Research Guides: Research Data Management: Rescued Government Data

Efforts to Preserve Government Data

The preservation of government data includes datasets themselves, but also websites, reports, and other resource formats produced or funded by the U.S. government. For additional places to find preserved datasets, see the Data Repositories tab on this guide.

Data Rescue Project
The Data Rescue Project is a coordinated effort among a group of data organizations, including IASSIST, RDAP, and members of the Data Curation Network. Efforts include: data gathering, data curation and cleaning, data cataloging, and providing sustained access and distribution of data assets.
Data Lumos
An ICPSR archive for valuable government data resources. ICPSR has a long commitment to safekeeping and disseminating US government and other social science data.
GovWayback
GovWayback is a simple tool to quickly access archived versions of government websites from before January 20, 2025 - just add "wayback.com" after ".gov" in any government URL. GovWayback automatically redirects you to that page's archived version from the Internet Archive.
End of Term Archive
The End of Term Web Archive captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations. The EOT has thus far preserved websites from administration changes in 2008, 2012, 2016, 2020, and 2024.
Public Environmental Data Partners
The Public Environmental Data Partners are committed to preserving and providing public access to federal environmental data.
Archive of data.gov
Regularly updated mirror of all data files linked from data.gov
Find Lost Data
From the Boston University School of Public Health Center for Health Data Science, this project aims to provide an easy way to search for datasets across various sites.

Affected Databases

ERIC

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an indexing and full-text database for education and the social sciences sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences within the U.S. Department of Education. As of April 24, 2025, content has been significantly reduced. Read more about actions being taken in Drexel University Libraries' detailed news post.

ERICA (ERIC Archive) is an effort to preserve content by archiving PDFs of articles in the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine.

PubMed

PubMed is an indexing database containing biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books provided through the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). PubMed does not contain full-text articles and has not yet been affected by federal cuts. Katie Suleta's article Will They Come for PubMed Next? details the concerns for this resource.

Additional Lists of Resources

Missing Government Websites and Data
Provides primary source information, documents, reports or publications produced by the legislative, executive and judicial branches of US federal government. From the University of Michigan Library.
Government Information Data Rescue Guide
From the University of Virginia, a list of resources for accessing government data.
Government Information Data Rescue
From American University, a list of initiatives and resources that are ensuring the long-term accessibility of government information.
Finding Government Information During the 2025 Administration Transition
From the University of Minnesota Libraries, this guide will point to resources that identify and track steps taken by the Trump administration and Congress to scale back or eliminate access to federal government information. It also provides links to groups performing data and website rescue.