Entire Blog
When discussing an entire blog in your paper (and not indicating a specific idea, fact, or document) it is acceptable to simply include the URL of the website in parentheses within your writing. If you are referring to a specific piece of information or directly quoting information on a blog, a text and reference citation are required.
The blog Just a Colorado Gal (http://www.justacoloradogal.com/) covers not only hiking gear, routes, basics, and specifics, but also follow’s the life of the blogger.
Authors of academic papers can find useful tips and answers to APA questions not covered in the Publication Manual on the APA Style Blog (http://blog.apastyle.org/apastyle/).
With the tag line 'writer. professor. part-time hippie.' the Stacia L. Brown blog (http://stacialbrown.com/) offers readers current news topics with a human element and a humane eye.
Adventures of a Labor Nurse: The Highs and Lows of Labor and Delivery blog (http://adventuresofalabornurse.com/) looks at the nursing profession and the people with humor and grace.
Blog Post
Bethea, C. (2017, June 28). A doctor’s view of Obamacare and Trumpcare from rural Georgia [Blog post]. Retrieved from http://www.newyorker.com/news/news-desk
Improv Everywhere Productions. (2013, January 13). No pants subway ride 2014 [Blog post]. Retrieved from http://improveverywhere.com/2014/01/13/no-pants-subway-ride-2014/#more-7181
Lucy [User name]. (2017, February 24). Tiny bear making [Blog post]. Retrieved from http://lucyantique.blogspot.com
Roberts, D. (2017, May 17). Top 10 buffalo burgers in Colorado [Blog post]. Retrieved from http://rockymountainfoodreport.com/
Blog Comment
Long, J. [User name]. (2017, June 28). Re: How to calculate your book’s length before writing [Blog comment]. Retrieved from https://www.helpingwritersbecomeauthors.com/ calculate-books-length-writing/#comments
sciencereader [User name]. (2017, June 27). Re: Copyright infringers be warned! [Blog comment]. Retrieved from http://lj.libraryjournal.com/blogs/annoyedlibrarian/2017/ 06/26/copyright-infringers-be-warned/#comments
VinceBos [User name]. (2017, January). Re: Beall’s list: Gone but not lost [Blog comment]. Retrieved from https://publons.com/blog/bealls-list-gone-but-not-lost/
Author
The author is the person or organization taking credit for the information. If you are not sure who is taking responsibility for the information, look for an About Us link or who copyrighted the material.
Indivdiual Author(s) Examples
Individual Author Using Online Username Examples
Group Author Examples
Elements Needed
Format
Blog Post
Author, F. M. (Year, Month Day). Title of blog post [Blog post]. Retrieved from http://URL
Blog Comment
Author [User name]. (Year, Month Day). Re: Title of blog post [Blog comment]. Retrieved from http://URL
Single Episode or Titled Portion of Disc
Jones, N. (Writer), & Trim, M. (Director). (2015). Empathy is a boner killer [Netflix series episode]. In J. D. Gray & N. K. Tannenbaum (Producers), Orange is the new black [Blu-ray disc]. United States: Lionsgate.
Negrete, M., Powell, C. (Writers), & Satrazemis, M. E. (Director). (2016). Hearts still beating [Television series episode]. In R. DeGard (Producer), The walking dead [Blu-ray disc]. United States: Anchor Bay Entertainment.
Entire Series
Behr, I. S., Armus, B., Gray, M., Mason, J., McCullough, R., Sheldon, L. (Producers) … Roddenberry, G. (Creator). (1987-1994). Star trek: The next generation [Television series, Blu-ray disc]. United States: Paramount Television.
Bruestle, M., Coulter, A., Kessler, T. A., Barnett, P. (Producers), & Chase, D. (Creator). (1999-2007). The sopranos [Television series, Blu-ray disc]. United States: Home Box Office.
Entire Blu-ray Disc
Edelman, E. (Producer & Director), Waterlow, C., Rosenberg, T., Fenton, D., Geist, L., Leyden, E., (Producers), ... Schell, C. (Producers). (2016). O. J.: Made in America [Blu-ray disc]. United States: ESPN Films.
Kong, W., (Producer), & Yimou, Z. (Producer & Director). (2004). House of flying daggers [Blu-ray disc]. China: Edko Films.
Rosier, D. (Producer), Salgado, J. R., & Wenders, W. (Directors). (2014). The salt of the earth [Blu-ray disc]. France: Decia Films.
Rosenberg, T., Lucchesi, G., Wright, R., Grevioux, K., McBride, D. (Producers), & Wiseman, L. (Producer & Director). (2006). Underworld: Revolution [Blu-ray disc]. United States: Lakeshore Entertainment.
Elements Needed
Some information can be difficult to find. Additional resources such as the Internet Movie Database (IMDB) and Wikipedia can help you identify necessary citation information.
Format
Single Episode
Writer, F. M. (Writer), & Director, F. M. (Director). (Year). Title of episode [Television series episode]. In F. M. Producer (Producer), Title of series [Blu-ray disc]. Country of Origin: Studio.
Entire Series
Producer, F. M. (Producer), & Creator, F. M. (Creator). (Year-Year). Title of series [Television series, Blu-ray disc]. Country of Origin: Studio.
Entire Blu-ray Disc
Producer, F. M. (Producer), & Director, F. M. (Director). (Year). Title of blu-ray disc [Blu-ray disc]. Country of Origin: Studio Name.
Entire Print Book with Author(s)
Reynolds, N. E. (2017). Writer, sailor, soldier, spy: Ernest Hemingway’s secret adventures, 1935-1961. New York, NY: William Morrow.
Roach, M. (2013). Gulp: Adventures on the alimentary canal. New York, NY: W. W. Norton.
Thistlethwaite, A. B., & Wooldredge, J. D. (2014). Forty studies that changed criminal justice: Explorations into the history of criminal justice research. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall.
Wade, L. (2017). American hookup: The new culture of sex on campus. New York, NY: Norton.
Entire Edited Print Book
Armano, E., Bove, A., & Murgia, A. (Eds.). (2017). Mapping precariousness, labour insecurity and uncertain livelihoods: Subjectivities and resistance. Abingdon, United Kingdom: Routledge.
Çemen, Î., & Yilmaz, Y. (Eds.). (2017). Active global seismology: Neotectonics and earthquake potential of the eastern Mediterranean region. Washington, DC: American Geophysical Union.
Hoye, R., & Parent, M. M. (Eds.). (2017). The Sage handbook of sport management. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.
Kaiser, P., & Known, M. (Eds.). (2012). Ends of the earth: Land art to 1974. New York, NY: The Museum of Contemporary Art.
Subsequent Edition of a Book
Change, C. C., & Keisler, H. J. (2012). Model theory (Dover ed.). Mineola, NY: Dover.
Dawkins, R. (2016). The extended selfish gene (40th anniversary ed.). Oxford, United Kingdom: University Press.
Stubbendieck, J., Hatch, S. L., & Bryan, N. M. (2011). North American wildland plants: A field guide (2nd ed.). Lincoln, NE: University of Nebraska Press.
Wysong, E., Perrucci, R., & Wright, D. (2014). The new class society: Goodbye American dream? (4th ed.). Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield.
eBook with DOI (learn more about DOIs)
Favretto, I., & Itcaina, X. (Eds.). (2017). Protest, popular culture and tradition in modern and contemporary Western Europe. London, United Kingdom: Palgrave Macmillan. doi: 10.1057/978-1-137-50737-2
Hartel, R., & Hartel, A. (2008). Food bites: The science of the foods we eat. New York, NY: Springer. doi: 10.1007/978-0-387-75845-9
Jimenez, L. (2008). Se habla dinero?: The everyday guide to financial success. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons. doi: 10.1002/9781119197942
eBook from a Database (no DOI available)
Bergin, T. (2013). Regulating alcohol around the world: Policy cocktails. Farnham, United Kingdom: Ashgate. Retrieved from EBSCOhost eBook Collection database.
Dickens, C. (1871). A child’s dream of a star. Boston, MA: Fields, Osgood. Retrieved from Google Books database.
Pearson, R. D., & Davies, M. M. (2014). Star Trek and American television. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press. Retrieved from ProQuest Ebook Central database.
eBook with URL (no DOI available, not retrieved from a database)
Gerson, P. L. (Ed.). (1986). Abbot Suger and Saint-Denis: A symposium. Retrieved from http://www.metmuseum.org/ art/metpublications/abbot_suger_and_saint_denis
Gray, H. (1918). Anatomy of the human body (29th ed.). Retrieved from http://www.bartleby.com/107/
Parker, L. (2010). Back(stabbed) in Brooklyn. Retrieved from http://www.feedbooks.com/userbook/14654/back-stabbed-in-brooklyn
Elements Needed
Format
Print Book
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of book: Subtitle of book. City, ST: Publisher.
Edited Book
Editor, F. M. (Ed.). (Year). Title of book: Subtitle of book. City, ST: Publisher.
Subsequent Edition of Book
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of book: Subtitle of book (# ed.). City, ST: Publisher.
eBook with DOI
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of book: Subtitle of book. City, ST: Publisher. doi: 10.###AA##/etc.
eBook from Database (no DOI avialable)
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of book: Subtitle of book. City, ST: Publisher. Retrieved from Database Name database.
eBook with URL (no DOI available, not retrieved from a database)
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of book: Subtitle of book. Retrieved from http://URL
Chapter from Edited Print Book
Dichter, M. E., Cederbaum, J. A., & Teitelman, A. M. (2010). The gendering of violence in intimate relationships: How violence makes sex less safe for girls. In M. Chesney-Lind & N. Jones (Eds.), Fighting for girls: New perspectives on gender and violence (pp. 83-106). Albany, NY: State University of New York Press.
Kingwell, M. (2017). Bored, addicted, or both: How we use social media now. In C. G. Prado (Ed.), Social media and your brain: Web-based communication is changing how we think and express ourselves (pp. 15-35). Santa Barbara, CA: Praeger.
Miles, K. (2016). Slick: The (mis)fortune of an Oklahoma oil town faithfully presented in parts and with special attention paid to geographic features therein. In T. Brorby & S. B. Trout (Eds.), Fracture: Essays, poems, and stories on fracking in America (pp. 52-62). North Liberty, IA: Ice Cube Press.
Chapter from eBook with DOI - (learn more about DOIs)
Tabansky, L. (2017). Cyber security challenges: The Israeli water sector example. In R. M. Clark & S. Hakim (Eds.), Cyber-physical security (pp. 205-219). Cham, Switzerland: Springer. doi: 10.1007/978-3-319-32824-9_10
Chapter from eBook in a Database (no DOI available)
Please note that no page numbers are included in the second citation. As this book was only published in a digital format, it includes no page numbers. Therefore, it is impossible to include them in the citation.
Guthrie, K. L. (2012). YouTube: Beyond lectures and papers in leadership education. In C. Cheal, J. Coughlin, & S. Moore (Eds.), Transformation in teaching: Social media strategies in higher education (pp. 93-114). Santa Rosa, CA: Informing Science Press. Retrieved from Google Books.
Price, F. P., Johnson, M., & Barnett, M. (2012). Universal design for learning in the science classroom. In D. H. Rose, A. Meyer, & T. E. Hall (Eds.), Universal design for learning in the classroom: Practical applications. New York, NY: Guilford Press. Retrieved from EBSCOhost eBook Collection.
Chapter from eBook with URL (no DOI available, not retrieved from a database)
Please note that no page numbers are included in the this citation. As this book was only published in a digital format, it includes no page numbers. Therefore, it is impossible to include them in the citation.
Shelley, J. (2013). The concept of the aesthetic. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.), Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy. Retrieved from https://plato.stanford.edu/index.html
Elements Needed
Format
Print Book
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of chapter: Subtitle of chapter. In F. M. Editor & F. M. Editor (Eds.), Title of book: Subtitle of book (pp. ##-##). City, ST: Publisher.
eBook with DOI
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of chapter: Subtitle of chapter. In F. M. Editor & F. M. Editor (Eds.), Title of book: Subtitle of book (pp. ##-##). City, ST: Publisher. doi: 10.###AA##/etc.
eBook from Database (no DOI available)
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of chapter: Subtitle of chapter. In F. M. Editor (Ed.), Title of book: Subtitle of book (pp. ##-##). City, ST: Publisher. Retrieved from DATABASE NAME
eBook with URL (no DOI available, not retrieved from a database)
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of chapter: Subtitle of chapter. In F. M. Editor (Ed.), Title of book: Subtitle of book (pp. ##-##). City, ST: Publisher. Retrieved from http://URL
Single Track
Adele. (2011). Rumor has it (Track 2). On 21 [CD]. London, United Kingdom: XL Recordings.
Frye, W. (Composer), & Kirkman, A. (Conductor). (2011). Ave regina caelorum a 4 (Track 6). On Music for Henry V & the House of Lancaster [CD, Recorded by the Binchois Consort]. United Kingdom: Hyperion.
Nirvana. (1991). Smells like teen spirit (Track 1). On Nevermind [CD]. Santa Monica, CA: DGC Records.
Perlmutter, D. (2013). What are your risk factors? (Track 2). On Grain brain: The surprising truth about wheat carbs, and sugar - your brain's silent killers [CD, Recorded by P. Ganim]. New York, NY: Little, Brown.
Entire Album or Audio Book
Fleetwood Mac. (1990). Rumors [CD]. New York City, NY: Warner Music.
Hillenbrand, L. (2010). Unbroken: A World War II story of survival, resilience, and redemption [CD, Recorded by E. Herrmann]. New York, NY: Random House Audio.
Purcell, H. (Composer), & Guyver, R. (Conductor). (2002). The University of Northern Colorado School of Music presents the Fairy Queen: A joyful pageant of song and dance [CD, Recorded by UNC Chamber Orchestra and Chorus]. Greeley, CO: University of Northern Colorado.
Rowling, J. K. (1999). Harry Potter and the sorcerer's stone [CD, Recorded by J. Dale]. London, United Kingdom: Listening Library.
Elements Needed
Format
Single CD Track
Artist, F. M. (Year). Title of CD track (Track #). On Title of CD [CD]. City, ST: Name of Studio.
Entire CD
Artist, F. M. (Year). Title of CD [CD]. City, ST: Name of Studio.
Example 1
Information available:
"Truth, modesty, and shame the world forsook: Fraud, avarice, and force, their places took" (Ovid, Metamorphoses, The Iron Age, 8 AD).
Example 2
Information available:
Today humankind is cynical towards the constant reporting of corruption, cruelty, and crime. When 'good' events take place our society reacts with surprise; such a reaction would surely bring about the disdain of Marcus Aurelius who wrote that any man reacting in surprise to the events of the world was "ridiculous" (The Meditations, Book Twelve, 167 ACE/trans. 1862).
Example 3
Information available:
Although epilepsy was believed to be a supernatural phenomena, Hippocrates attributed epileptic seizures to a problem of circulation and the brain (On the Sacred Disease, Francis Adams Version).
Example 4
Information available:
Galen believed that physical phenomena should not be treated as divine, but rather as a natural event having a discoverable cause (On the Natural Faculties 13, 250 CE/1916).
What Qualifies as a Classical Work According to APA
When citing classical works, provide the reader with only a text citation. No reference citation is provided. Provide as specific as possible information for where to find the information being cited. Include the year of the translation or version that is being consulted.
Elements Needed
Format of Text Citation
Varies depending on information available. See examples.
Conference Proceeding in Print
Attaway, J. S., & Singley, R. B. (2015). When the going gets tough, the tough go shopping: A fresh look at consumer shopping motivations. Proceedings of the 1995 Academy of Marketing Science (AMS) Annual Conference (pp. 89-94). Cham, Switzerland: Springer.
Picard, B., Meunier, B., Barboiron, C., Dunoyer, N., Guillemin, N., & Micol, D. (2012). From protein markers to phenotyping tools for evaluation of beef tenderness. Farm Animal Proteomics: Proceedings of the 3rd Managing Committee Meeting and 2nd Meeting of Working Group 1, 2, & 3 of COST Action FA 1002 (pp. 165-168). Wageningen, Netherlands: Academic Publishers.
eConference Proceeding with DOI (learn more about DOIs)
Hu, C., Walker, M. A., Neff, M., & Fox Tree, J. E. (2015). Storytelling agents with personality and adaptivity. Intelligent Virtual Agents: 15th International Conference Proceedings (pp. 181-193). Cham, Switzerland: Springer. doi: 10.1007/978-3-319-21996-7_19
Skowron, L., Gasior, M., & Sak-Skowron, M. (2014). The impact of the different payment options on the medical services clients' satisfaction building process. Proceedings of the International Conference on Quantitative Sciences and Its Applications (pp. 918-925). doi: 10.1063/1.4903692
eConference Proceeding from a Database (no DOI available)
Archiopoli, A., Wilcox, B., Avila, M., Hell, C., Hill, R., Muhammad, M., & Oetzel, J. (2012). Analysis of medication adherence and efficacy. Conference Proceedings of the International Communication Association 2012 Annual Meeting (pp. 1-26). Retrieved from Communication & Mass Media Complete database.
Erickson, S. E. (2012). Love bites: Sex, love, violence and the new romantic vampires. Conference Proceedings of the International Communication Association 2012 Annual Meeting (pp. 1-36). Retrieved from Communication & Mass Media Complete database.
eConference Proceeding with URL (no DOI available, not retrieved through a database)
Langeveld, P. (2015). Responding to institutional abuse through restorative engagement. Conference Proceeding of the 15th International Symposium of the World Society of Victimology (pp. 1-12). Retrieved from https://www.defenceabusetaskforce.gov.au/ newsroom/Documents/ConferencePaperByTheActing ExecutiveDirectorWorldSocietyOf VictimologySymposium6July2015.pdf
Zion, L. (2012). "Best practices" in the journalism ethics frame: A comparative study. Conference Proceeding of the 2012 International Symposium on Online Journalism (pp. 1-49). Retrieved from https://online.journalism.utexas.edu/2012/papers/Zion.pdf
Conference proceedings are often published in a book format and the citation for a specific presentation/paper will look much like that of a book chapter. Sometimes proceedings will be published in a journal issue; if this is the case, look to examples of journal article citations for guidance.
Elements Needed
Format
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of presentation: Subtitle of presentation. Proceedings of Title of Conference, (pp. ##-##). City, ST: Publisher.
Dictionary Entry in Print
Lewandowski, E. J. (2011). Pomme de pin. In Complete costume dictionary (p. 235). Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press.
Stahl, D., & Kerchelich, K. (2001). WODECO. In Abbreviations dictionary (10th ed., p. 1082). Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press.
Dictionary Entry from a Library Database
Borden, T. G. (2003). Americorps. In S. I. Kutler (Ed.), Dictionary of American history (3rd ed., Vol. 1, p. 173). New York: Charles Scribner's Sons. Retrieved from Gale Virtual Reference Library database.
Moonshine. (2013). In Oxford English dictionary. Oxford, United Kingdom: University Press. Retrieved from Oxford English Dictionary database.
Dictionary Entry on Open Web with Individual Author(s)
Caroline [User name]. (2014). Mascary. In Urban dictionary. Retrieved from http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=mascary
Rader, W. (2014). l33t. In The online slang dictionary: American, English, and urban slang. Retrieved from http://onlineslangdictionary.com/meaning-definition-of/l33t
Dictionary Entry on Open Web with No Author
Rapacious. (2014). In Merriam-Webster online. Retrieved from http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/rapacious
VPHNOE: Virtual physiological human network of excellence. (2014). In AcronymFinder. Retrieved from http://www.acronymfinder.com/Virtual-Physiological-Human-Network-of-Excellence-(VPHNOE).html
Dictionary Entry on Open Web with Group Author
Merriam-Webster. (2014). Zenker's degeneration. In Medlineplus medical dictionary. Retrieved from http://www.merriam-webster.com/medlineplus/zenker's+degeneration
WebFinance. (2014). Keynesian economics. In Businessdictionary. Retrieved from http://www.businessdictionary.com/definition/Keynesian-economics.html
Author - the author is the person(s) or organization taking credit for the information. If you are not sure who is taking responsibility for the information, look for an About Us link or who copyrighted the material.
Individual Author(s) Examples
Individual Author Using Online Username Examples
Group Author Examples
Entry with No Author
Elements Needed
Format
Author, F. M. (Year, Month Day). Dictionary term. Title of dictionary (p. #). Retrieved from http://URL
Dictionary term. (Year). Title of dictionary (# ed., p. #). City, ST: Publisher Name.
Dissertation in Print
Burton, K. L. (2013). Nurse addiction – an unexpected journey: A phenomenological study of nurses in recovery (Doctoral dissertation). University of Northern Colorado, Greeley, Colorado.
Gatto, R. (2012). Letters, lectures, memos, and minutes: An archival study of George Pierce Baker’s role in the history of theater and performance studies (Doctoral dissertation). Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Indiana, Pennsylvania.
Leary, D. L. (1934). Analysis of programs of study of 250 Catholic secondary schools (Doctoral dissertation). Colorado State Teachers College, Greeley, Colorado.
eDissertation from Library Database
Flannigan, P. D. (1998). A comparison of attitudes and practices of teaching faculty regarding student academic dishonesty at a two-year and four-year institution (Doctoral dissertation). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global database. (9902416)
Fonkych, K. (2006). Accelerating adoption of clinical IT among the healthcare providers in the United States: Strategies and policies (Doctoral dissertation). Available from Nursing & Allied Health Database. (3256640)
eDissertation from Institutional Repository
Alamer, H. A. (2017). The influence of participation in socially engaging or complex physical activities on executive function among older adults (Doctoral dissertation, University of Northern Colorado). Retrieved from http://digscholarship.unco.edu/
Thoene, W. S. (2012). The impact of social networking sites on college students’ consumption patterns (Doctoral dissertation, Marshall University). Retrieved from http://mds.marshall.edu/
eDissertation from Open Web
Clavio, G. (2008). Uses and gratifications of internet collegiate sport message board users (Doctoral dissertation, Indiana University). Retrieved from http://sportspolitik.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/2008-GC-Dissertation-PDF.pdf
Messina, K. A. (2012). Working with the juvenile male sex offender: A substantive grounded theory of emergent identification with “goodness” through the practice of yoga (Doctoral dissertation, Saybrook University). Retrieved from http://www.sacramentotherapyservices.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/PDF-Dissertation.pdf
eDissertation from University Outside the U.S.
Alencar, R. D. A. (2007). Pesquisa-ação sobre sexualidade e vulnerabildade às IST/aids com alunos de graduação em enfermagem (Doctoral dissertation, University of São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil). Retrieved from http://www.teses.usp.br/
Poppe, J. (2015). “Ice wüste Zeit” – Ich-Konstructionen in der Lyrik der duetschsprachiger Schriststeller innen Israels Jenny Aloni und Netti Boleslav (Doctoral Dissertation, Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Göttingen, Germany). Retrieved from https://ediss.uni-goettingen.de/
Elements Needed for All Dissertations
+ for Print Dissertations
+ for eDissertations from Library Database
+ for eDissertations from Institutional Repository
+ for eDissertations from Open Web
+ for eDissertations from Outside the U.S.
Format
Print Dissertation
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of dissertation: Subtitle of dissertation if present (Doctoral dissertation). University Name, Location of University.
eDissertation from Library Database
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of dissertation: Subtitle of dissertation if present (Doctoral dissertation). Available from Database Name database. (Dissertation number)
eDissertation from Institutional Repository
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of dissertation: Subtitle of dissertation if present (Doctoral dissertation, Name of University). Retrieved from http://URLofRepository
eDissertation Open Web
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of dissertation: Subtitle of dissertation if present (Doctoral dissertation, Name of University). Retrieved from http://URLtoDissertation
eDissertation from a University Outside the U.S.
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of dissertation: Subtitle of dissertation if present (Doctoral dissertation, Location of University). Retrieved from http://URLtoDissertation
Single Episode or Titled Portion of DVD
Cogman, B. (Writer), & Kirk, B. (Director). (2011). Cripples, bastards, and broken things [Television series episode]. In F. Doelger & M. Huffman (Producers), Game of thrones [DVD]. United States: HBO Home Entertainment.
Sheridan, C. (Writer), & Kim, M. (Director). (2016). American gigg-olo [Television series episode]. In K. Fertman & S. Smith (Producers), Family guy [DVD]. United States: 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment.
Entire Series
Gamble, K., Kazdin, C., Johnson, M., Zitter, F. S. (Producers), Colbert, S., Karlin, B., & Stewart, J. (Creators). (2005-2014). The Colbert report [DVD]. United States: Busboy Productions.
McCormick, B., Hamm, J., Shattuck, D. L., Smuts, T., Abrahams, J., London, T., Lechner, J. (Producers) … Weiner, M. (Creator). (2007-2015). Mad men [DVD]. United States: Lionsgate Television.
Entire DVD
Canning, I., Sherman, E., Unwin, G. (Producers), & Hooper, T. (Director). (2011). The king's speech [DVD]. United States: Anchor Bay Entertainment.
Epstein, A., Slotnick, A., Netto, P., Lake, R. (Producers), & Epstein, A. (Director). (2008). The business of being born [DVD]. United States: New Line Home Entertainment.
Goodman, A. A. (Lecturer), Reay, A. (Producer), & Dunton, T. (Director). (2004). Understanding the human body: An introduction to anatomy and physiology [DVD]. United States: The Teaching Company.
Simon, T., Teale, S., & Nevins, S. (Producers). (2009). Death on a factory farm: Animal rights on trial [DVD]. United States: HBO Documentary Films.
Elements Needed
Some information can be difficult to find. Additional resources such as the Internet Movie Database (IMDB) and Wikipedia can help you identify additional information.
Format
Single Episode
Writer, F. M. (Writer), & Director, F. M. (Director). (Year). Title of episode [Television series episode]. In F. M. Producer (Producer), Title of series [DVD]. Country of Origin: Studio.
Entire Series
Producer, F. M. (Producer), & Creator, F. M. (Creator). (Year-Year). Title of series [DVD]. Country of Origin: Studio.
Entire DVD
Producer, F. M. (Producer), & Director, F. M. (Director). (Year). Title of DVD [DVD]. Country of Origin: Studio Name.
Text citation: (J. E. Shmerling, personal communication, June 6, 2014)
As the Chief Executive Officer of Children's Hospital Colorado, James E. Shmerling, stated, "I met the hospital administrator and he explained that his position combined business, law, and working with medical personnel; thus I realized it is important to work as a medical professional as well as be educated in business and law before starting a position like this (personal communication, June 6, 2014).
Example 2
Text citation: (B. Shaw, personal communication, April 20, 2013)
The alley-oop pass is an offensive move wherein a player throws the basketball near the basket and another player jumps and catches the ball to score two points in a slam dunk (B. Shaw, personal communication, April 20, 2013).
Example 3
Text citation: (M. M. Perusek, personal communication, July 2, 2014)
The most current archeological dig in Wyoming's Natural Trap Cave is uncovering remains of animals that still have collagen present; these are generally extinct animals, so the presence of collagen allows for the possibility of DNA discovery for further research (J. R. Alidade, personal communication, May 15, 2012).
The term email, as used here, refers to an email that is not published. For emails that are published, cite the email as the source it was published in (book, magazine article, newspaper article, blog post, et cetera).
The Publication Manual considers emails to be personal communications; personal communications are information sources that are not recoverable by the greater population (readers). For instance, although you still have access to an email you sent or someone sent to you, your readers do not have access to that email. When referring to personal communications in your writing, insert only a text citation. Do not build a reference citation for a personal communication.
Elements Needed
Text Citation Format:
(F. M. Surname, personal communication, Month Day, Year)
1. Encyclopedia Entry in Print
1.1 with Individual Author
Nakamori, Y. (2006). Tokyo Metropolitan Museum of Photography. In L. Warren (Ed.), Encyclopedia of twentieth-century photography (Vol. 3, pp. 1544-1546). New York, NY: Routledge.
Opperman, J. J., Galloway, G. E., & Duvail, S. (2013). The multiple benefits of river-floodplain connectivity for people and biodiversity. In S. A Levin (Ed.), Encyclopedia of biodiversity (2nd ed., Vol. 7, pp. 114-160). Amsterdam, Netherlands: Elsevier Academic Press.
1.2 with No Author
Genre magazines. (1996). In J. S. Baughman (Ed.), American decades: 1920-1929 (Vol. 3, pp. 301-302). New York, NY: Gale Research.
Village People. (2006). In J. C. Super & T. Irons-Georges (Eds.), The seventies in America (Vol. 3, pp. 949-950). Pasadena, CA: Salem Press.
2. Encyclopedia Entry from Library Database
2.1 with Individual Author
Rasmussen, C. E. (2010). Same-sex marriage. In R. Chapman (Ed.), Culture wars: An encyclopedia of issues, viewpoints, and voices. Armonk, NY: M.E. Sharpe. Retrieved from Credo Reference database.
Schnakenberg, R. E. (2002). Run-DMC. In S. Pendergast & T. Pendergast (Eds.), Bowling, beatniks, and bell-bottoms: Pop culture of 20th-century America (Vol. 5, pp. 1151-1152). Detroit, MI: UXL. Retrieved from Gale Virtual Reference Library database.
2.2 with No Author
Cult of the saints. (2005). In A. Vauchez (Ed.), Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages. Cambridge, United Kingdom: James Clarke. Retrieved from Oxford Reference database.
Schwarzkopf. (2013). In Encyclopedia of global brands (2nd ed., Vol. 2, pp. 937-940). Detroit, MI: St. James Press. Retrieved from Gale Virtual Reference Library database.
3. Encyclopedia Entry from Open Web
3.1 with Individual Author
Himma, K. E. (n.d.). Anselm: Ontological argument for God's existence. In J. Fieser & B. Dowden (Eds.), Internet encylopedia of philosophy. Retrieved from http://www.iep.utm.edu/ont-arg/
Ierodiakonou, K., & Byden, B. (2014). Byzantine philosophy. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Spring 2014 ed.). Retrieved from http://plato.stanford.edu/entries/byzantine-philosophy/
3.2 with Group Author
Central Intelligence Agency. (2014, June 23). Argentina: People and society. In The world factbook. Retrieved from https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/ar.html
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine. (2014, August 15). Paraquat poisoning. In Medlineplus medical encyclopedia. Retrieved from http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/001085.htm
3.3 with No Author
Great Depression. (2014). In Encyclopaedia britannica. Retrieved from http://www.britannica.com/ EBchecked/topic/243118/Great-Depression
Fat Albert biography: Animated character. (n.d.). In Who2biographies. Retrieved from http://www.who2.com/bio/fat-albert
Author
The author is the person or organization taking credit for the information. If you are not sure who is taking responsibility for the information, look for an About Us link or who copyrighted the material.
Indivdiual Author(s) Examples
Individual Author Using Online Username Examples
Group Author Examples
Elements Needed
Format
Individual Author, from Library Database
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of entry: Subtitle of entry. In F. M. Editor & F. M. Editor (Eds.), Title of encyclopedia (# ed., Vol. #, pp. #-#). City, ST: Publisher Name. Retrieved from Name of Database database.
Group Author, in Print
Group Author Name. (Year). Title of entry: Subtitle if any. In F. M. Editor (Ed.), Title of encyclopedia (# ed., Vol. #, p. #). City, ST: Publisher Name.
No Author, from Open Web
Title of entry. (Year, Month Day). In F. M. Editor (Ed.), Title of encyclopedia. Retrieved from http://URL
Motion Picture
Streaming Video
(either professionally produced or user upload to the internet); you watched the movie via
DVD - you watched the movie on DVD
Blu-ray Disc - you watched the movie on Blu-ray disc
VHS - you watched the movie from the VHS tape, because you are really old school
Text citation: (D. Dunn, personal communication, December 14, 2013)
In an interview of University of Northern Colorado Athletic Director Darren Dunn, the newly appointed Dunn stated that he had both professional and personal reasons for applying for the position at Greeley (personal communication, December 14, 2013).
Example 2
Text citation: (N. T. James, personal communication, April 7, 2017)
One nurse described her rotation in the Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences unit at Children's Hospital Colorado as "emotionally difficult, but also inspiring" (N. T. James, personal communication, August 15, 2017).
Example 3
Text citation: (M. M. Perusek, personal communication, July 2, 2017)
United Way of Greeley advocates for neighbors taking care of neighbors, and the University of Northern Colorado is an important member of the neighborhood (M. M. Perusek, personal communication, July 2, 2017).
The term interview, as used here, refers to an interview that is not published. For interviews that are published, cite the interview as the source it was published in (book, magazine article, streaming audio, newspaper article, blog post, et cetera).
The Publication Manual considers unpublished interviews to be personal communications; personal communications are information sources that are not recoverable by the greater population (readers). For instance, although you still have access to an email you sent or someone sent to you, your readers do not have access to that email. When referring to personal communications in your writing, insert only a text citation.
Elements Needed
Text Citation Format
(F. M. Surname, personal communication, Month Day, Year)
eJournal Article – with DOI expressed as a link (learn more about DOIs)
Felgendreher, S., & Lofgren, A. (2018). Higher education for sustainability: Can education affect moral perceptions? Environmental Education Research, 24(4), 479-491. https://doi.org/10.1080/13504622.2017.1307945
Phadermrod, B., Crowder, R. M., & Wills, G. B. (2019). Importance-performance analysis based SWOT analysis. International Journal of Information Management, 44, 194-203. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ijinfomgt.2016.03.009
eJournal Article – with DOI expressed as a non-link (learn more about DOIs)
de Boer, M. N., Jones, D., & Jones, H. (2017). Ocean wanderers: Extralimital encounters with bowhead whales (Balaena mysticetus) in temperate European shallow waters. Aquatic Mammals, 43(3), 279-288. doi:10.1578/AM.43.3.2017.279
Carpentier, F. R. D., Northup, C. T., & Parrott, M. S. (2014). Revisiting media priming effects of sexual depictions: Replication, extension, and consideration of sexual depiction strength. Media Psychology, 17(1), 34-54. doi:10.1080/15213269.2013.870045
eJournal Article – no DOI available
When no DOI is available, but the article is retrieved electronically, give the URL of the journal’s homepage. Do not give the exact URL to the article. Google the name of the journal with quotations around the title to find the journal home page.
Dybvik, A. C. (2004). Autism and the inclusion mandate: What happens when children with severe disabilities like autism are taught in regular classrooms? Daniel knows. Education Next, 4(1), 42-49. Retrieved from http://educationnext.org/
Moore, K. (2013). Sport history, public history, and popular culture: A growing engagement. Journal of Sport History, 40(1), 39-55. Retrieved from http://www.journalofsporthistory.org/
Journal Article – Print with DOI (learn more about DOIs)
Lee, S. (2010). Marketing through sport: A case of religious organization. International Review on Public and Nonprofit Marketing, 7(1), 87-96. doi:10.1007/s12208-009-0043-8
Tyler, T. R. (2002). Is the internet changing social life? It seems the more things changes, the more they stay the same. Journal of Social Issues, 58(1), 195-205. https://doi.org/10.1111/1540-4560.00256
Journal Article – Print with No DOI
Page, M. E., & Spicer J. (1981). Aids and services for disabled people - getting the message across. Applied Ergonomics, 12(4), 223-230.
Wadee, A. A., Kuschke, R. H., Kometz, S., & Berk, M. (2001). Personality factors, stress and immunity. Stress & Health: Journal of the International Society for the Investigation of Stress, 17(1), 25-40.
Elements Needed
Format
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of article: Subtitle of article. Title of Journal, Vol(Issue), pp-pp. doi: 10.##aa##
PowerPoint Slides
Hanks, J. (2016, Fall). Chapter 1: Speech language impairments in children with ASD [PowerPoint slides]. Retrieved from University of Norther Colorado Canvas website: http://www.unco.edu/canvas/
Lecture Notes Prepared by Professor
Einhellig, K. S. (2014, Spring). Management of anxiety disorders [Lecture notes]. Retrieved from University of Northern Colorado Canvas website: http://www.unco.edu/canvas/
Lecture notes taken by students constitute a source of non-recoverable data. Thus, treat lecture notes taken by students as personal communications. This means that there is no reference citation, just a text citation.
Elements Needed
Example 1
Text Citation: D. P. Gray (Sport Promotion and Marketing lecture, April 22, 2014)
As D. P. Gray (Sport Promotion and Marketing lecture, April 22, 2014) recognized, any monetized area of sport - sponsorship, endorsements, network deals, naming rights, etc. - depends on the reputation of the brand.
Example 2
(J. M. Erskine, Advanced Nutrition lecture, March 3, 2014)
Example: The purpose of medical nutrition therapy is to reduce the risk of chronic disease in individuals with a history of chronic disease (J. M. Erskine, Advanced Nutrition lecture, March 3, 2014).
Magazine Article in Print
Glazek, C. (2014, August). 249: Michael Sam and the draw that changed American sports forever. Out, 22(11), 62-70.
Long look: Kenko Tokina's first stabilized lens. (2014, August). Popular Photography, 78(8), 16.
Vore, B. (2014, August). Mortal Kombat X: Let the blood flow. GameInformer, 24(8), 58-59.
eMagazine Article from Library Database
Google the title of the magazine and give the URL for the magazine homepage, not the URL for the database (2nd and 3rd examples). If the magazine does not have an internet homepage (such as a historical magazine) give the name of the library database you found it in (1st example).
Getzinger, D. (1997, March). Dad's face was a newspaper. Children's Digest, 47(2), 15-18. Retrieved from ProQuest Research Library database.
Teitel, E. (2014, June 16). Get them when they're young. Maclean's, 127(23), 29. Retrieved from http://www.macleans.ca/
Where the deals are: Your guide to the end-of-summer sales season. (2014, September). Consumer Reports, 79(9), 29-31. Retrieved from http://www.consumerreports.org/
eMagazine Article from Open Web
Fontevecchia, A. (2014, July 31). Argentina in default: Everyone lost, from Christina Kirchner and Paul Singer's Elliott to Judge Griesa. Forbes. Retrieved from http://www.forbes.com/
On Kawara passed at the age of 81. (2014, July 11). Flash Art. Retrieved from http://www.flashart.com/
Shakespeare, N. (2014, July 24). Gabriel Garcia Marquez's secret muse finally reveals herself. Newsweek. Retrieved from http://www.newsweek.com/
Article with no Author
If a magazine article does not have a listed author, use the article title as the first element of the citation, followed by the date, title of the magazine, and other citation information. Alphabetize the citation in the reference list by the first significant word in the title. For the text citation of an article with no author use the first few words of the title in the citation in place of the author ("Officers to Release," 1929, p. 6).
Date of Publication
Give the date of publication given on the cover of the magazine. This may include year, month, and day; just year and month; or year and season.
Page Numbers
If a magazine article is on nonsequential pages, separate the page numbers with a comma: pp. 5-7, 20.
Elements Needed
Format
Author, F. M. (Year, Month Day). Title of article: Subtitle of article. Title of Magazine, Vol(Iss), #-#. Retrieved from http://URL
Abraham, J., Autry, J., (Producers), Sundberg, A., & Stern, R. (Producers & Directors). (2016). Marathon: The Patriot’s Day bombing [Motion picture]. United States: HBO Documentary Films.
Bruckheimer, J. (Producer), Ronning, J., & Sandberg, E. (Directors). (2017). Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead men tell no tales [Motion picture]. United States: Walt Disney Pictures.
Burns, K., Burns, S., & McMahon (Producers & Directors). (2016). Jackie Robinson [Motion picture]. United States: Florentine Films.
Cramer, D. S. (Producer), & Kleiser, R. (Director). (1976). Dawn: Portrait of a teenage runaway [Motion picture]. United States: Douglas S. Cramer Company.
Hitchcock, A. (Producer & Director). (1959). North by northwest [Motion picture]. United States: Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer.
Snyder, D., Snyder, Z., Suckle, R. (Producers), & Jenkins, P. (Director). (2017). Wonder woman [Motion picture]. United States: DC Films.
Vargas, K. (Producer), Bourne, T., Robertson, M., & Tarver, B. (Directors). (2017). Trumped: Inside the greatest political upset of all time [Motion picture]. United State: Left/Right Productions.
Use these instructions and examples if
Elements Needed
Some information can be difficult to find. Additional resources such as the Internet Movie Database (IMDB) and Wikipedia can help you identify needed citation information.
Format
Producer, F. M. (Producer), & Director, F. M. (Director). (Year). Title of motion picture [Motion picture]. Country of Origin: Studio Name.
eNewpaper Article from Library Database
Google the title of the newspaper and give the URL for the newspaper homepage, not the URL for the database (3rd example). If the newspaper does not have an internet homepage (such as a historical newspaper) give the name of the library database it was found in (1st & 2nd examples).
Donham, W. B. (1933, April 9). Business and university: W. B. Donham, Dean of Harvard Graduate School, defines the relationship. The New York Times, p. XX4. Available from ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times database.
Officers to release moonshine seizure. (1929, May 30). The Laredo Times, p. 6. Retrieved from America's Historical Newspaper database.
Skefile, M. (2013, December 20). Freedom a plenty in the Bay. The Herald [South Africa]. Available from http://www.peherald.com/
eNewspaper Article from Open Web
Kershner, I., & Akram, F. (2014, July 31). Netanyahu vows to continue destroying Gaza tunnels. The New York Times. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com
McGuirk, R. (2014, January 12). Scott Lewis dead: Hypnotist plunges to death from balcony. The Huffington Post. Retrieved from http://www.huffingtonpost.com/
Richey, W. (2014, January 13). Abortion rights: Supreme Court leaves rejection of Arizona law in place. The Christian Science Monitor. Retrieved from http://www.csmonitor.com/
Print Newspaper Article
Gresko, G. (2013, December 9). The top five flicks for your finals week procrastination fix. The Mirror [Greeley, CO], pp. 16, 19.
Pohl, J. (2013, December 10). Pastor connected to Windsor church sentenced to 12 years. The Greeley Tribune, p. A2.
Publication Location
Generally, APA Style does not use the location of publication in the names of newspapers unless it is part of the title. However, information necessary to locating a particular source may be added in square brackets after the title: The Mirror [Greeley, CO].
Article with no Author
If a newspaper article does not have a listed author, use the article title as the first element of the citation, followed by the date, title of the newspaper, and other citation information. Alphabetize the citation in the reference list by the first significant word in the title. For the text citation of an article with no author use the first few words of the title in the citation in place of the author ("Officers to Release," 1929, p. 6).
Page Numbers
If a newspaper article on nonsequential pages, separate the page numbers with a comma: pp. A1-A2, A10.
Elements Needed
Format
Author, F. M. (Year, Month Day). Title of article: Subtitle of article. Title of Newspaper, pp. #-#. Retrieved from http://URL
Title of article. (Year, Month Day). Title of Newspaper, pp. #-#, #. Available from Database Name database.
Types of Personal Communications
If possible, give context within your writing to the source you are citing; compare Example 1 (context given) with Example 2 (no context).
Example 1 – Letter
Text Citation (R. J. Rymill, personal communication, January 12, 1936)
In a letter from State Senator Robert J. Rymill to his brother W. L. Rymill, the senator stated, “Serving on city and county school boards is the most successful avenue to changing education” (personal communication, January 12, 1936).
Example 2 - Memo
Text Citation: (C. Okafor, personal communication, July 7, 2017)
Chief Operating Officer Cecelia Okafor advised the Board of Trustees the necessity of managing human capital costs and cross-training efforts (personal communication, July 7, 2017).
Example 3 – Personal conversation
Text Citation: (C. Myers, personal communication, June 10, 2017)
One presenter, at a recent copyright conference, stated, “My best advice regarding the amount used is to consider the amount needed to serve the purpose in relation to the work being used” (C. Myers, personal communication, June 10, 2017).
Personal communications are unpublished information sources that are not recoverable by the greater population (readers). For published communications, use the corresponding published format for citation examples (i.e., for letters published in a book, cite a book; personal communications may be published in journal articles, book chapters, blogs, websites, et cetera).
For instance, although you still have access to an email you sent or someone sent to you, your readers do not have access to that email. When referring to personal communications in your writing, insert only a text citation.
Elements Needed
Text Citation Format
(F. M. Surname, personal communication, Month Day, Year)
Podcasts Episode
Avirgan, J., & Druke, G. (Producers). The beginning of the Trump presidency. On FiveThirtyEight [Audio podcast]. Retrieved from https://fivethirtyeight.com/
Faris, A. (2016, April 4). Chris Evans and Jenny Slate! Part one (Episode 17). On Anna Faris is unqualified: Not-so-great relationship advice from completely unqualified Hollywood types [Audio podcast]. Retrieved from http://www.unqualified.com/
Robinson, P., & Williams, J., Mande, J., Ekperigan, N., & Heller, E. (2016, November 8). A funny thing happened on the way to the U2 concert (Episode 21). On 2 Dope Queens [Audio podcast]. Retrieved from http://www.wnyc.org/shows/dopequeens
Podcast Series
Altharas, J. V. (2010-2014). End the sexual dark ages [Audio podcast]. Retrieved from http://www.sexualdarkage.com/
Ecton, E., Danforth, M., Chillag, I., & Wolchover, E. (Producers). (1998-2017). Wait...wait...don't tell me [Audio podcast]. Retrieved from http://www.npr.org/programs/wait-wait-don't-tell-me/
Sale, A. (2014-2017). Death, sex & money [Audio podcast]. Retrieved from http://www.wnyc.org/shows/deathsexmoney
Elements Needed
Format
Episode
Producer, F. M. (Year, Month Day). Title of podcast episode (Episode #). On Title of podcast [Audio podcast]. Retrieved from http://URL
Series
Producer, F. M. (Year-Year). Title of podcast [Audio podcast]. Retrieved from http://URL
Example 1
Living within one's means and not being wasteful is traceable to the Qur'an (Surat Al-'A`rāf 7:31 Sahih International Version).
Example 2
In the final book of the New Testament, John met with a vision of Christ in resurrection (Bible Rev. 1:12-18 New American Standard Version).
Example 3
Jewish law states that females have the right to refuse a marriage proposal (Talmud Seder Mo'ed 24f Yevomos 107a-122b Soncino Babylonian Version).
Example 4
"Those who give, whether in prosperity or in adversity, who restrain anger, and pardon all people, God loves those who do right" (Qur'an al-Imran 3:134 Bilal Muhammad 2013 Version).
Example 5
The Christian and Jewish creation myth is covered in the first book of the Bible, and the creation of mankind comes to be on the sixth day of the universe's existence (Gen. 1:26-27 English Revised Version).
Example 6
"How are the mighty fallen, and the weapons of war perished" (Bible 2 Sam. 1:27 King James Version).
Example 7
According to the Qur'an, the Muslim belief provides for a god that is everywhere, always (al-Baqarah 2:115 Sabbir Ahmed Version).
Example 8
"To put the people to death without having instructed them - this is called cruelty. To require from them, suddenly, the full tale of work, without having given them warning - this is called oppression" (Confucian Analects 20 James Legge 1893 Version).
New & Recent Religious Texts
For citing texts of new or recent religious movements, provide both text and reference citations as for normal citations of books, pamphlets, websites, et cetera. New and recent religions refer to religions founded in the last few hundred years such as Sikhism, Mormonism, and Baha'i.
Commentary of Religious Texts
When citing commentary of a religious work (such as notes of explanation in a study Bible) instead of the original religious work, cite this as a regular Book (Complete) or Book (Chapters).
Citing Classic Religious Texts
When citing classic religious texts, provide the reader with only a text citation. Do not give a reference citation. Provide as specific as possible information for where to find the information being cited. For the Bible this means providing the book name, chapter number, and verse number(s) as well as the version of the Bible being referenced.
Elements Needed
Format of Text Citation
(Title of religious text Book title chapter:verse number(s) Name of the Version)
Example 1
Text Citation
As LeStunff, Fallin, and Bougneres proved, only a very small percentage of obesity is caused by single-gene defects (as cited in Ebbeling, Pawlak, & Ludwig, 2002).
Reference Citation
Ebbeling, C. B., Pawlak, D. B., & Ludwig, D. S. (2002). Childhood obesity: Public-health crisis, common sense cure. The Lancet, 360(9331), 473-482. Retrieved from http://www.thelancet.com/
Example 2
Text Citation
In the 1960s, the New Zealand government determined Guillaume Apollinaire’s Memoirs of a Young Rakehill was too obscene for the populace to read, and had Customs agents seize all shipments of the book; this was yet another book suppressed on sexual grounds, D. B. Sova asserts (as cited in Doyle, 2010).
Reference Citation
Doyle, R. P. (2010). Banned books: Challenging our freedom to read. Chicago, IL: American Library Association.
Example 3
Text Citation
William Shakespeare and John Fletcher’s play, The History of Cardenio, was the story of a character from Don Quixote (as cited in Bradford, 1910).
Reference Citation
Bradford, G., Jr. (1910). The history of Cardenio by Mr. Fletcher and Shakespeare. Modern Language Notes, 25(2), 51-56. Retrieved from https://www.jstor.org/journal/modelangnoted
Example 4
Text Citation
Eduard Pernkopf’s illustration of the knee shows the proximal posterior capsular arm of the semimembranosus (as cited in LaPrade, Morgan, Wentorf, Johansen, & Engebretsen, 2007).
Reference Citation
LaPrade, R. F., Morgan, P. M., Wentorf, F. A., Johansen, S., & Engebretsen, L. (2007). The anatomy of the posterior aspect of the knee: An anatomic study. The Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery, 89(4), 758-764. Retrieved from http://journals.lww.com/jbjsjournal/
Example 5
Text Citation
Jenny Erpenbeck’s lastest fictional work, Gehen, Ging, Gegangen, looks at the European emigration issue through the eyes of an elderly man and compares the experiences of Germany’s older citizens to those of today’s emigrants to Germany (as cited in Russell, 2015).
Reference Citation
Russell, A. (2015, October 7). ‘Go, Went, Gone,’ a tale of refugees in Berlin [Book review]. The Wall Street Journal. Retrieved from https://www.wsj.com/articles/go-went-gone-a-tale-of-refugees-in-berlin-1444232349What Is a Secondary Source?
A secondary information source is a source discussing another source of information.
Basic Rule of Secondary Sources
The basic rule of using secondary sources is to not use secondary sources … unless you absolutely cannot access the original resource. Why wouldn’t someone be able to cite the original source?
Elements Needed for Text Citation
Elements Needed for Reference Citation
Format of Text Citation
Author and/or title of original work mentioned within the context of the point you are making (as cited in Author, Author, & Author, Year).
Format of Reference Citation
Varies depending on type of source being cited.
Single Track
Haydn, F. J. (1772). Allegro di molto e scherzando [Recorded by Chiaroscuro Quartet]. On Haydn: String quartets nos. 23, 24 and 27 [Streaming audio]. Retrieved from Naxos Music Library (2017)
Lennon, J. (1971). Imagine [Recorded by Pentatonix]. On PTX Vol. IV – Classics [Streaming audio]. Retrieved from https://www.apple.com/music/
Ruth, B. (1947). Farewell to baseball. On Greatest speeches of the 20th century [Streaming audio]. Retrieved from https://archive.org/details/Greatest_Speeches _of_the_20th_Century/
Skloot, R. (2010). The birth of HeLa [Recorded by C. Campbell & B. Turpin]. On The immortal life of Henrietta Lacks [Streaming audio]. Retrieved from http://www.audible.com/
Entire Album, Audiobook, or Collection
Carlin, G. (1999). You are all diseased [Streaming audio]. Retrieved from https://www.pandora.com/
Gardot, M. (2008). Worrisome heart [Streaming audio]. Retrieved from Music Online: Listening database.
Harvey, S. (2011). Act like a lady, think like a man: What men really think about love, relationships, intimacy, and commitment [Recorded by M. Hodge; Streaming audio]. Retrieved from https://www.overdrive.com/
Ravel, M. (1922). Berceuse sur le nom de Gabriel Fauré for violin and piano [Recorded by Z. Francescatti, A. Balsam, R. Casadesus, J. Chantal, & P. Rogé; Streaming audio]. Retrieved from http://classical-music-online.net/
Roosevelt, F. D. (1941). FDR asks Congress to declare war on Japan [Streaming audio]. Retrieved from http://www.history.com/speeches/
Use these instructions and examples if you listened to music or audio online through
If you listened to audio or music via CD or Podcast, please use the instructions and examples for the specific format.
Elements Needed
Format
Single Track
Writer, F. M. (Year). Title of song [Recorded by F. M. Artist]. On Title of album [Streaming audio]. Retrieved from URL/DatabaseName
Entire Album, Audiobook, or Collection
Writer, F. M. (Year). Title of album [Recorded by F. M. Artist; Streaming audio]. Retrieved from URL/DatabaseName
1. Professionally Produced Streaming Video
1.1 Series Episode
Fresco, V., Graham, C. (Writers), & Parisot, D. (Director). Baka, bile, and baseball bats [Netflix series episode]. In J. Simons (Producer), Santa Clarita diet [Streaming video]. United States: Kapital Enterainment. Retrieved from https://www.netflix.com/
Robinson, K. (Writer & Producer). (2006). Do schools kill creativity? [TEDTalks series episode]. In TEDTalks [Streaming video]. United States: Sapling Foundation. Retrieved from https://www.ted.com/
1.2 Entire Series
Evry, R., Smith, E., Higgins, J. (Producers), & Spotnitz, F. (Creator). (2015-2017). The man in the high castle [Amazon Prime series, streaming video]. United States: Amazon Studios. Retrieved from https://www.amazon.com/prime
Malden, B., Huff, K., McCarthy, K., Paterson, I., Moore, K. (Producers), & Willimon, B. (Creator). (2013-2017). House of cards [Netflix series, streaming video]. United States: Media Rights Capital. Retrieved from https://www.netflix.com/
1.3 Full Video (not part of a series)
Abrams, J. J., Lin, J., Orci, R., Weber, L. (Producers), & Lin, J. (Director). (2016). Star trek beyond [Streaming video]. United States: Skydance Media. Retrieved from https://www.hulu.com/
Knappenberger, B. (Producer & Director). (2017). Nobody speak: Trials of the free press [Streaming video]. United States: Luminant Media. Retrieved from https://www.netflix.com/
Selznick, D. O. (Producer), & Fleming, V. (Director). (1939). Gone with the wind [Streaming video]. United States: Selznick International Pictures. Retrieved from https://www.amazon.com/prime
2. User Upload Streaming Video
2.1 Series Episode
My Damn Channel [User name]. (2012, October 31). Insane clown party foul [YouTube series episode]. In D. St. Germain (Producer), Kicking Dan out [Streaming video]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/
Video Creators [User name]. (2016, April 7). 3 body language tips that help you hold a viewer’s attention [YouTube series episode]. In T. Schmoyer (Producer), How to feel confident on camera [Streaming video]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/user/VideoCreatorsTV/
2.2 Entire Series
LaGrandeRide [User name]. (2014-2017). Snow reports [Vimeo series, streaming video]. Retrieved from https://vimeo.com/channels/436100
Screen Junkies [User name]. (2013-2017). Screen junkies show [YouTube series, streaming video]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/user/screenjunkies
2.3 Full Video (not part of a series)
Consious Mind [User name]. (2017). 1997: The birth of the camera phone [Streaming video]. Retrieved from https://vimeo.com/221117048
Harris, J. [User name). (2016, November 19). Pattern doodle sketch: How to draw line illusions [Streaming video]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tAnlGfgv7oc
Mr. NK [User name]. (2017, May 26). How to make a scroll saw at home [Streaming video]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BsoiEBkhqPY
3. Library Database Streaming Video
Associated Press (Producer). (2015, February 9). Dog on surfboard becomes internet sensation [Streaming video]. Retrieved from Academic Search Premier database.
Fulton, K., & Pepe, L. (Producers & Directors). (2016). The bad kids [Streaming video]. Retrieved from https://unco.ensemblevideo.com/
Goudvis, A., Harvey, S., & Sheehan, B. (Producers). (2006). Think nonfiction! Modeling reading and research [Streaming video]. Retrieved from Education in Video database.
Preston, A. (Producer). (1994). The actor’s technique [Streaming video]. Retrieved from Theatre in Video: Volume 1 database.
Use these instructions and examples if you a movie or show online through
If you watched a DVD, Blu-ray Disc, Motion Picture, or VHS please use the instructions and examples for the specific format.
Before You Start
Elements Needed & Format
1. Professionally Produced Streaming Video
1.1 Series Episode
Writer, F. M. (Writer), & Director, F. M. (Director). (Year). Title of episode [Television/Provider series episode]. In Producer, F. M. (Producer), Title of series [Streaming video]. Country of Origin: Studio. Retrieved from http://URLforProvider
1.2 Entire Series
Producer, F. M. (Producer), & Director, F. M. (Creator). (Year-Year). Title of series [Streaming video]. Country of Origin: Studio. Retrieved from http://URLforProvider
1.3 Full Video (a full movie or documentary)
Producer, F. M. (Producer), & Director, F. M. (Director). (Year). Title of video [Streaming video]. Country of Origin: Studio. Retrieved from http://URLforProvider
2. User Upload Streaming Video
2.1 Series Episode
User name [User name]. (Year, Month Day). Title of episode [Provider series episode]. In Title of series [Streaming video]. Retrieved from http://URLforChannel/Playlist
2.2 Entire Series
User name [User name]. (Year-Year). Title of series [Streaming video]. Retrieved from http://URLforChannel/Playlist
2.3 Full Video (a stand-alone video not part of a series)
User name [User name]. (Year, Month Day). Title of video [Streaming video]. Retrieved from http://URLofvideo
3. Library Database Streaming Video
Producer, F. M. (Producer), & Director, F. M. (Director). (Year). Title of video [Streaming video]. Retrieved from Name of Database database.
Corporate Author, Online Report
International Monetary Fund. (2014). Sweden: Selected issues paper (IMF Country Report No. 14/262). Washington, DC: Author. Retrieved from http://www.imf.org/external/pubs/ft/scr/2014/cr14262.pdf
National Science Board. (2014). Reducing investigators' administrative workload for federally funded research (NSB-14-18). Arlington, VA: Author. Retrieved from http://bi-research.unm.edu/sites/default/files/NSF-Board-Report.pdf
United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs. (2014). South Sudan crisis (Situation Report No. 42, as of 26 June 2014). New York, NY: Author. Retrieved from http://reliefweb.int/sites/reliefweb.int/files/resources/f5583f12-4be4-4e6c-965f-1389424be9ea.pdf
University of Northern Colorado. (2013). 2013 campus security and fire safety report. Greeley, CO: UNC Police Department. Retrieved from http://www.unco.edu/police/uploads/2013%20UNC %20Security%20&%20Fire%20Safety%20Report.pdf
Corporate Author, Print Report
National Forum on Education Statistics, Core Data Task Force. (1997). The core data task force report (NCES 97-947). Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Education, Office of Research and Improvement, National Center for Education.
World Conference on Faith and Order, Commission on the Church's Unity in Life and Worship. (1937). A decade of objective progress in church unity, 1927-1936 (Report No. 4). New York, NY: Harper and Brothers.
World Tourism Organization. (2001). Tourism after 11 September 2001: Analysis, remedial actions and prospects (Special Report No. 18). Madrid, Spain: World Tourism Organization, Market Intelligence and Promotion Section.
Personal Author, Online Report
Adams, L., Carroll, D., Curley, G., Dorsey, J., & Harris, J. (2010). Evaluation report: Need continues for a strategic Plan to protect children's health (Report No. 10-P-0095). Washington, DC: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Inspector General. Retrieved from http://permanent.access.gpo.gov/gpo13404/20100405-10-P-0095.pdf
Agent, K. R., & Zegeer, C. V. (1976). Effect of pavement texture on traffic noise (Research Report 452). Commonwealth of Kentucky: Departement of Transportation, Bureau of Highways, Division of Research. Retrieved from http://www.ktc.uky.edu/files/2012/09/1976-Effect-of-Pavement-Texture-on-Traffic-Noise-Report-No.-452.pdf
James, D. J., & Glaze, L. E. (2006). Mental health problems of prison and jail members (NJC 213600). Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, Bureau of Justice Statistics. Retrieved from http://www.bjs.gov/content/pub/pdf/mhppji.pdf
Personal Author, Print Report
Bowen, D. Q. (1999). A revised correlation of quaternary deposits in the British Isles (Special Report No. 23). Bath, United Kingdom: Geological Society.
Brown, B. S. (1977). Responsible community care of former mental hospital patients (DHEW Publication No. ADM 77-428). Rockville, MD: Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Public Health Service, Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental Health.
Anderson, J. D. (1997). Guidelines for indexes and related information devices: A technical report (NISO Technical Report 2). Bethesda, MD: National Information Standards Organization.
Personal Author(s) Examples
Corporate Author Examples
A corporate author is an organization or institution that takes credit/responsibility for information instead of individual people. In many examples of corporate authors, the publisher is the same as the author; when this happens, use the word Author as the publisher.
Elements Needed
Format
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of report: Subtitle of report (report identification information here). City, ST: Publisher. Retrieved from http://URL
Theses in Print
Ambrose, C. A. (2016). Bringing harmony to the fiercest game ever played: The motivation of football leaders to reform the game (Master’s thesis). University of Northern Colorado, Greeley, Colorado.
Herndon, M. B. (1936). A study of transfer in second grade arithmetic (Master's thesis). Colorado State College of Education, Greeley, Colorado.
eTheses from Library Database
Sanchez, R. L. (2000). Core competencies required for executive college union directors at master’s public comprehensive institutions with enrollments of 8,000 and above (Master’s thesis). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global database. (9983087)
Schultz, D. M. (2013). Seeking and sharing knowledge using social media in an organization: The impact of social influence, organization structure and social capital (Master’s thesis). Available from ABI/INFORM Global database. (3595723)
eTheses from Institutional Repository
Miller, J. L. (2014). You're a good man, Charlie Brown: An analysis of compassion, friendship, and overcoming obstacles (Master’s thesis, University of Northern Colorado). Retrieved from http://digscholarship.unco.edu/
Ransone, C. A. (1982). Capital punishment: Public opinion and abolition in Great Britain during the twentieth century (Master’s thesis, University of Richmond). Retrieved from http://scholarship.richmond.edu/
eTheses from Open Web
da Costa, L. (2011). Modeling inlet hydraulic performance using the storm water management model (Master’s thesis, Texas Tech University). Retrieved from http://www.rtfmps.com/resumes/MyWebPapers/thesis/ dacosta_thesis/daCosta_Larissa_Thesis.pdf
Demian, C. (2007). Shoreline erosion in deep Creek Lake, Maryland: Patterns, trends and economic implications (Master’s thesis, West Virginia University). Retrieved from http://deepcreekanswers.com/projects/erosion/ Catalin_Demian.pdf
eTheses from a University Outside the U.S.
da Silva, A. F. (2009). A descentralização no processo de implementação do Sistema Único de Assistência Social: Um estudo a partir dos centros de referência da assistência social no município de Bom Jesus do Itabapoana-RJ (Master’s thesis, Universidade do Estado do Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil). Retrieved from http://www.bdtd.uerj.br/tde_busca/arquivo.php?codArquivo=6409
Ramanand, S. (2012). Carbon sink reforestation projects: A community perspective from KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa (Master’s thesis, University of KwaZulu-Natal, Pietermaritzburg, South Africa. Retrieved from http://researchspace.ukzn.ac.za/handle/10413/9478
Elements Needed for All Theses
+ for Print Theses
+ for eTheses from Library Database
+ for eTheses from Institutional Repository
+ for eTheses from Open Web
+ for eTheses from Outside the U.S.
Format
Print Theses
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of thesis: Subtitle of thesis if present (Master’s thesis). University Name, Location of University.
eTheses from Library Database
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of thesis: Subtitle of thesis if present (Master’s thesis). Available from Database Name database. (Thesis number)
eTheses from Institutional Repository
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of thesis: Subtitle of thesis if present (Master’s thesis, Name of University). Retrieved from http://URLofRepository
eTheses Open Web
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of thesis: Subtitle of thesis if present (Master’s thesis, Name of University). Retrieved from http://URLtoThesis
eTheses from a University Outside the U.S.
Author, F. M. (Year). Title of thesis: Subtitle of thesis if present (Master’s thesis, Name of University, Location of University). Retrieved from http://URLtoThesis
Medical Information
As of the current update of this page, Theodore W. Post is the Editor-in-Chief of UpToDate. As such, his name appears in every citation.
Ma, C. X., & Dickler, M. (2017, June 20). Treatment approach to metastic hormone receptor-positive, HER2-negative breast cancer: Endocrine therapy. In T. W. Post (Ed.), UpToDate. Waltham, MA: WoltersKluwer Health. Available from http://www.uptodate.com
Nucci, M., & Anaissie, E. (2016, January 28). Treatment and prevention of Fusarium infection. In T. W. Post (Ed.), UpToDate. Waltham, MA: WoltersKluwer Health. Available from http://www.uptodate.com
Rosenfield, R. L. (2016, October 15). Diagnostic evaluation of polycystic oveary syndrome in adolescents. In T. W. Post, (Ed.), UpToDate. Waltham, MA: WoltersKluwer Health. Available from http://www.uptodate.com
Pharmaceutical Information
Most pharmaceutical information in UpToDate comes from Lexicomp and will list no individual author. Use Lexicomp as the author of these entries.
Lexicomp. (2017a). Diltiazem: Pediatric drug information. In T. W. Post, (Ed.), UpToDate. Waltham, MA: WoltersKluwer Health. Available from http://www.uptodate.com
Lexicomp. (2017b). Oxycodone: Drug information. In T. W. Post, (Ed.), UpToDate. Waltham, MA: WoltersKluwer Health. Available from http://www.uptodate.com
Lexicomp. (2017c). Saxagliptin: Drug information. In T. W. Post, (Ed.), UpToDate. Waltham, MA: WoltersKluwer Health. Available from http://www.uptodate.com
Cite an UpToDate entry as you would a book chapter, with UpToDate as the book title, and the entry title as the chapter title. Instead of just giving the current copyright year, give the Month, Day, and Year of the last update of the entry so that readers know exactly what version you consulted.
Text Citations
UpToDate articles do not have page numbers. For text citations of UpToDate that would normally require a page number (such as a quotation or citing of a specific fact), use the heading of the section in place of a page number. For example:
(Ma & Dickler, 2017, Selection of Endocrine Therapy)
(Lexicomp, 2017a, Precautions)
Series Episode
Armus, A., &Foster, N. K. (Writers), & Becker, J. (Director). (1997). For him the bell tolls [Television series episode]. In L. Friedman & E. Gruendemann (Producers), Xena: Warrior princess [VHS]. New Zealand: Renaissance Pictures.
Carter, C. (Writer), & Mandel, R. (Director). (1993). Pilot [Television series episode]. In C. Carter & D. Sackheim (Producers), The X-files [VHS]. United States: 20th Century Fox Television.
Entire Series
Peyton, H., Latt, D. J. (Producers), Frost, M., & Lynch, D. (Creators). (1990-1991). Twin peaks [VHS]. United States: Lynch/Frost Productions.
Walian, W., Rosenthal, L., Madison, J., Markowitz, A., Downer, L., Curley-Kerner, J. (Producers) … Borowitz, S. (Creator). (1990-1996). The fresh prince of Bel-Air [VHS]. United States: NBC Productions.
Full Video (an entire movie or documentary)
Bellows, S. (Producer), & Bagwell, O. (Producer & Director). (1990). Roots of resistance: The story of the underground railroad [VHS]. United States: WGBH Studios.
Goetz, W. (Producer), & Logan, J. (Director). (1957). Sayonara [VHS]. United States: Pennebaker Productions.
Jhalley, S. (Producer & Director). (1995). Material witness: Race, identify and the politics of gangsta rap [VHS]. United States: The Media Education Foundation.
National League for Nursing (Producer). (1990). A conversation with Jean Watson and Janet Quinn [VHS]. United States: Author.
Elements Needed
Some information can be difficult to find. Additional resources such as the Internet Movie Database (IMDB) and Wikipedia can help you identify additional information.
Format
Single Episode
Writer, F. M. (Writer), & Director, F. M. (Director). (Year). Title of episode [Television series episode]. In F. M. Producer (Producer), Title of series [VHS]. Country of Origin: Studio.
Entire Series
Producer, F. M. (Producer), & Creator, F. M. (Creator). (Year-Year). Title of series [Television series, VHS]. Country of Origin: Studio.
Full Video (an entire movie or documentary)
Producer, F. M. (Producer), & Director, F. M. (Director). (Year). Title of VHS [VHS]. Country of Origin: Studio Name.
Website with Group Author
Internal Revenue Service. (2017, April 26). The Affordable Care Act: What’s trending [Website]. Retrieved from https://www.irs.gov/affordable-care-act/individuals-and-families/the-affordable-care-act-whats-trending
Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research. (2017). Patient and visitor guide [Website]. Retrieved from http://www.mayoclinic.org/patient-visitor-guide
University Libraries, University of Northern Colorado. (2016, October 20). Events, news, and exhibits [Website]. Retrieved from http://www.unco.edu/library/about_us/events_exhibits.aspx
Website with Individual Author(s)
Maffai, T. (2017, June 16). Meet the superintendent who helped save Washington’s charter schools [Website]. Retrieved from https://brightreads.com/meet-the-superintendent-who-helped-save-washingtons-charter-schools-116cff6b7d1f
Mullis, K. B. (2009). Altermune [Website]. Retrieved from http://www.karymullis.com/altermune.shtml
Speaking, C. (2017, June 27). What grannies don’t tell [Website]. Retrieved from https://thecoffeelicious.com/what-grannies-dont-tell-8336a44ac33c
When Websites Are NOT Websites (According to APA)
When citing an electronic version of a newspaper article, magazine article, book (or book chapter), journal article, dissertation, thesis, etc., cite it not as a website, but as the specific type of item. For more information, refer to the Publication Manual, pp.211-212, 7.09 Unpublished and Informally Published Works.
Citing Entire Websites
When referring to an entire website in your writing, you do not need to create a reference citation. Simply give the necessary information for someone to find the website – the name of the website and the address (URL). For example:
Individual Author(s) Examples
Group Author Examples
A group author is an organization or institution that takes credit/responsibility for information instead of individual people.
Elements Needed
What to do if the website does is missing elements (PDF).
Format
Author, F. M. (Year, Month Day). Title [Website]. Retrieved from http://URL
