Research in education
- Best Evidence Encyclopedia (BEE)
- CASEL Reference Database
- Center for Teaching Quality Research
- Doing What Works
- ECS's Education Issues
- Improving Teacher and School Leader Effectiveness: Designing a Framework for Colorado
- Just for Kids: Best Practices
- National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Research
- Pre-K Now Research Reports
- Teacher Policy Research
- Teacher Workshops
- What Works Clearinghouse
- What works? Research into Practice
Links to resources
- Colorado District/School Profiles
- Colorado Draft New Academic Standards
- Colorado Education & Library Directory
- Colorado Education Statistics
- Colorado K-12 Academic Standards
- Colorado Student Assessment Program (CSAP)
- Condition of Latinos in Education: 2008 Factbook
- EdStats from World Bank
- Education Trust's Education Watch
- Educator's Reference Desk
- Fact Sheets and Statistical Analysis
- Glossary of Instructional Strategies
- History of Education - 20th Century
- Kids Count Data by State
- LEARN NC: Education Reference
- Michigan Online Resources for Educators
- Nation's Report Card
- National Center for Education Statistics Tables & Figures Search
- NEA Reports and Statistics
- OECD Education Statistics
- Partnership for 21st Century Skills - Publications
- Search for Schools, Colleges, Libraries
- Thinkers on Education
- 21st Century Skills, Education & Competitiveness
- U. S. Dept. of State Office of Overseas Schools
- UNESCO Data Centre
Lesson plan and teaching resources sites
- ADL Curriculum Connections
- Best Web Sites for Teaching and Learning
- Character Education Curriculum Resources
- Colorado Virtual Library for Teachers
- Digital History
- EduWeb
- FREE - Federal Resources for Educational Excellence
- GEM - Gateway to 21st Century Skills
- Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators
- Lesson Plan Library from Discovery Education
- NASA
- Solution Site: Find a Unit
- Standards Based Resources from PBS
- Teachable Moment - Social Responsibility
- Teachers from Library of Congress
- Thinkfinity for Educators
Finding books using The Source
- The Source

Use the Advanced Search to combine topics using Boolean Operators (and, or, and not), for example: (best practices or research-based) and teaching and (high school or secondary)
Browse for education books
Many education books are located on third floor of Michener Library:
HQ 767.8-792.2 Child development
HQ 793-799.2 Adolescence
HV 1551-3024 People with disabilities
L - Education (General)
LA - History of Education
LB - Practice of Education
LB 1049.9-1050.75 Reading
LB 1139.2-1140.5 Early Childhood/Preschool
LB 1155-1328 Kindergarten
LB 1507-1547 Primary grades
LB 1555-1592 Elementary
LB 1603-1696.6 Secondary
LC - Special Aspects of Education
LC 3950-4806.5 Special education
PE 1128.A2 English Language Learners
PN 1008.5-1009.5 Children's Literature
QA 135-137 Elementary Mathematics
Journal article indexes
- Education Research Complete

Index to over 3000 periodicals, 2100 academic journals, with 1200 full text. Also contains electronic books and conference papers. - ERIC (CSA)

Comprehensive database from 1966-2003. Currently indexing about 1000 journals, over 900 peer reviewed, along with documents, many of which are full text online. - ERIC (ED.gov)

Department of Education's version of the comprehensive database 1966-2003 and selective database 2004- of about 1000 journals, over 900 peer reviewed. Click on "Find in a Library" for UNC full text journals. - ProQuest Education Journals

Indexes over 760 education journals with 600 titles available in full text. Also includes content from ProQuest's Career and Technical Education database. - Education Full Text

Indexes over 600 education journals, 400 peer reviewed, from 1983 forward with over 360 full text journals included. - Education Index Retrospective
Index to about 500 journals covering the period from 1929-1983. May be searched in combination with its companion index Education Full Text.
Other helpful databases
Use links through Articles & More to locate these databases:
- Child Care & Early Education Research Connections
Database of literature review articles, reports & papers, fact sheets & briefs, and more. Some full text in this database. No "check for full text" available. - Gale Virtual Reference Library
Includes full text reference sources: "Encyclopedia of Education," "World Education Encyclopedia," "Child Development," and "Encyclopedia of Disability." - GoENC.com
Collection of lesson plans, articles about teaching practices, curriculum resources, and professional development tools for math and science teachers. - Oxford Reference Online
Contains full text reference works including Dictionary of Education and Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States.
Two education collections in Michener Library
Standards and Rubrics
The first five sites provide access to the variety of standards, followed by a site that provides examples of rubrics:
Librarian |
Bette RatheMichener Library
Main floor office 108
University of Northern Colorado
Greeley CO 80639
Phone: (970) 351-1531
Send Email
Subjects:
Education
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait