For questions, more information, or other concerns, please contact any member of the Scholarly Communication Department:
Nicole Webber
Scholarly Communication Librarian, Interim Chair
Contact & Directory Page
Schedule an appointment
Nancy Henke
Textbook Affordability Librarian
Contact & Directory Page
Schedule an appointment
Stephanie Wiegand
Scholarly Communication Librarian
Contact & Directory Page
Schedule an appointment
Follow the University Libraries:
One of the first steps in the writing process is conducting a literature review -- a critical look at the research that is significant to the work you are carrying out. The Literature Review guide takes you through the process, including evaluating and summarizing sources, organizing your review, and searching for citations.
The UNC community has access to RefWorks, a tool that is primarily known for citation management. However, the RefWorks now allows users to upload and store PDFs, organize literature with folders and tags, read and annotate full-text documents, and share documents between researchers.
UNC Libraries also provides a number of guides to assist you with creating citations and bibliographies and formatting your writing in accordance with the following publication style guidelines:
Refworks is a reference management software that allows you to format bibliographies, organize and share your references, and annotate documents. This guide provides detailed information on using the tool.
Additionally, topics in writing, research, and scholarly communication are included in GradCO webinars. GradCO is a collaboration of CU-Anschutz, CU-Boulder, CSU-Fort Collins, the Colorado School of Mines, and the University of Northern Colorado.
The UNC Writing Center also offers tutoring to both graduate and undergraduate students in all stages of the writing process, from thesis development and organization to revision and review of grammar, punctuation, and style.
This writing toolkit, offered in conjunction with the Bear GRADS webinar series for doctoral students, consolidates resources on citation styles and tools, academic writing, peer review, setting writing goals, and more.