Skip to Main Content

UNC Affordable & OER Committee

Affordable & OER Committee

2023-24 Committee Members

Jennifer Atterbury-Cherico
Curriculum Liaison Specialist
Office of the Registrar

Cassie Bergstrom
Associate Professor
College of Education & Behavioral Sciences

Molly Desjardins
Associate Professor
Department of English
College of Humanities &
Social Sciences

Matthew Farber
Assistant Professor
School of Teacher Education
College of Education &
Behavioral Sciences

Kirsten (Kiki) Gilderhus
Associate Professor
School of Art & Design
College of Performing & Visual Arts

Mackenzie Green
UNC Bookstore Representative
UNC Bookstore

Jessica Guerra
Undergraduate, Junior
Psychology Major
Human Services Minor

Constantin Gurdgiev
Associate Professor
Monfort College of Business

Melinda Gurule
Success Coach and Advisor
Soar, Division of Student
Academic Success

Nancy Henke
Assistant Professor
University Libraries

Derek Herbert
Assistant Director
Business Intelligence & Data Engineering

Molly Jameson
Interim Director
Center for the Enhancement
of Teaching & Learning

Oscar Levin
Associate Professor
Mathematical Sciences
College of Natural & Health Sciences

Jen Mayer
Committee Chair
Associate Professor
University Libraries

Ethan Roth
AOER Student Employee
University Libraries


Kathy Zellers
Instructional Design & Development


2023-24 Subcommittees

Assessment Subcommittee

Determine assessment projects concerning the work of the committee and/or use of open and affordable educational materials at UNC.  

Members: Jen Mayer (chair), Matt Farber, Molly Jameson, Kathy Zellers, Constantin Gurdgiev


State Grant Subcommittee

Author, oversee, and promote to campus grants from the CDHE OER Council. Additional grants may be undertaken by this subcommittee or other members of the committee.  

Members: Nancy Henke (chair), Jen Mayer, Kiki Gilderhus


Course Markings Subcommittee

Work with Academic Affairs leadership and the bookstore in determining how to comprehensively and consistently identify courses that have no-cost or low-cost course materials for students and other stakeholders 

Members: Derek Herbert (chair), Oscar Levin, Jen Cherico, Mackenzie Green


Events and Professional Development Subcommittee

Plan and promote events funded by the CDHE OER Council and otherwise recommended by the committee. Make recommendations to the Libraries and CETL concerning needed professional development opportunities for the campus community. 

Members: Melinda Gurule (co-chair), Jessica Guerra (co-chair), Nancy Henke, Cassie Bergstrom, Molly Desjardins.