*Overview of RSCW Support

One of the first steps in the writing process is conducting a literature review -- a critical look at the research that is significant to the work you are carrying out. The Literature Review guide takes you through the process, including evaluating and summarizing sources, organizing your review, and searching for citations.

Organizing Literature

The UNC community has access to RefWorks, a tool that is primarily known for citation management. However, the RefWorks now allows users to upload and store PDFs, organize literature with folders and tags, read and annotate full-text documents, and share documents between researchers.

Citation Style Guides & Management Systems

UNC Libraries also provides a number of guides to assist you with creating citations and bibliographies and formatting your writing in accordance with the following publication style guidelines: 

• AMA Style - 10th edition -- American Medical Association Manual of Style
• APA Style - 6th edition -- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
• Chicago Style -- Chicago Manual of Style
• MLA Style -- Modern Language Association Style Manual and MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed.
• MLA citation (8th edition) -- covers changes made to MLA citation style in the MLA Handbook, 8th ed.

Refworks is a reference management software that allows you to format bibliographies, organize and share your references, and annotate documents. This guide provides detailed information on using the tool.

Writing Support

The UNC Writing Center also offers tutoring to both graduate and undergraduate students in all stages of the writing process, from thesis development and organization to revision and review of grammar, punctuation, and style.   

This writing toolkit, offered in conjunction with the Dissertation Prep and Writing Intensive workshop series for doctoral students, consolidates resources on citation styles and tools, academic writing, peer review, setting writing goals, and more.