stakeholders, using case studies to highlight cultural and economic value creation in a global value chain. Providing research-based insights into "export readiness" in the global music industry, this book reassesses the "born global" phenomenon, providing a unique and valuable resource for scholars and reflective practitioners interested in the evolving relationship between music industries, national economies, government policies and cultural identity.

Innovation in Music: Future Opportunities by Russ Hepworth-Sawyer, Justin Paterson & Rob Toulson

This book brings together cutting-edge research on new innovations in the field of music production, technology, performance and business. Including contributions from a host of well-respected researchers and practitioners, this volume provides crucial coverage on a range of topics from cybersecurity, to accessible music technology, performance techniques and the role of talent shows within music business.

Competition Policy and the Music Industries: A Business Model Perspective by Jenny Kanellopoulou

This book explores the nature of the music industries before and after the digital revolution from the point of view of the consumer, and explores the question of whether there is a role for competition policy intervention in the music industries. Considering the historically consolidated environment of the music industries, and their rapidly evolving business models in the twenty-first century, the author argues that there is a need for updated competition design to promote consumer welfare and competition in these markets. Opening a much-needed interdisciplinary dialogue across music studies, business, and law, the book applies business model literature to antitrust law in the context of the music industries. It offers a comprehensive history of encounters between the music industry and antitrust and regulatory authorities in the US, UK, and EU, from the payola scandals of the 1950s to the merger of Live Nation and Ticketmaster in 2010, showing how even as business models in the industry have changed, it has repeatedly moved towards consolidation with little regulation.

The Routledge Companion to Arts Management, edited by William J. Byrnes & Aleksandar Brkić

This book provides commentary and ideas from internationally-ranked scholars in the field. Part I introduces a mixture of perspectives about the history and evolution of the practice and study of arts management, the role of arts managers, and how arts management is being impacted by the digital age. Part II focuses on the dynamics of entrepreneurship, change processes, and leadership practices. Part III includes globally focused topics on cultural policy, cultural rights, and community building. Part IV examines a sampling of topics related to functional activities that are common to arts and culture organizations around the world such as marketing, planning, increasing diversity, hiring, fundraising, and sustainability.

Designing the Music Business: Design Cultures, Music Video and Virtual Reality by Guy Morrow

This book addresses the neglect of visual creativities and content, and how these are commercialised in the music industries. While musical and visual creativities drive growth, there is a lack of literature relating to the visual side of the music business, which is significant given that the production of meaning and value within this business occurs across a number of textual sites. Popular music is a multimedia, discursive, fluid, and expansive cultural form that, in addition to the music itself, includes album covers; gig and tour posters; music videos; set, stage, and lighting designs; live concert footage; websites; virtual reality/augmented reality technologies; merchandise designs; and other forms of visual content. As a result, it has become impossible to understand the meaning and value of music without considering its relation to these visual components and to the interrelationships between them.

Music, Management, Marketing, and Law: Interviews Across the Music Business Value Chain by Phil Graham

This collection of interviews captures a period of historic change for the global music business along with a wealth of professional knowledge that extends from the late 1960s through to late 2012 when the interviews were conducted. They record the experiences and insights of people who helped to shape a global business that is quickly passing into history and transforming into something entirely new, often because of decisions the interviewees have been directly involved in making. The material includes the aesthetic, artistic, technical, commercial, legal, and strategic aspects of the music industry.

Create, Produce, Consume: New Models for Understanding Music Business by David Bruenger

This book explores the cycle of musical experience for musicians, professionals, and budding entrepreneurs looking to break into the music industry. Building on the concepts of his previous book, Making Money, Making Music, David Bruenger provides readers with a basic framework for understanding the relationships between the artist and audience and the producer consumer by examining the methods underlying creation-production-reception and creation-consumption-compensation. Each chapter offers a different perspective on the processes and structures that lead listeners to discover, experience, and interact with music and musical artists. Through case studies ranging from Taylor Swift’s refusal to allow her music to be streamed on Spotify to the rise of artists supported through sites like Patreon, Bruenger offers highly relevant real-world examples of industry practices that shape our encounters with music.

Innovation in Music: Performance, Production, Technology and Business, edited by Russ Hepworth-Sawyer, Jay Hodgson, Justin Paterson & Rob Toulson

This book is an exciting collection comprising of cutting-edge articles on a range of topics, presented under the main themes of artistry, technology, production and industry. Each chapter is written by a leader in the field and contains insights and discoveries not yet shared on new developments in standard practice of sound design, engineering and acoustics. It also reaches into areas of innovation, both in technology and business practice, even into cross-discipline areas.

The Classical Music Industry, edited by Christopher Dromey & Julia Haferkorn

This book maps the classical music industry’s key networks, principles and practices across such sectors as recording, live, management and marketing: essentially, how the cultural and economic practice of classical music is kept mobile and alive. The book examining pathways to professionalism, traditional and new forms of engagement, and the consequences of related issues—ethics, prestige, gender and class—for anyone aspiring to ‘make it’ in the industry today.

Managing Organizations in the Creative Economy: Organizational Behavior for the Cultural Sector by Paul Saintilan & David Schreiber

This unique textbook provides readers with an applied theoretical understanding of organizational behaviour that will be of particular benefit to those looking to work in the creative and cultural industries. The text is underpinned by the latest research and theoretical insights into creative industries management and organisational behaviour, covering contemporary issues such as business decision-making, ethics, and sexuality. The authors bring theory to life through practical examples and cases provided by industry experts, supported by specially created companion videos featuring managerial responses to the cases.

The Economics of Music by Peter Tschmuck

This book provides a concise and rigorous presentation of the economics of the music business. It highlights the economic principles that govern a business that is an economic good protected by copyright law. The core sectors of the industry – publishing, recording, live music – are examined and how they operate together through a myriad of licencing arrangements. The revenue streams for recording companies are analysed alongside the income stream of musicians to show how particular formats and platforms affect profit margins and how live performance now outstrips music sales as the primary source of income for today’s artists. The book shows how a combination of established publishers (Universal, Sony/ATV, Warner/Chappell), new promoters (LiveNation) and a new generation of music providers (Apple, Google, Amazon) has created a heady mix of competing and collaborative economic models. Add to this a growing DIY culture among musicians and the ever-changing behaviour of consumers and, as the author shows, we have one of the most challenging economic landscapes but one nevertheless capable of generating huge returns.

The Economics of the Popular Music Industry by Chong Hyun Christie Byun

This book uses modeling from microeconomic theory and industrial organization to demonstrate how consumers and producers have responded to major changes in the music industry. Byun examines the important role of technology in changing its structure, particularly as new methods of creating and accessing music prove to be a double-edged sword for creators and producers. An underlying theme in the project is the question of how the business of music affects creativity, and how artists continue to produce creative output in the face of business pressures, the erosion of copyright enforcement, and rampant online piracy.

The New Music Industries: Disruption and Discovery by Diane Hughes, Mark Evans, Guy Morrow & Sarah Keith

This research-based book outlines career models for artists, methods of creative engagement, artistic options including individuality and branding, production practices, the realities of being a musician in the new industries, and implications for popular music education. Due to the profound effects of the digitization of music, the music industries have undergone rapid transformation. The former record label dominated industry has been supplanted by new industries, including digital aggregators, strategists and online platforms. These new music industries now facilitate ‘direct’ access to both artists and their music. While such accessibility and the potential for artist exposure have never been greater, the challenge to stand out or to even navigate a musical career pathway is formidable.

Making Money, Making Music: History and Core Concepts by David Bruenger

This book offers tools to encourage creative and adaptive entrepreneurship in the music business. Written for the classroom and the workplace, it introduces readers to core principles and processes and shows how to apply them adaptively to new contexts, facilitating a deeper understanding of how and why things work in the music business. By applying essential concepts to a variety of real-life situations, readers improve their capacity to critically analyze and solve problems and to predict where music and money will converge in a rapidly evolving culture and marketplace.

Record Label Marketing: How Music Companies Brand and Market Artists in the Digital Era by Amy Macy, Clyde Rolston, Paul Allen, & Tom Hutchison

This book is intended to support music business students, marketing professionals, and independent artists alike on topics such as:

  • Social media strategies including step-by-step tactics used by major and independent labels are presented in a new section contributed by Ariel Hyatt, owner of CYBER PR.
  • An in-depth look at SoundScan and other big data matrices used as tools by all entities in the music business.
  • An exploration of the varieties of branding with particular attention paid to the impact of branding to the artist and the music business in a new chapter contributed by Tammy Donham, former Vice President of the Country Music Association.

The Music Industry Handbook by Paul Rutter

This book includes coverage of the latest developments in music streaming, including new business models created by the streaming service sector. There is also expanded exploration of the music industry in different regions, and coverage of new debates within the music industry, including the impact of copyright extensions on the music industry and the business protocols involved when music is used in film and advertising.

Entertainment Science: Data Analytics and Practical Theory for Movies, Games, Books, and Muisc by Thorsten Hennig-Thurau & Mark B. Houston

The entertainment industry has long been dominated by legendary screenwriter William Goldman’s “Nobody-Knows-Anything” mantra, which argues that success is the result of managerial intuition and instinct. This book builds the case that combining such intuition with data analytics and rigorous scholarly knowledge provides a source of sustainable competitive advantage – the same recipe for success that is behind the rise of firms such as Netflix and Spotify, but has also fueled Disney’s recent success. Unlocking a large repertoire of scientific studies by business scholars and entertainment economists, the authors identify essential factors, mechanisms, and methods that help a new entertainment product succeed. The book thus offers a timely alternative to “Nobody-Knows” decision-making in the digital era: while coupling a good idea with smart data analytics and entertainment theory cannot guarantee a hit, it systematically and substantially increases the probability of success in the entertainment industry.

What They'll Never Tell You About the Music Business: The Complete Guide for Musicians, Songwriters, Producers, Managers, Industry Executives, Attorneys and Accountaints by Peter M. Thall

This book is designed to answer every stick question in music business, including:
-  How many musicians have seized do-it-yourself internet opportunities to create successful business models, 
-  How the royalty pie is sliced—and who gets the pieces,
-  How the fundamentals of music publishing, producing, managing, touring, and the record industry apply more than ever
-  Why this book is the indispensable guide to the worldwide music industry
-  How corporate general counsels can educate their employees (and themselves) to understand the strictures of copyright law and to avoid trouble

Music on Demand: Composers and Careers in the Hollywood Film Industry by Robert R. Faulkner

In this book, Faulkner shows that the Hollywood film industry, like most work communities, is dominated by a highly productive and visible elite who exercise major influence on the control of available resources, career chances, and access to opportunity. Faulkner traces a network of connections that bind together filmmakers (employers) and composers (employees) and reveals how work is allocated among composers and the division of labor within the Hollywood film community, using statistical analysis and highly revealing personal interviews.

The Routledge Companion to Media Industries, edited by Paul McDonald

Bringing together 49 chapters from leading experts in media industries research, this major collection offers an authoritative overview of the current state of scholarship while setting out proposals for expanding, re-thinking and innovating the field. Media industries occupy a central place in modern societies, producing, circulating, and presenting the multitude of cultural forms and experiences we encounter in our daily lives. The chapters in this volume begin by outlining key conceptual and critical perspectives while also presenting original interventions to prompt new lines of inquiry. Other chapters then examine the impact of digitalization on the media industries, intersections formed between industries or across geographic territories, and the practices of doing media industries research and teaching.

Music by Numbers: The Use and Abuse of Statistics in the Music Industries, edited by Richard Osborne & Dave Laing

This edited collection examines statistics within the music industry. Its aim is to expose the historical and contemporary use and abuse of these numbers, both nationally and internationally. It addresses their impact on consumers’ choices, upon the careers of musicians and upon the policies that governments and legislators make.

The Music Industry: Music in the Cloud by Patrik Wikström

This is the first major study of the music industry in the new millennium. Wikström provides an international overview of the music industry and its future prospects in the world of global entertainment. They illuminate the workings of the music industry, and capture the dynamics at work in the production of musical culture between the transnational media conglomerates, the independent music companies and the public.

iTake-Over: The Recording Industry in the Streaming Era by David Arditi

This book sheds light on the way large corporations appropriate new technology to maintain their market dominance in a capitalist system. To date, scholars have erroneously argued that digital music has diminished the power of major record labels. Arditi suggests otherwise, adopting a broader perspective on the entire issue by examining how the recording industry strengthened copyright laws for their private ends at the expense of the broader public good. Arditi also challenges the dominant discourse on digital music distribution, which assumes that the recording industry has a legitimate claim to profitability at the expense of a shared culture.

Solid Gold: The Popular Record Industry by R. Serge Denisoff

More than 90 record companies release over 9,000 pop records each year―a staggering total of 52,000 songs. Each one competes for the gold record, the recording industry's symbol of success that certifies $1 million worth of records have been sold. This book explains why, for each record that succeeds, countless others fail. This book follows the progress of a record through production, marketing, and distribution, and shows how a mistake made at any point can mean its doom. Denisoff suggests that a drastic shift in the demographic makeup of the pop music audience during the sixties has resulted in a broader listening public, including fans at every level of society.

Copyright's Excess: Money and Music in the US Recording Industry by Glynn Lunney

For more than two hundred years, copyright in the United States has rested on a simple premise: more copyright will lead to more money for copyright owners, and more money will lead to more original works of authorship. In this book, Lunney tests that premise by tracking the rise and fall of the sound recording copyright from 1961–2015, along with the associated rise and fall in sales of recorded music. Far from supporting copyright's fundamental premise, the empirical evidence finds the exact opposite relationship: more revenue led to fewer and lower-quality hit songs. Lunney's breakthrough research shows that what copyright does is vastly increase the earnings of our most popular artists and songs, which - net result - means fewer hit songs.

The Production and Consumption of Music in the Digital Age by Brian J. Hracs, Michael Seman & Tarek E. Virani

This book is an international collection of case studies examining the spatial dynamics of today’s music industry. Drawing on research from a diverse range of cities such as Santiago, Toronto, Paris, New York, Amsterdam, London, and Berlin, this volume helps readers understand how the production and consumption of music is changing at multiple scales – from global firms to local entrepreneurs; and, in multiple settings – from established clusters to burgeoning scenes. The volume is divided into interrelated sections and offers an engaging and immersive look at today’s central players, processes, and spaces of music production and consumption.

Books on Music Entrepreneurship

The Business of Being a Music Influencer by Kaitlin Scirri

This book centers on the business of being an online music influencer - social media marketing, platforms and technology, and basic economics.

Crowdfunding and Independence in Film and Music by Blanka Brzozowska & Patryk Galuszka

This book explores how independent film and music artists and labels use crowdfunding and where this use places crowdfunding in the contemporary system of cultural production. It complements an analysis of independence in film and music with the topic of crowdfunding as a firmly established form of financing cultural activity.

Creating Commercial Music: Advertising, Library Music, TV Themes, and More by Peter Bell

This step-by-step guidebook includes case studies and examples from Bell's own professional career in music and is designed to teach readers how to create commercial music for the contemporary marketplace for advertising, music libraries, TV, and more, as well as learning to understand the creative, technical/production, and business skills and practices required to produce commercial music.

Getting Signed: Record Contracts, Musicians, and Power in Society by David Arditi

Though streaming, social media, and viral content have turned the recording industry upside down in one sense, the record contract and its mythos still persist. This book provides a critical analysis of musicians’ contract aspirations as a cultural phenomenon that reproduces modes of power and economic exploitation, no matter how radical the route to contract. Working at the intersection of Marxist sociology, cultural sociology, critical theory, and media studies, Arditi unfolds how the ideology of getting signed penetrated an industry, created a mythos of guaranteed success, and persists in an era when power is being redefined in the light of digital technologies. 

The Enterprising Musician's Legal Toolkit by David R. Williams

This book is a guide for navigating the foundational decisions to effectively launch and successfully operate a creative enterprise. Among other topics, it includes guidance on:

  •     For-profit legal structures including sole proprietorships, partnerships, limited liability companies, and corporations   
  • Alternative business models such as nonprofit organizations and newer, hybrid structures (B Corps, L3Cs, and Social Purpose Corporations)
  •     Compliance matters
  •     How to protect your interests in artistic collaborations
  •     Music licensing income streams
  •     Copyright basics including steps for federal registration

Making Media: Production, Practices, and Professions, edited by Mark Deuze & Mirjam Prenger

This book uncovers what it means and what it takes to make media, focusing on the lived experience of media professionals within the global media, including rich case studies of the main media industries and professions: television, journalism, social media entertainment, advertising and public relations, digital games, and music. This carefully edited volume features 35 authoritative essays by 53 researchers from 14 countries across 6 continents, all of whom are at the cutting edge of media production studies.

Building a Career in Opera from School to Stage: Operapreneurship by James Harrington

This volume rovides early-career singers with an overview of the structure of the opera industry and tools for strategically approaching a career within it. Today's voice students leave the conservatory with better training than ever, but often face challenges to managing their own careers after graduation. This book addresses what singers need to know in order to craft a career path in the contemporary landscape of opera.

The Musician's Lifeline: Advice for All Musicians, Student to Professional by Peter Erskine & Dave Black

This book includes advice from 150 great musicians---such as Gordon Goodwin, Nathan East, Janis Siegel, Christian McBride, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Gary Burton, Kenny Werner, Steve Smith, and many more---who responded to seven simple questions about topics like sight-reading, travel, warm-ups, networking, preparing for auditions, and general wisdom. The answers will surprise, inform, and confirm what you already know or completely contradict what you've been taught by others.

New Channels of Music Distribution: A Complete Guide to Music Distribution, Music Business Promotions, and Selling Music by C. Michael Brae

This book is a one-stop guide and resource for all musicians, performers, songwriters, and label owners in understanding all the elements and efficiency of music distribution. Through its hands-on exploration of the music business, this book provides insightful strategies for executing marketing, radio, retail campaigns, and much more.

The Entrepreneurial Muse: Inspiring Your Career in Classical Music by Jeffrey Nytch

This book explores principles of entrepreneurship in a classical music setting, inspiring students, emerging professionals, and educators alike to gain the broader perspective and strategic understanding required to negotiate the complex and ever-changing landscape of a professional music career. The author's own career journey creates an additional narrative intended to inspire a broader and more creative view of career possibilities. Readers will acquire strategic and observational tools designed to expand their view of possible career paths in classical music, stimulate creative thinking about how their unique skills can find value in the 21st-century marketplace, and realize their professional goals through the entrepreneurial process. And because entrepreneurship is itself a creative endeavor, readers will learn how entrepreneurship and artistic integrity in music can not only peacefully coexist, but actually nurture and inspire each other.

Monetizing Entertainment: An Insider's Handbook for Careers in the Entertainment & Music Industry by Larry Wacholtz

This book investigates a variety of topics within the entertainment and music industry, ranging from traditional and emerging business models to intellectual property rights to the creative destruction happening currently. The book strategically outlines the existing gaps that make being successful as an artist a dynamic interaction between creativity and business.

Return of the Hustle: The Art of Marketing with Music by Eric Sheinkop

A strong music strategy is fundamental to the success of television, film, brands and video games. Because of higher expectations for audiovisual content, it will take more than clever animation or a celebrity cameo to connect with consumers in an authentic, organic way. In this book, a leading music and marketing industry insider discusses the diverse audio touchpoints for four key industries and shows how marketers, storytellers, and advertisers can use music to effectively guide audiences along the customer journey from passive consumers to brand advocates.

Composing Music for Games: The Art, Technology and Business of Video Game Scoring by Chance Thomas

This is a guidebook for launching and maintaining a successful career as a video game composer. It offers a pragmatic approach to learning, intensified through challenging project assignments and simulations. Thomas begins with the foundation of scoring principles applicable to all media, and then progresses serially through core methodologies specific to video game music.

The Music Producer's Handbook by Bobb Owsinski

This book reveals the inside information and secrets to becoming a music producer and producing just about any kind of project in any genre of music. Among the topics covered is the producer’s responsibilities, and all the elements of a typical production including budgeting, contracts, selecting the studio and engineer, hiring session musicians, and even getting paid.

Awakening Your Business Brain: An iCadenza Guide to Launching Your Music Career by Jennifer Rosenfeld & Julia Torgovitskaya

Artists receive a lot of misconceptions about the business side of art: that focusing too much on self-marketing is detrimental to your artistic growth, or that making sacrifices for a big contract is “selling out.” Along the way, musicians are taught that they can be an artist or a businessperson, but not both. This book demonstrates that not only is it possible to be both, it’s essential for survival in today’s music world.

Music Entrepreneurship by Allan Dumbreck & Gayle McPherson

This book features an analysis of the changing landscape of the music industries and the value of the entrepreneur within them through a series of focused chapters and case studies. Alongside contributions from key academics across the globe, expert contributors from across the industry highlight successful entrepreneurs and offers practical help to the reader trying to navigate the business.

Rock and Roll Fantasy?: The Reality of Going from Garage Band to Superstardom by Ronnie J. Phillips

We are in an era where developments in both technology and musical style have coalesced to produce the greatest period of change in the music industry since the invention of recorded sound.  Globalization, the Internet, and digital technology are now opening up possibilities for more artists to be innovative and financially successful. But new music requires new ways of doing business. For more artists to be better off requires new business models to replace those that dominated the 20th century. Integrating insights from economics, management, and intellectual property law, the author explores the dynamics of entrepreneurship and innovation in the music industry.

The Entrepreneurial Artist: Lessons from Highly Successful Creatives by Aaron P. Dworkin

This book is a practical guide to achieving artistic fulfillment, both personally and professionally. Based on the accomplishments of Shakespeare, Mozart, and several contemporary creatives, these lessons will help you realize your goals—no matter your medium. Among those Dworkin personally interviewed for this book are Emmy-winning actor Jeff Daniels, Tony-award winning choreographer Bill T. Jones, Grammy award-winning musician Wynton Marsalis, and Pulitzer Prize winner Lin-Manuel Miranda, among others.

Don't Knock the Hustle: Young Creatives, Tech Ingenuity, and the Making of a New Innovation Economy by S. Craig Watkins

Drawing on over ten years of interviews and data, Watkins reveals the radical ways in which a newly growing community of ambitious young creatives is transforming businesses from the outside in. Diverse perspectives that are often ignored or silenced by major corporations are garnering public attention as women and people of color are redefining industries across the globe—all from their computer screens. We meet people like Prince Harvey, a New York–based hip-hop artist who recorded his album entirely on an Apple showroom laptop; screenwriter, producer, and actor Issa Rae, who first used YouTube and Kickstarter to develop the web series that became her hit HBO show Insecure; the Empowerment Plan, a nonprofit organization created by product design student Veronika Scott in Detroit; and start-up companies like Qeyno Group in San Francisco and Juegos Rancheros in Austin that help make tech more accessible to people of color.

The DIY Movement in Art, Music and Publishing: Subjugated Knowledges by Sarah Lowndes

This book considers the history of Do It Yourself art, music and publishing, demonstrating how DIY strategies have transitioned from being marginal, to emergent, to embedded. Through secondary research, observation and original interviews, each chapter details the peak period of a city’s subcultural activity and assesses the contemporary situation since the post-subcultural period circa 1995 in order to address the impact of globalized culture in the wake of digital and internet technologies. The book aims to challenge existing histories of sub-cultures by looking at less well-known scenes and movements as well as explore DIY "best practices" to trace a template of best approaches for sustainable, independent, locally owned creative enterprises.

Classical Recording: A Practical Guide in the Decca Tradition by John Dunkerley

This book is the authoritative guide to all aspects of recording acoustic classical music. Offering detailed descriptions, diagrams, and photographs of fundamental recording techniques such as the Decca tree, this book offers a comprehensive overview of the essential skills involved in successfully producing a classical recording.

How to Make It in the New Music Business: Practical Tips on Building a Loyal Following and Making a Living as a Musician by Ari Herstand

This book maintains that a stable career can be built by taking advantage of the many tools at our fingertips: conquering social media, mastering the art of merchandising, embracing authentic fan connection, and simply learning how to persevere. Comprehensively updated to include the latest online trends and developments, it offers inspiring success stories across media such as Spotify and Instagram.

Labels: Making Independent Music by Dominik Bartmański & Ian Woodward

As music genres multiply rapidly, and with unprecedented numbers of people engaging in music production and distribution, what significance do traditional record labels still have? The authors show how, in a digitally (over)saturated market, labels act as specialised filters, taste-makers and identity markers--making their curatorial and scene-making roles more pronounced than ever. Concentrating on labels within independent electronic music, the authors reconstruct the aesthetics and ethics of various styles, drawing on over 40 interviews with key players from cutting-edge music scenes in Europe, Australia, Latin America, and the USA. They focus both on established and new imprints, showing how they are embedded in local urban communities as well as trans-national networks, for example Ninja Tune in London, Ostgut Ton in Berlin, Argot in Chicago, 100% Silk in Los Angeles, or Goma Gringa in Sao Paulo.

Producing Music, edited by Russ Hepworth-Sawyer, Jay Hodgson & Mark Marrington

During the last two decades, the field of music production has attracted considerable interest from the academic community, more recently becoming established as an important and flourishing research discipline in its own right. The book presents cutting-edge research across topics that both strengthen and broaden the range of the discipline as it currently stands. Bringing together the academic study of music production and practical techniques, this book illustrates the latest research on producing music.

Produce y Distribuye tu Música Online: Guía Práctica del Creador Musical Digital by Aina Ramis

¿Cuáles son los primeros pasos de un creador musical digital? ¿Cómo pueden gestionarse los derechos de un músico en la Red? ¿Qué pasos hay que dar para llegar al gran público? ¿Y cuáles son las nociones básicas de marketing digital que debes conocer? Con este libro aprenderás los trucos más ingeniosos para que, desde casa, tu creación llegue lo más lejos posible dentro y fuera del mundo digital. Te convertirás en tu propio productor y aprenderás a gestionar tu música desde cero, además de conocer todos los derechos que tienes como músico.

Entertainment Journalism: Making It Your Career by Ben Falk

This book is a practical guide to one of the most highly visible areas of media practice. Drawing on 20 years’ experience as an entertainment journalist, Falk gives a comprehensive overview of journalistic reporting on the arts industries, with particular focus on film, music, TV and celebrity gossip. This is coupled with an extensive range of tips and tools to help students and young professionals hone the key skills required for a career in entertainment journalism. Interviews with industry professionals appear throughout, from current editors of the biggest entertainment brands, Hollywood bureau chiefs and critics to consumer publicists, multimedia content producers, live radio correspondents, video makers, TV presenters and social media specialists.

Music 4.1: A Survival Guide for Making Music in the Internet Age by Bobby Oswinski

This book includes an in-depth look at the economics of streaming music, with the real information about royalties that distributors and record labels don't want you to know and that simply can't be found anywhere else. The book also looks at how revenue is generated from YouTube and other video streaming services, and it provides techniques for optimizing both videos and channels for maximum success. Also included are lists of effective tips (both high- and low-tech) and checklists with every chapter, as well as a reference list of online tools for inexpensive music and merchandise distribution, sales, marketing, and promotion.

Music Marketing for the DIY Musician: Creating and Executing a Plan of Attack on a Low Budget by Bobby Borg

Written by a professional musician for other musicians, this book is a proactive, practical, step-by-step guide to producing a fully integrated, customized, low-budget plan of attack for artists marketing their own music. In a conversational tone, it reveals a systematic business approach employing the same tools and techniques used by innovative top companies, while always encouraging musicians to stay true to their artistic integrity. It's the perfect blend of left-brain and right-brain marketing.

Crowdfunding for Musicians by Laser Malena-Webber

Crowdfund your music career! Use Kickstarter, Patreon, Indiegogo, and other crowdfunding tools to connect to your fan base and run a successful fundraising campaign. Mobilize your fans to support your next album, tour, video, or other music project, or to create a steady fan-sourced income stream to support your career as a musician. Develop effective strategies for successful campaigns, including timing, networking, press relations, reward levels, and more. You will learn not only how to increase your income, but generally to optimize your career and art while connecting with your fan base. Interviews with artists and industry insiders offer real-world stories and practical advice.

Composing Capital: Classical Music in the Neoliberal Era by Marianna Ritchey

The familiar old world of classical music, with its wealthy donors and ornate concert halls, is changing. The patronage of a wealthy few is being replaced by that of corporations, leading to new unions of classical music and contemporary capitalism. Ritchey lays bare the appropriation of classical music by the current neoliberal regime, arguing that artists, critics, and institutions have aligned themselves—and, by extension, classical music itself—with free-market ideology. More specifically, she demonstrates how classical music has lent its cachet to marketing schemes, tech firm-sponsored performances, and global corporate partnerships. As Ritchey shows, the neoliberalization of classical music has put music at the service of contemporary capitalism, blurring the line between creativity and entrepreneurship, and challenging us to imagine how a noncommodified musical practice might be possible in today’s world.

Start & Run Your Own Record Label: Winning Marketing Strategies for Today's Music Industry by Daylle Deanna Schwartz

This is a comprehensive guidebook to building a record label, packed with how-to information about market trends and revenue streams for music releases. In addition to updated information on physical distribution, generating publicity, marketing, and promotion, it also has new information about key issues including:

•Balancing on and offline promotion and marketing
•Making the most of online resources (social-networking sites, blogs, ringtones, videos, radio, and more)
•Using digital distribution profitably
•Licensing your recordings for use in the media
•Marketing music overseas