Audio Recording
Album • Track • Radio • Spoken Word
See also Podcasts.
Needed Information
Examples
Barnum, P. T. (2011). The art of money getting [Audiobook]. LibriVox. (Original work published in 1880) https://librivox.org/the-art-of-money-getting-by-p-t-barnum/
Bob Marley and the Wailers. (1984). Legend [Album]. Island; Tuff Gong.
Brown, B. (2018). Dare to lead: Brave work, tough conversations, whole hearts [Audiobook]. Random House Audio.
Mozart, W. A. (2008). Mozart: The symphonies [Album recorded by the Prague Chamber Orchestra]. Telarc. (Original works composed 1764-1778)
Panrucker, S. (2015). Hello my name is Simon Panrucker [Album]. Free Music Archive. https://freemusicarchive.org/music/Simon_Panrucker/Hello_My_Name_Is_Simon_Panrucker
van Schalkwyk, W. (Pianist), & Faganel, G. (Cellist). (2018, February 7). Faculty recital [Album]. University of Northern Colorado.
Verdi, G. (2015). Requiem mass [Album recorded by the UNC Symphony Orchestra & Choirs]. University of Northern Colorado. (Original work composed ca. 1874)
Wonder, S. (1976). Songs in the key of life [Album]. Tamla.
Beyoncé. (2020). Black parade [Song]. Park; Columbia.
Creedence Clearwater Revival. (1969). Fortunate son [Song]. On Willy and the poor boys. Fantasy.
Manson, M. (2016). The tyranny of exceptionalism [Audio track]. In The subtle art of not giving a f*ck: A counterintuitive approach to living a good life. HarperCollins; Blackstone Audio.
Roberts, D. (2021). Race [Audio track]. In N. Hannah-Jones, C. Roper, I. Silverman, & J. Silverstein (Eds.), The 1619 project. One World.
Xavier Cugat and His Orchestra. (1953). Mi prieta [Song]. On Mambo. Mercury; Internet Archive. https://archive.org/details/lp_mambo_xavier-cugat-and-his-orchestra
Coates, E. J. (2019, August 20). Audio recording of interview with Elaine J. Coates [Interview]. University of Maryland Libraries, Special Collections and University Archives. https://archives.lib.umd.edu/repositories/2/digital_objects/18120
Saunders, V. (1990, December 1). The living memory of the Jewish community: Saunders, Vernon (Part 3) [Interview]. British Library Sounds. https://sounds.bl.uk/Oral-history/Jewish-Holocaust-survivors/021M-C0410X0101XX-0300V0
Scroggins, B. (n.d.). Bessie Scroggins [Interview]. University of Northern Colorado, Archives & Special Collections @ Digital UNC. https://digarch.unco.edu/islandora/object/cogru:4095
Wynne, S. W. (1931, November 30). Diet and health with Dr. Shirley W. Wynne, health commissioner [Interview]. WYNC, NYPR Archive Collections. https://www.wnyc.org/story/1140-a-m-diet-and-health-dr-shirley-w-wynne-health-commissioner
Gore, K. (2000). [Kristen Gore, daughter of Tipper Gore, gives a speech about her mother] [Speech audio recording]. Michigan State University Libraries, East Lansing, MI, United States.
Harding, W. G. (1920). National and Americanism [Speech audio recording]. Library of Congress. https://www.loc.gov/item/2004650664/
Poehler, A. (2011, May 26). Harvard University class day commencement address [Speech audio recording]. American Rhetoric. https://www.americanrhetoric.com/speeches/amypoehlerharvardcommencement.htm
Ruth, G. H., Jr. (1947, April 27). Dying Babe Ruth addresses fans [Speech audio recording]. History. https://www.history.com/speeches/dying-babe-ruth-addresses-fans
Truman, H. S. (1934, July 28). Judge Harry S. Truman Speech, Springfield, Missouri (SR84-1) [Speech audio recording]. Harry S. Truman Library & Museum, Independence, MO, United States.
When discussing an entire blog in your paper (and not indicating a specific idea, fact, or document) it is acceptable to simply include the URL of the website in parentheses within your writing. If you are referring to a specific piece of information or directly quoting information on a blog, a text and reference citation are required.
Examples
The blog Just a Colorado Gal (http://www.justacoloradogal.com/) covers not only hiking gear, routes, basics, and specifics, but also follow’s the life of the blogger.
Authors of academic papers can find useful tips and answers to APA questions not covered in the Publication Manual on the APA Style Blog (http://blog.apastyle.org/apastyle/).
With the tag line 'writer. professor. part-time hippie.' the Stacia L. Brown blog (http://stacialbrown.com/) offers readers current news topics with a human element and a humane eye.
Adventures of a Labor Nurse: The Highs and Lows of Labor and Delivery blog (http://adventuresofalabornurse.com/) looks at the nursing profession and the people with humor and grace.
Information Needed
Examples
Hoffman, C. (2022, March 3). Your wif-fi is in Google and Microsoft's databases: Should you care? How-To Geek. https://www.howtogeek.com/788837/your-wi-fi-info-is-in-google-and-microsofts-databases-should-you-care/
McAdoo, T. (2020, March 16). How to create an APA Style reference for a canceled conference presentation. APA Style. https://apastyle.apa.org/blog/canceled-conferences
Our fave podcasts + audio books for holiday travel. (2019, November 19). Love Sweat Fitness. https://lovesweatfitness.com/our-fave-podcasts-audio-books-for-holiday-travel/
Information Needed
Examples
Azavedo, M. (2021, March 2). Your approach excites me, is what I too do. I really want to get my hands on the book you [Comment on the article “Creative writing for social research”]. The Research Whisperer. https://researchwhisperer.org/2021/03/02/creative-writing-for-social-research/
Jonathan. (2013, January 6). It’s not that work is less important, but that you can get it done efficiently, the right way [Comment on the article “Do you have an overwork problem?”]. Get a life, PhD. http://getalifephd.blogspot.com/2013/01/do-you-have-overwork-problem.html
Woshiernog. (2022, March 16). Why are people so gung-ho about talking about sexual things to K-3rd graders and hiding those thing from the student parents? [Comment on the article “Marvel Studio denounces ‘Don’t Say Gay’ bill as Disney employees plan walkout”]. Gizmodo. https://gizmodo.com/marvel-studios-disney-florida-lgbtq-bill-backlash-1848660759
Book
Authored Book • Edited Book • Anthology • Book Edition • eBook with DOI •
eBook from Library Database • Other eBooks
If citing only a chapter from an edited book, see examples for chapters in edited books.
Information Needed
Examples
Cabaniss, A. (1970). Liturgy and literature: Selected Essays. University of Alabama Press.
Chandler, D., & Werther, W. B., Jr. (2014). Strategic corporate social responsibility: Stakeholders, globalization, and sustainable value creation (3rd ed.). SAGE Publications.
Rhodes, C. (2020). Disturbing business ethics: Emmanuel Levinas and the politics of organization. Routledge.
Felker, G. M., & Mann, D. L. (Eds.). (2020). Heart failure: A companion to Braunwald's heart disease. Elsevier.
Garnett, S., Latch, P., Lindenmayer, D., & Woinarski, J. (Eds.). (2018). Recovering threatened species: A book of hope. CSIRO Publishing.
Pappas, G., & Guajardo, M. (Eds.). (1993). Colorado Hispanics: A report of selected social concerns. Latin American Research and Service Agency.
125th anniversary anthology, 1839-1964: A sampling of reading tastes from the lists of an American publisher with a brief historical commentary. (1964). Dodd, Mead & Co.
Garnett, R., Valle'e, L., & Brandl, A. (Eds.). (1902). The universal anthology: A collection of the best literature, ancient, medieval and modern, with biographical and explanatory notes (Westminster Ed., Vol. 33). Merrill & Baker.
Gates, H. L., Jr., & Smith, V. (Eds.). (2014). The Norton anthology of African American literature (3rd ed., Vol. 2). W. W. Norton & Company.
Finkelnburg, W. (1964). Structure of matter (W. Finkenburg & O. Matossi-Riechmeier, Trans., 9th/10th ed.). Springer.
Reid, A., Tu, S., Port, K. L. (2018). Fundamentals of United States intellectual property law: Copyright, patent, and trademark (6th ed.). Kluwer Law International.
Turekian, K. K. (2010). Marine chemistry and geochemistry: A derivative of encyclopedia of ocean sciences (2nd ed.). Academic Press.
Goldman, M. B., Troisi, R., & Rexrode, K. M. (2013). Women and health (2nd ed.). Elsevier. https://doi.org/10.1016/C2009-0-01962-X
Jones, P., Miles, D., & Gopalkrishnan, N. (2019). Intercultural learning: Critical preparation for international student travel. UTS ePRESS. https://doi.org/10.5130/978-0-9945039-9-2
Kersten, F. (1997). Galileo and the 'invention' of opera: A study in the phenomenology of consciousness. Springer: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-94-015-8931-4
Other eBooks (no DOI, not from a library database)
Curnow, K. (2018). The bright continent: African art history. MSL Academic Endeavors. https://pressbooks.ulib.csuohio.edu/bright-continent/
Doyle, G. R., & McCuthcheon, J. A. (2015). Clinical procedures for safer patient care. British Columbia Institute of Technology. https://opentextbc.ca/clinicalskills/
Vatsyayana. (2009). The kama sutra of Vatsyayana: Translated from the Sanscrit in seven parts with preface, introduction and concluding remarks (S. P. Bhide, R. F. Burton, & B. Indrajit, Trans.). Project Gutenberg. (Original work published in 1883) https://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/27827
Book Chapter ♦ Reference Work Entry
Book Chapter • Handbook Section/Chapter • Dictionary Entry •
Encyclopedia Entry • Wikipedia Entry
Generally, only cite book chapters when the book has editors and chapters are by different authors or groups of authors. When citing a book with authors but no editors, cite the whole book in the reference list and, if appropriate, give the chapter number in the text citation.
Information Needed
For information of when to use a DOI, URL, or neither, see the Book section.
Examples
Fasina, A. (2015). Case 3: Altered mental status. In Y. Okuda & B. P. Nelson (Eds.), Emergency medicine oral board review illustrated (2nd ed., pp. 47-50). Cambridge University Press. https://amzn.to/2yFID2P
Levy, R., & Dawson, P. (2014). Interactive worlds as educational tools for understanding arctic life. In K. Kee (Ed). Pastplay: Teaching and learning history with technology (pp. 66-86). University of Michigan Press. http://dx.doi.org/10.3998/dh.12544152.0001.001 
Pegoraro, A., Scott, O., & Burch, L. M. (2017). Strategic use of Facebook to build brand awareness: A case study of two national sport organizations. In Information Resources Management Association (Ed.), Sports, media, marketing, and management: Breakthroughs in research and practice (pp. 97-118). IGI Global.
Gallardo, A. R. (2017). Galician political refugees in Portugal during the civil war and post-civil war (1936-1945). In R. DePalma & A. Pérez-Caramés (Eds.), Galician migrations: A case study of emerging super-diversity (pp.51-62). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-66305-0_5
Lin, W. (2020). Participatory geographic information systems in visual research. In L. Pauwels & D. Mannay (Eds)., The SAGE handbook of visual research methods (2nd ed., pp. 173-185). SAGE Publications.
Warren, J., & Gu, Y. (2017). Pragmatic health information technology evaluation framework. In F. Lau & C. Kuziemsky (Eds.), Handbook of ehealth evaluation: An evidence-based approach (pp. 109-122). University of Victoria. http://hdl.handle.net/1828/7814
For online reference works that are continuously updated, such as the online version of the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, the publication date should be recorded as n.d. (no date) and the date you looked at the online article is placed before the URL in the citation.
Even some more 'official' dictionaries and encyclopedias are updated in an on-going basis and should follow the rule above. For instance, the first example under Encyclopedias is called a 'living edition' even though it has a DOI, ISBN, and publisher. Therefore, the citation requires that 'no date' be indicated in the publication date and retrieval information is included before the URL.
Because Wikipedia keeps copies of each version of each article, do not use 'no date' in place of the publication date, nor include retrieval date information.
Cambridge University Press. (n.d.). Ennui. In Cambridge Dictionary. Retrieved June 1, 2020, from https://dictionary.cambridge.org/us/dictionary/english/ennui
Chico F. (n.d.). Carmelyzed. In W. Rader (Ed.), The online slang dictionary: American, English, and urban slang. Retrieved June 1, 2020, from http://onlineslangdictionary.com/meaning-definition-of/carmelyzed
Herbert, M. (2020). Quaile, Mary (1886-1958): Trade union organizer. In K. Gildart & D. Howell (Eds.), Dictionary of labour biography (pp. 201-208). Palgrave MacMillan. https://doi.org/10.1057/978-1-137-45746-2_1
Bendimarad, F., Zayas, J., Khazai, & Borinaga, M. K. (n.d.). Building disaster resiliency through disaster risk management master planning. In M. Beer, I. A. Kougiomtzoglou, E. Patelli, & I. Siu-Kui Au (Eds.), Encyclopedia of earthquake engineering. Springer. Retrieved June 1, 2020, from https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-642-36197-5
Reynolds, C. R., Vannest, K. J., & Fletcher-Janzen, E. (2014). Visual-motor and visual-perceptual problems. In Encyclopedia of special education, Vol. 4: A reference for the education of children, adolescents, and adults with disabilities and other exceptional individuals (4th ed., pp. 2727-2728). Wiley.
U.S. National Library of Medicine. (n.d.). Cleft lip and palate. In Medline Plus. Retrieved June 1, 2020, from https://medlineplus.gov/cleftlipandpalate.html
To find the date of the article you wish to cite, click on "View History" in the top, right-hand corner of the Wikipedia page, and select the most current version of the article by clicking on the most current date. The URL will now have a series of numbers at the end, indicating an archived version of the Wikipedia article that gives reference to the exact version of the article you accessed.
To view an enlarged version of this image, right click and open in a new tab.
Apollo command and service module. (2020, July 26). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Apollo_command_and_service_module&oldid=969569267
Jill Coit. (2020, February 3). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Jill_Coit&oldid=969068137
Postmodernist film. (2020, July 16). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Postmodernist_film&oldid=968033047
Information Needed
Examples
Foxcroft, D. R., Moreira, M. T., Almeida Santimano, N. M. L., & Smith, L. A. (2015). Social norms information for alcohol misuse in university and college students. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD006748.pub4
Molyneaux, E., Howard, L. M., McGeown, H. R., Karia, A. M., & Trevillion, K. (2014). Antidepressant treatment for postnatal depression. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD002018.pub2
Pellicori, P., Doolub, G., Wong, C. M., Lee, K. S., Mangion, K., Ahmad, M., Berry, C., Squire, I., Lambiase, P. D., Lyon, A., McConnachie, A., Taylor, R. S., & Cleland, J. G. F. (2021). COVID-19 and its cardiovascular effects: A systematic review of prevalence studies. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD013879
If citing a canceled presentation or a conference that was planned for in-person attendance but changed to virtual, see the APA Blog article How to Create an APA Style Reference for a Canceled Conference Presentation.
Information Needed
Examples
Conference Session - In-Person or Hybrid Conference
Blackman, C., Fore, I., & Skinner, K. (2016, May 16-19). A new dimension for team science – individual and system elements in collaboration [Workshop]. Science of Team Science (SciTS) 2016 Conference. https://bit.ly/3Il0gmn
Gustetic, J. (2019, September 21-24). Opening session [Keynote]. 2019 ASTC Annual Conference. Toronto, Ontario, Canada. https://www.astc.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/2019ASTCAnnualConferenceProgram.pdf
Radford, M. L., Kitzie, V., Mikitish, S., Floegel, D., & Silipigni Connaway, L. (2019, April 10-13). Trending now: Recasting services to support scholarly identity work [Paper presentation]. ACRL 2019. Cleveland, OH, United States. https://www.ala.org/acrl/sites/ala.org.acrl/files/content/conferences/confsandpreconfs/2019/acrl2019_program.pdf
Sablan, J., Edwards, K., Wiles, L. J., Guillen, C., & Bai, Z. (2018, March 3-7). Collaboration across units: Lessons shared in support of undergraduate and graduate student transitional experiences [Poster presentation]. 2018 NASPA Annual Conference. Philadelphia, PA, United States. https://conference.naspa.org/images/uploads/2018-NASPA-book-web.pdf
Smith, K. (2016, June 6-7). Libraries & copyright: The past and present [Conference session]. Kraemer Copyright Conference. Colorado Springs, CO, United States. https://copyright.uccs.edu/kraemerconference/archives/sessions2016
Conference Session - Virtual Only Conference
Chow, K. (2022, January 31-February). Propelling Java at Alibaba scale [Plenary session]. CMG IMPACT 2022. https://cmgimpact.com/schedule2022/
Hacker, D. (2022, February 24-25). Deprived at both ends: Women under secular and religious family law [Keynote]. Fifth International Conference on the Future of Women. https://futurewomenconference.com/#
Many, A., Parks, J., Zaback, K., & Zinth, J. (2021, October 18-19). Building OER capacity in the Midwest: Supporting grassroots efforts and statewide collaboration [Conference session]. Open Education Conference. https://opened21.sched.com/
Ybarra, J., Anderson, J., & Karr, S. (2021, April 18). The mediating role of self-efficacy on the math anxiety-performance relationship [Poster presentation]. University of Northern Colorado Research Day 2021. https://www.unco.edu/honors-scholars-leadership/aew/researchdayposters.aspx
Information Needed
Examples
Bywater-Reyes, S., Diehl, R. M., & Wilcox, A. C. (2018). The influence of a vegetated bar on channel-bend flow dynamics (no. 5) [Data set]. University of Northern Colorado, Scholarship & Creative Works @ Digital UNC. https://digscholarship.unco.edu/esd_data_2018/16/
Doornwaard, S. M., ter Bogt, T. F. M., Reitz, E., & van den Eijnden, R. J. J. M. (2016). Sex-related online behaviors, perceived peer norms and adolescents’ experience with sexual behavior: Testing an integrative model [Data set]. Dryad. https://doi.org/10.5061/dryad.96bc0
National Center for State Courts. (1984). Criminal case processing in metropolitan courts, 1976 [Data set]. University of Michigan, Institute for Social Research.
National Oceanographic Data Center. (1988). Environmental buoy data [Data set]. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
Pastor, D., Patterson, C., & Goldberg, A. (2021). Anticipated future political participation: A college student sample (Version 1) [Data set, code book, and instrument]. ICPSR. https://www.openicpsr.org/openicpsr/project/134261
A digital object identifier (DOI) is an alphanumeric code that is assigned to content to provide a persistent identifier (like a social security number for articles and chapters and other content). A DOI acts as a locator - helping individuals find articles and chapters cited in bibliographies. DOIs are preferable to URLs because even if the URL for an article breaks in the future, the DOI will remain constant.
DOIs and APA Style
In APA-style reference citations, always express the DOI as a URL (see below). This may sound confusing (after all, DOIs different than URLS), but expressing a DOI as a URL allows readers to more easily access the document you cited. DOIs are commonly seen on born-digital content, but may also be included in the print version of content. DOIs always begin with 10; however, a DOI can be expressed as a URL, where https://doi.org/ appears in front of the DOI. If you find a DOI on a source you are citing that does not include https://doi.org/ as a prefix, add it to the DOI for the APA citation. It is best to copy and paste the DOI from digital content to your bibliography so that there are no transcription errors - but don't forget to change the font and font size to match the rest of your paper!
DOI without URL prefix
10.1111/j.1471-8847.2007.00193.x
same DOI with URL prefix added
https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1471-8847.2007.00193.x
1. The DOI should be listed on the first page of a journal article. It is sometimes more difficult to find a DOI on a book or book chapter – check the title page verso. The DOI may or may not be prefaced with the letters DOI.
DOI on the Article First Page - Example 1
DOI on the Article First Page - Example 2
2. DOIs are often included in database records. Thus, when searching a library database like Academic Search Premier, SpringerLink, or Summon, if a DOI is assigned to an article, book, or book chapter, the DOI will be included in the database record.
DOI in a Database Record - Example 1
DOI in a Database Record - Example 2
3. DOIs may also be found in the bibliography of an article – as authors are now using DOIs as a citation tool. If you find a DOI in a bibliography and want to find the actual article, book, or book chapter (or at least further citation information), you need to use a DOI resolver (see http://dx.doi.org/).
Film, Television & Video
Feature Film • Documentary Film • Educational Film • Television Series •
Television Episode • TED Talks • YouTube • Vimeo • Webinar
Information Needed
Examples
Anders, A., Rockwell, A., Rodriguez, R., & Tarantino, Q. (Directors). (1995). Four rooms [Film]. A Band Apart.
Capra, F. (Director). (1946). It’s a wonderful life [Film]. Liberty Films.
Fleming, V. (Director). (1939). Gone with the wind [Film]. Selznick International Pictures; Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer.
Gilliam, T. (Director). (1998). Fear and loathing in Las Vegas (Criterion Collection ed.) [Film; Blu-ray disc]. Rhino Films; Summit Entertainment.
Kurosawa, A. (Director). (1954). Shichinin no samurai [Seven samurai] [Film]. Toho.
Renoir, J. (Director). (1950). La règle du jeu [The rules of the game] [Film]. Nouvelle Éditions Française.
Information Needed
Examples
Flaherty, R. J. (Director). (1922). Nanook of the north [Film; documentary]. Pathé Exchange.
Morris, E. (Director). (1988). The thin blue line [Film; documentary]. Miramax Films.
Neville, M. (Director). (2018). Won’t you be my neighbor [Film; documentary]. Tremolo Productions; Impact Partners; Independent Lens.
Peck, R. (Director). (2016). I am not your Negro [Film; documentary DVD]. Velvet Film; Artemis Productions; Close Up Films.
Zhangke, J. (Director). (2020). Yí zhi yóu dào hǎi shuǐ biàn Ián [Swimming out till the sea turns blue] [Film; documentary]. Xstream Pictures.
Examples
Newman, R. D., & Nightingale, J. (Producers). (2012). Videofluoroscopic review of swallowing: Biomechanics, physiology, pathology [Film; educational DVD]. Vision Four Video; Plural Publishing.
McIlwain, C., Fisherkeller, J., Dietrich, E., & Benson, R. (Speakers). (2006). Qualitative research: Methods in the social sciences [Film; educational video]. SAGE Research Methods Video.
Prince, K. (Director). (2019). Some like it hip hop [Theatrical production recording]. ZooNation: The Kate Prince Company. Retrieved from Digital Theatre Plus.
Sartore, J. (Speaker). (2013). The art of travel photography: Six expert lessons [Film; educational DVD]. Teaching Company.
Examples
Cho, H.-j., & Kim, S.-h. (Executive Producers). (2018-2019). Alhambeura goongjeonui chooeok [Memories of the Alhambra] [TV series]. Chorokbaem Media; Studio Dragon.
Kohan, J., Friedman, L, Hess, S., Herrmann, T., Vinnecour, L, Tannenbaum, N. K., & Burley, M. A. (Executive Producers). Orange is the new black [Netflix TV series]. Titled Productions; Lionsgate Television.
Maher, B. (Creator & Presenter). (2003-present). Real time with Bill Maher [TV series]. Bill Maher Productions; Grad Grey Television; Home Box Office.
Sheldon, L. (Executive Producer). (1961-1966). The Dick Van Dyke show [TV series]. Calvada Productions.
Examples
Dueñas, M. (Writer), Grondona, A. (Writer), Rubio, S. L. (Writer), & Peñafiel, I. (Director). (2013, November 18). El sol siempre vuelve a salir (Season 1, Episode 5) [TV series episode]. In E. Pina & R. Baltanás (Executive Producers), El tiempo entre costuras [The time in between]. Boomerang TV; Atresmedia.
Parker, T. (Writer), Stone, M. (Writer), Goodman, D. R. (Writer), & Stough, E. (Director). (2001, July 11). Scott Tenorman must die [TV series episode]. In T. Parker, M. Stone, B. Graden, D. Liebling, F. C. Agnone, II, B. Howell, & A. Garefino (Executive Producers) South Park. Celluloid Studios; MTV Entertainment Studios; Comedy Parnters.
Williams, R. (Writer), & Bucksey, C. (Director). (2016, December 16). The road less traveled (Season 2, Episode 2) [Amazon Prime TV episode]. In R. Scott, F. Spotnitz, C. Baute, I. D. Hackett, S. Mackinnon, & C. Tricarico (Executive Producers), The man in the high castle. Amazon Studios; Scott Free Productions; Electric Shepherd Productions; Headline Pictures; Bight Light Productions; Picrow; Reunion Pictures.
Information Needed
If the TED Talk recording is found on YouTube, cite as a YouTube video (see examples below).
Examples
Robinson, K. (2006, February). Do schools kill creativity? [Video]. TED Conferences. https://www.ted.com/talks/sir_ken_robinson_do_schools_kill_creativity?
TED. (2015, March 20). Monica Lewinski: The price of shame [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/H_8y0WLm78U
TED. (2015, April 3). Bill Gates: The next outbreak? We’re not ready [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/6Af6b_wyiwI
Urban, T. (2016, February). Inside the mind of a master procrastinator [Video]. TED Conferences. https://www.ted.com/talks/tim_urban_inside_the_mind_of_a_master_procrastinator
Information Needed
Examples
Drost, H. [Drost Video]. (2017, July 3). How to find your most watched YouTube videos [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/H_HrNWPThiA
Ghate, J. (2020, April 16). How to paint big dot mandala step by step tutorial [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/sSCPMuOoHJo
Kjellberg, F. A. U. [PewDiePie]. (2021, November 5). People break their legs on purpose. Why? [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/H_HrNWPThiA
Pinkfong Baby Shark – Kids’ Songs & Stories. (2016, June 17). Baby shark dance [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/XqZsoesa55w
University of Northern Colorado, University Libraries [UNCLibraries]. (2020, June 12]. APA style 7th edition: Formatting an APA style paper – student paper in Microsoft Word [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/wBQz_FHhbRg
Information Needed
Examples
Art Gallery of Western Australia. (n.d.). Hannah Gadsby at AGWA: E Phillips Fox [Video]. Vimeo. https://vimeo.com/243261903
Brass, M. (2011, August 12). Rocky Mountain National Park [Video]. Vimeo. https://vimeo.com/27620090
Montana Office of Tourism. (n.d.). Indian nations: Cippewa Cree [Video]. Vimeo. https://vimeo.com/74474155
Wolf, M. (2020, August 31). Another hayride [Video]. Vimeo. https://vimeo.com/453421514
If the Webinar recording is found on YouTube, cite as a YouTube video (see example below).
Information Needed
Examples
Association of Clinicians for the Underserved. (2021, June 30). Managing in the time of COVID-19 & beyond – diversity, equity, & inclusion [Webinar]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/x5lg_BD-hDA
Hess, D., Hunter, J., Ascher, A., & Bishop, T. (2021, September 1). Understanding the Initial Preventive Physical Examination (IPPE), the Annual Well Visit (AWV) and cognitive assessments and care plan services [Webinar]. Novitas Solutions. https://bit.ly/3CLc5Bg
McCartin, L. (2020, March 18). Prioritizing curriculum during emergency remote teaching [Webinar]. University of Northern Colorado, Center for the Enhancement of Teaching & Learning, Teaching, Learning & Assessment. https://digscholarship.unco.edu/tla/37/
Pudewa, A. (2018, July 2). Strategies for winning the college writing game [Webinar]. Institute for Excellence in Writing. https://excellenceinwriting.adobeconnect.com/_a946750274/pfkfwvkpj194/
Author
Date
Title
Source
Information Needed
Examples
Government Report Online
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (2021, April). HIV infection, risk, prevention, and testing behaviors among transgender women (HIV Surveillance Report No. 27). https://bit.ly/3N2xWZJ
Department of Regulatory Agencies & Department of Health Care Policy and Financing. (2019, November 15). Final report for Colorado’s public opinion. State of Colorado. https://bit.ly/37umoOm
Internet Crime Complaint Center. (n.d.). 2020 internet crime report. Federal Bureau of Investigation. https://www.ic3.gov/Media/PDF/AnnualReport/2020_IC3Report.pdf
United States International Trade Commission. (2019, April). U.S.-Mexico-Canada Trade Agreement: Likely impact on the U.S. economy and specific industry sectors (Report 4889 TPA 105-003). https://www.usitc.gov/publications/332/pub4889.pdf
Government Report Print
Colorado Department of Human Services. (1999, March 1). Assessment of community consolidated child care pilot program: Technical report submitted to the Colorado General Assembly.
Harmon, K. R. (1986, February). Telecommunications study for Colorado libraries: Executive summary report. Colorado Department of Education.
United States General Accounting Office. (1991, June). Professional military education at the four intermediate service schools: Report to the Chairman, Panel on Military Education, Committee on the Armed Services, House of Representatives (GAO/NSAID-91-182). Department of Defense.
Visher, M. G., & Hudis, P. M. (1999, October). Aiming high: Strategies to promote high standards in high schools – interim report. New American High Schools; U.S. Department of Education, Office of Vocational and Adult Education.
Information Needed
Examples
Berg, M. (Principal Investigator). (2021-2022). Graduate content literacy for diverse learners, EDRD 515 [Grant]. University of Northern Colorado OER Committee. https://bit.ly/3JpO05w
Burns, P. (Principal Investigator). (2021-2025). Influence of fish oil on corpus luteum function (Grant No. 2021-67016-33839) [Grant]. United States Department of Agriculture. https://portal.nifa.usda.gov/web/crisprojectpages/1024909-influence-of-fish-oil-on-corpus-luteum-function.html
Cheung, P. W. (Principal Investigator). (2018-2021). Characterization of novel signaling pathways involved in water balance disorders (Project No. 3K08DK115901-03S1) [Grant]. National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases. https://reporter.nih.gov/project-details/10165964
Mayer, J. (Principal Investigator). (2018-2019). OER awareness and infrastructure building at the University of Northern Colorado [Grant]. Colorado Department of Higher Education. https://highered.colorado.gov/Publications/Reports/Legislative/OER/OER_Report_2019_Final.pdf
Grey literature basically refers to the wealth of information sources that are not published through traditional publishing houses. This basically includes any information source that is not a book, journal, magazine, or newspaper.
Grey Literature includes materials that are generally
According to the Twelfth International Conference on Grey Literature, the definition is as follows:
"Grey literature stands for manifold document types produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats that are protected by intellectual property rights, of sufficient quality to be collected and preserved by libraries and institutional repositories, but not controlled by commercial publishers; i.e., where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body" (for more information see Towards a Prague Definition of Grey Literature - PDF).
...paintings, pamphlets, patents, patient care sheets, plans, podcasts, post cards, posters, practice guidelines, policies, PowerPoints, preprints, press release, Prezis, proceedings...
Determining How to Cite Grey Literature
Journal Article
with DOI • Print Version • with URL • in Library Databases • with Article Number •
with Page Numbers • Advance Online Publication • In Press
Needed Information
Examples
Freeze, J. G., Kelly, H. R., & Batista, V. S. (2019). Search for catalysts by inverse design: Artificial intelligence, mountain climbers, and alchemists. Chemical Reviews, 119(11), 6595-6612. https://doi.org/10.1021/acs.chemrev.8b00759
Katada, S. N. (2013). Financial crisis fatigue? Politics behind Japan’s post-global financial crisis economic contractions. Japanese Journal of Political Science, 14(2), 223-242. https://doi.org/10.1017/S1468109913000042
Parsons, S. (2009). Sontag’s lament: Emotions, ethics, and photography. Photography and Culture, 2(3), 289-302. https://doi.org/10.2752/175145109X12532077132356
Journal Articles Print Version
Meeker, M. (2001). Behind the mask of respectability: Reconsidering the Mattachine Society and male homophile practice, 1950s and 1960s. Journal of the History of Sexuality, 10(1), 78-116.
Wechsler, H., Lee, J. E., Kuo, M., & Lee, H. (2000). College binge drinking in the 1990s: A continuing problem – results of the Harvard School of Public Health 1999 college alcohol study. College Health, 48(5), 199-2010.
Wester, F. R. (1953). A technique for the measurement of race attitudes. American Sociological Review, 18(1), 73-78.
Hopsicker, P. M. (2014). Racing to death: The not-so-ordinary happenings of the 1932 Lake Placid Olympic bobsled events. Journal of Sport History, 41(1), 73-93. https://muse.jhu.edu/article/544501/pdf
Moskalik, T., Borz, S. A., Dvořák, J., Ferencik, M., Glushkov, S., Muiste, P., Lazdiņš, A., & Styranivsky, O. (2017). Timber harvesting methods in Eastern European countries: A review. Croatian Journal of Forest Engineering, 38(2), 231-241. https://bit.ly/376dRgA
Rashidi, Z., Azadbakht, M., Amini, A., & Karimi, I. (2014). Timber harvesting methods in Eastern European countries: A Review. Cell Journal, 15(4), 282-293. https://celljournal.org/journal/article/abstract/591
Journal Articles in Library Databases
Journal Articles with Article Number
Cucuzzella, C., Chupin, J.-P., & Hammond, C. (2020). Eco-didacticism in art and architecture: Design as means for raising awareness. Cities, 102, Article 102728. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cities.2020.102728
Rothan, H. A., & Byrareddy, S. N. (2020). The epidemiology and pathogenesis of coronavirus disease (COVID-19) outbreak. Journal of Autoimmunity, 109, Article 102433. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jaut.2020.102433
Urada, L. A., Rusakova, M., Odinokova, V., Tsuyuki, K., Raj, A., & Silverman, J. G. (2019). Sexual exploitation as a minor, violence, and HIV/STI risk among women trading sex in St. Petersburg and Orenburg, Russia. International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health, 16(22), Article 4343. https://doi.org/10.3390/ijerph16224343
Journal Articles with Page Numbers
Meadwell, J., Paxman-Clarke, L., Terris, D., & Ford, P. (2019). In search of a performing seal: Rethinking the design of tight-fitting respiratory protective equipment facepieces for users with facial hair. Safety and Health at Work, 10(3), 275-304. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.shaw.2019.05.001
Taddei, C., Zhou, B., Bixby, H., Carrillo-Larco, R. M., Danaei, G., Jackson, R. T., Farzadfar, F., Sophiea, M. K., Di Cesaire, M., Caminia lurilli, M. L., Rodriguez Martinez, A., Ashgari, G., Dhana, K., Gulayin, P., Kakarmath, S., Santero, M., Voortman, Riley, L. M., Cowan, M. J.,…Ezzati, M. (2020). Repositioning of the global epicentre of non-optimal cholesterol. Nature, 582(7810), 73-77. https://doi.org/10.1038/s41586-020-2338-1
Zhong, Y.-P., Shen, X.-T., Ying, Y., Wu, H.-T., Li, J., Qi, Q., Zhou, C.-Q., & Zhuang, G.-L. (2012). Impact of transitory hyperprolactinemia on clinical outcome of in vitro fertilization and embryo transfer. Journal of Medical Biochemistry, 31(1), 27-33. https://doi.org/10.2478/v10011-011-0039-x
Journal Articles, Advance Online Publication
Esposito, E., Li, W., Mandeville, E. T., Park, J.-H., Şencan, I., Guo, S., Shi, J., Lan, J., Hayakawa, K., Sakadžić, S., Ji, X., & Lo, E. H. (2020). Potential circadian effects on translational failure for neuroprotection. Nature. Advance online publication. https://doi.org/10.1038/s41586-020-2348-z
Jose, K., MacDonald, F., Vandenberg, M., Williams, J., Abbott-Chapman, J., Venn, A., & Smith, K. J. (2020). School breakfast club programs in Australian primary schools, not just addressing food insecurity: A qualitative study. Health Education & Behavior. Advance online publication. https://doi-org.unco.idm.oclc.org/10.1177/1090198120920193
Rűber, I. E., & Janmaat, J. G. (2020). Does participation in adult education increase volunteering? An analysis of British longitudinal data. Adult Education Quarterly. Advance online publication. https://doi-org.unco.idm.oclc.org/10.1177/0741713620927348
In press articles are also called Journal Pre-Proofs.
In press articles are articles are manuscripts that have been submitted to and accepted by a journal, but are still in the process of final production; therefore, it is possible mistakes are included in this version of the article that will be caught and corrected before the final version. It is important to note in citation when working with an in press article, so that the reader knows the version of the article any information came from. Not all journals put in press articles online for others to see. It is generally journals in the sciences that offer access to articles before the final version is completed. In general, in press articles will not have a volume, issue, or page numbers; they may or may not be assigned a DOI.
Lai, C.-C., Wang, C.-Y., Ko, W.-C., & Hsueh, P.-R. (in press). In vitro diagnostics of coronavirus disease 2019: Technologies and application. Journal of Microbiology, Immunology and Infection. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jmii.2020.05.016
Leckcivilize, A., & Struab, A. (in press). Your wingman could help you land a job: How beauty composition of applicants affects the call-back probability. Labour Economics. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.labeco.2020.101857
Narushin, V.G., Romanov, M.N., & Griffin, D.K. (in press). A novel egg quality index as an alternative to haugh unit score. Journal of Food Engineering. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jfoodeng.2020.110176
Magazine Articles
Magazine Article Print Version • Magazine Article from Library Database •
Magazine Article on Open Web
Information Needed
Examples
Magazine Article Print Version
Malcolm, J. (2018, October 29). Six glimpses of the past: Photography and memory. The New Yorker, 94(34), 18-26.
Shah, S., & El-Sayed, A. (2022, January). Medical algorithms need better regulations. Scientific American, 326(1), 10-11.
Spradley, N. (2016, December). Strokes of genius. Essence, 47(8), 45-46, 48, 50.
What you should know about AirPods. (2022, March). Consumer Reports, 87(3), 14-15.
Magazine Article in Library Database
Berinato, S. (2022, January-February). When people listen to happy songs, the market outperforms. Harvard Business Review. https://hbr.org/2022/01/when-people-listen-to-happy-songs-the-market-outperforms
Boyes, A., Esposito, L., Gillihan, S., & Leyba, E. (2021, May 4). The high cost of calm. Psychology Today. https://www.psychologytoday.com/intl/articles/202105/the-high-cost-calm
Faber, T. (Author), Lai, A. (Photographer), & Tao, K. (Stylist). (2022, March 15). David Erritzoe: On the mind-bending potential of psychedelics. Kinfold, 43. https://www.kinfolk.com/david-erritzoe/
Howley, E. K. (2021, June 4). COVID-19 vaccines for children: Timing, side effects and more. U.S. News & World Report. https://health.usnews.com/conditions/coronavirus-and-your-health/articles/covid-19-vaccines-for-children-timing-side-effects-and-more
If citing a new source from a newspaper, magazine, blog, or video site like YouTube, see examples under these types of sources. For news sources on websites such as ABC News, CBS News, CNN, HuffPost, MSNBC, NBC News, NPR, Reuters, Salon, Vox, etc., site as examples given below.
Information Needed
Examples
News Site - Article with Author(s)
Fulcher, M. P. (2022, March 20). Boulder prepares to mark a painful milestone – a year since the King Soopers Shooting. CPR News. https://www.cpr.org/2022/03/20/boulder-prepares-to-mark-a-painful-milestone-a-year-since-the-king-soopers-shooting/
Karanth, S. (2022, March 16). 1 year after Atlanta spa shootings, Asian American women still face hate and violence. HuffPost. https://bit.ly/3qmU8nq
Sneed, T., & de Vogue, A. (2022, March 21). What Ketanji Brown Jackson might be grilled about her Supreme Court confirmation hearings. CNN. https://www.cnn.com/2022/03/21/politics/what-to-expect-ketanji-brown-jackson-confirmation-hearings/index.html
Thrash, R. (2022, March 21). 2 Pennsylvania troopers hit by a car and killed as they helped man on interstate, police say. CBSNews. https://www.nbcnews.com/news/us-news/two-pennsylvania-troopers-three-hit-car-killed-95-rcna20820
Website, Author and Publisher Are Same
Chinese Boeing jet crashes in mountains with 132 on board, no sign of survivors. (2022, March 21). Reuters. https://www.reuters.com/world/china/china-eastern-airlines-passenger-jet-has-accident-guangxi-state-media-says-2022-03-21/
Marine pilot killed in Osprey crash in Norway was a native on Leominster. (2022, March 21). WCVB Boston. https://www.wcvb.com/article/marines-pilot-capt-ross-reynolds-killed-in-norway-osprey-crash-was-a-native-of-leominster/39485562
Newspaper Articles
Newspaper Article Print Version • Newspaper Article from Library Database •
Newspaper Article on Open Web
Information Needed
Examples
Newspaper Article Print Version
Coyotes around Nunn numerous and bold. (1916, May 10). Greeley Daily Tribune, 6.
Hindi, S. (2018, May 3). Defense lawyer releases video from body camera. Fort Collins Coloradoan, A1, A3.
Klomhaus, S. (2022, February 10). Assessment finds Mesa County is lacking in available child care. The Daily Sentinel [Grand Junction, Colorado], A3.
[Advertisement for Saks & Company women’s wraps, capes, and coat sale with prices]. (1920, May 11). The New York Times, 5.
Newspaper Article in Library Database
Carlson, M. (2022, January 2). Betty White obituary. The Guardian. https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2022/jan/02/betty-white-obituary
Casanova, S., & Sweeney, A. (2021, July 28). Violence spike of 2020 widened familiar safety gap between city neighborhoods, University of Chicago Crime Lab analysis shows. Chicago Tribune. https://bit.ly/3JmCeso
Dickerson, B. (2022, March 16). Opinion: Zelenskyy is the leader of the free world now. Detroit Free Press. https://bit.ly/3qdVnW1
Kafer, K. (2021, November 17). Denver talk show host is in hot water for false election fraud claims. The Denver Post. https://www.denverpost.com/2021/11/17/randy-corporon-talk-show-host-defamation-lawsuit-dominion-election-fraud/
Personal Communications
Emails • Text Messages • Private Letters • Online Chats • Direct Messages • Memos •
Telephone Conversations • Unrecorded Classroom Lectures •
Personal Conference Notes • Live Speeches
Personal communications are only cited with an In-Text Citation.
Do not give a Reference Citation.
Personal Communications are unpublished information sources that are not recoverable by the greater population (readers). For published communications, use the corresponding published format for citation examples (i.e., for letters published in a book, cite a book; personal communications may be published in journal articles, books, book chapters, blogs, websites, et cetera).
Information Needed
Examples
In a letter written by Wyoming State Senator Robert J. Rymill (personal communication, January 12, 1936) to his brother W. L. Rymill, the senator stated, “Serving on city and county school boards is the most successful avenue to changing education."
Chief Operating Officer Cecelia Okafor (personal communication, July 7, 2017) advised the Board of Trustees of the necessity of managing human capital costs and cross-training efforts.
One presenter, at a recent copyright conference, stated, “My best advice regarding the amount used is to consider the amount needed to serve the purpose in relation to the work being used” (C. Myers, personal communication, June 10, 2017).
The following example is for a text message from an unknown source. Generally, the author of a text message is known and both Parenthetical and Narrative In-Text Citations will include the author's name.
A text message sent from an unknown source (personal communication, May 27, 2020) stated, "Some who came into contact with you tested positive or has shown symptoms for COVID-19 & recommends you self-isolate/get tested." Cable News Network (CNN, 2020) later reported that individuals across the United States received the same or similar text messages that including a link that - if activated - downloaded malware onto the recipient's computer.
In an email, G. Hampson (personal communication, April 20,2020) expressed his opinion on commercial (for-profit) entities' involvement in open access as follows:
I think we can build a very effective future on this common ground instead of continuing along the path where we divide our community into those whose motives are “pure,” and those who also look to do this work in a sustainable business manner.
Classroom Lecture (Unrecorded)
During a session of a human anatomy course at the University of Northern Colorado, Professor S. P. Mackessy (personal communication, January 21,2020) referenced a forensic investigation in which snake venom was used as a poison in the death of a two-year-old.
A note on keeping a personal Dark Archive
for Personal Communications used in research.
The Society of American Archivists defines a Dark Archive as "a repository that stores archival resources for future use but is accessible only to its custodian" or a "collection of materials preserved for future use but with no current access."
Generally, a Dark Archive is not necessary or advisable for student papers; however, for theses, dissertations, and formally published works, a Dark Archive of Personal Communications is recommended. Thus, if you cite an email in a journal article, keep that email so that if anyone asks you about the information in the email or questions the veracity of the information, you still have that information accessible.
Information Needed
Examples
DJ Envy, Yee, A., & Charlamagne tha God (Hosts). (2010-present). The breakfast club [Audio podcast]. iHeartRadio. https://www.iheart.com/podcast/the-breakfast-club-24992238/
Rogan, J. (Hosts). (2009-present). The Joe Rogan experience [Video podcast]. Spotify. https://open.spotify.com/show/4rOoJ6Egrf8K2IrywzwOMk
Shepard, D., & Padman, M. (Hosts). (2018-present). Armchair expert with Dax Shepard [Audio podcast]. Simplecast. https://armchairexpertpod.com/
Information Needed
Examples
Abumrad, J. (Host). (2019, November 19). The only one for me, Jolene [Audio podcast episode]. In Dolly Parton’s America. WNYC Studios. https://www.wnycstudios.org/podcasts/dolly-partons-america/episodes
Eagan, D. (Host). (2021, April 2). Elevators: Terror and death in a 6 by 6 foot box (No. 3) [Audio podcast episode]. In Strange and unexplained. Obsessed Network. https://www.strangeandunexplainedpod.com/post/episode-3-elevator-stories
Ko, C., & Miller, N. (Hosts). (2021, December 9). Matt Damon ruins your Saturday (No. 217) [Video podcast episode]. In Tiny meat game podcast. TMG Studios. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-_aUaq1mYds
Information Needed
Examples
Davenport, B. (2015, May 17). 20 stress-free ways to declutter your home [Slides]. SlideShare. https://www.slideshare.net/bbdavenport/20-stressfree-ways-to-declutter-your-home
Denny, M. (2021, April 20). Setting writing goals & staying motivated [Google slides]. Google. https://bit.ly/37Lg05v
Mayer, J., & Webber, N. (2017, November 9). Showcase your impact as an author/creator and tell your research story [PowerPoint slides]. University of Northern Colorado Scholarship & Creative works @ Digital UNC. https://digscholarship.unco.edu/workshops/1/
Wei, L. (n.d.). Multilingualism, social cognition, and creativity [PowerPoint slides]. Stony Brook University. https://www.stonybrook.edu/commcms/mic/_pdf/LiWeiSlides.ppt
Wiegand, S. (2018, Fall). Asking an answerable question, part III [Slides]. University of Northern Colorado Canvas Learning Management System. https://www.unco.edu/canvas/
Yohe, E. (2021, February 25). What you need to know about paid leave law [Slides]. Colorado Department of Labor and Employment. https://cdle.colorado.gov/sites/cdle/files/documents/CLDE_DLSS_Webinar_PresenationDeck_Web.pdf
Research instruments are sometimes referred to as tests. They are scales, inventories, questionnaires, and measurement tools used to collect data.
Information Needed
Examples
Manual for Research Instrument
Kerby, M. L. (1980). Kerby learning modality test: Manual (Rev. Ed.). Western Psychological Services.
Messer, B., & Harter, S. (2012). The self-perception profile for adults: Manual and questionnaires. University of Denver, Department of Psychology. https://portfolio.du.edu/downloadItem/225566
Sanders, C. M., Mauger, P. A., & Strong, P. N., Jr. (1984). Grief experience inventory: Manual. Consulting Psychologists Press.
Research Instrument - Test, Scale, Questionnaire
Alliance for the Study of School Climate. (n.d.). School climate assessment instrument (SCAI): Elementary teacher version (Version 2016 7.2.3). California State University-Los Angeles. https://web.calstatela.edu/centers/schoolclimate/pdf/assessment/ASSC-SCAI-E-G.pdf
American Chronic Pain Association. (n.d.). Quality of life scale: A measure of function for people with pain. https://health.gov/hcq/trainings/pathways/assets/pdfs/QOL_scale.pdf
Cohen, S. (n.d.). Perceived stress scale: 10 item. https://www.cmu.edu/dietrich/psychology/stress-immunity-disease-lab/scales/html/pss.html
Mart, E. G. (2011). The practical assessment of testamentary capacity and undue influence in the elderly. Professional Resource Express.
Database Record for Research Instrument
Mind Garden. (1977). Ways of coping questionnaire [Database record]. CINAHL Plus with Full Text. https://www.ebsco.com/products/research-databases/cinahl-plus-full-text
Peterson, J. C. (2016). Stress management questionnaire (Rev. Ed.) [Database record]. Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print. https://www.ebsco.com/products/research-databases/mental-measurements-yearbook-tests-print
Zeitlin, S, Williamson, G. G., & Szczepanski, M. (n.d.). Early coping inventories: A measure of adaptive behavior, observation and self-rated forms [Database record]. PsycTESTS. https://doi.org/10.1037/t12063-000
Social Media
Facebook • DeviantArt • Instagram • LinkedIn • Twitter • and many more...
Social Media defined by Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary: Forms of electronic communication (such as websites for social networking and microblogging) through which users create online communities to share information, ideas, personal messages, and other content (such as videos).
Social Media defined by Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary: Forms of electronic communication (such as websites for social networking and microblogging) through which users create online communities to share information, ideas, personal messages, and other content (such as videos).
Cite social media information only when it is original information. For example, if a Facebook post links you to an article on the UNICEF website, site only the UNICEF site and not the Facebook post; however, if the Facebook post offers original information, such as a Facebook post by a parent expressing the need for face mask exemptions for students in primary school, this is original information and you cite the Facebook post.
Information Needed
Examples
For examples of citing YouTube and TikTok videos, see .
Red Dirt in My Soul. (2020, July 26). National Day of the Cowboy! Around here we're all cowboys at times... [Image attached]. Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/RedDirtInMySoul/posts/3309310105780041
University of Wyoming. (2020, July 26). Here at the University of Wyoming we know that being a Cowboy is much more than the traditional definition [Image attached]. Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/RedDirtInMySoul/posts/3309310105780041
Wyoming Game and Fish Department. (2020, June 2). The big game migrations in Wyoming are quite a spectacle [Video]. Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/WyoGFD/posts/3346991035324781
CNeko-chan. (2020, March 19). Thank you [Image attached]. DeviantArt. https://www.deviantart.com/cneko-chan/art/Thank-You-835917030
Lavrov, A. [AlexLavrov]. (2020, March 19). The details [Image attached]. DeviantArt. https://www.deviantart.com/alexlavrov/art/The-Details-834422932
TessAzalea. (2020, June 14). Growth [Image attached]. DeviantArt. https://www.deviantart.com/tessazalea/art/Growth-845537566
Butko, B. [lincoln_highway]. (2020, August 20). A derecho storm with winds up to 140 mph has devastated Iowa, damaging or destroying 13 million acres of crops [Photograph]. Instagram. https://www.instagram.com/p/CEHq1J_lcCc/
National Portrait Gallery [nationalportraitgallery]. (2022, February 16). Today's #portraitoftheday is none other than Oscar Wilde [Photograph]. Instagram. https://www.instagram.com/p/CaCn4yjMoPJ/
University of Northern Colorado [unc_colorado]. (2022, February 10). Great careers start in bear country. Yours can too! Network with alumni working in careers you want to pursue [Video]. https://www.instagram.com/p/CZziObQBFy8/
Feinstein, A. (n.d.). Home [LinkedIn page]. Retrieved March 7, 2022, from https://www.linkedin.com/in/andyfeinstein/
Morse, A. (2022, March 5). It was great having Sara Frederic of Mississippi State University join us in our University of Northern Colorado of sport [Image attached] [Post]. LinkedIn. https://www.linkedin.com/feed/update/urn:li:activity:6905657650567032832/
University of Northern Colorado. (2021, May 7). UNC track and field student-athlete and new grad Armanni Portee '21 connected with alumnus and former football player Jonathan Martin [Video attached] [Post]. LinkedIn. https://www.linkedin.com/posts/university-of-northern-colorado_uncbears-alumni-connections-activity-6800803462264303616-QoEh
Obama, B. [@BarackObama]. (2022, March 3). The Ukrainian people need our help. If you're looking for a way to make a difference, here are some organizations [Thumbnail with link attached] [Tweet]. Twitter. https://twitter.com/BarackObama/status/1499505056126808068
Musk, E. [@elonmusk]. (n.d.). Tweets [Twitter profile]. Twitter. Retrieved March 8, 2022, https://twitter.com/elonmusk
Rocky Mountain National Park [@RockyNPS]. (2015, November 17). The next time someone tells you to take a hike, head to #RMNP! #TakeAHikeDay [Image attached] [Tweet]. https://twitter.com/RockyNPS/status/666668053522960384
Woodson, J. [@JackieWoodson]. (2022, March 4). This happened tonight. #HansChristianAndersenMedal 'for the most distinguished contribution to international children's literature' #IBBY2022 [Image attached] [Tweet]. Twitter. https://twitter.com/JackieWoodson/status/1499994495760449540
Student Work
Action Research Projects • Capstones • Dissertations •
Master's Theses • Undergraduate Honors Theses
Published student work refers to students works that are available online through a commercial database (such as ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, through an institutional repository (such as Scholarship & Creative Works @ Digital UNC), on a personal website, or other source. Unpublished student work refers to student works that are kept by a university but are only available in print.
Information Needed
Examples
Felder, A. (2020). The impact of research workbooks on assessment [Action research project, University of Northern Colorado]. Scholarship & Creative Works @ Digital UNC. https://digscholarship.unco.edu/arp/25/
Fiumara, D. A. (2016). The effects of motivational strategies to increase teachers' commitment and enthusiasm [Action research project, St. Catherine University]. Sophia, the St. Catherine University Repository. https://sophia.stkate.edu/maed/136/
Mousel, S. (2006). Bad medicine: Homework or headache? Responsibility and accountability for middle level mathematics students [Action research project, University of Nebraska Lincoln]. DigitalCommons@University of Nebraska-Lincoln. https://digitalcommons.unl.edu/mathmidactionresearch/51/
Senn, K. (2018). Evidence-based tuberculosis screening and testing clinical protocol for public health and primary care providers [Doctoral capstone, University of Northern Colorado]. Scholarship & Creative Works @ Digital UNC. https://digscholarship.unco.edu/capstones/38/
Wu, T. (2019). Give me a good reason: Exploring tightness-looseness as a framework for norms-nudges [Master's capstone, University of Pennsylvania]. ScholarlyCommons. https://repository.upenn.edu/mbds/15/
Beaumont, E. (2004). An empirical study of family group visitors to a millennium art gallery in the UK (Publication No. 2561899289) [Doctoral dissertation, University of Salford]. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.
Becker, D. (2021). From babysitting to teaching - Latina childcare providers acquiring effective teaching strategies: A grounded theory of transformative professional development [Doctoral dissertation, University of Northern Colorado]. Scholarship & Creative Works @ Digital UNC. https://digscholarship.unco.edu/dissertations/789/
DeFries Gallagher, A. (2021). A qualitative analysis of the recommended implementation and replication of the cure violence model according to New York City and Chicago program staff interviews [Doctoral dissertation, Johns Hopkins University]. JScholarship. http://jhir.library.jhu.edu/handle/1774.2/66850
Lebsack, R. R. (1976). Identifying facilitative characteristics of major advisers by normative judgment analysis [Unpublished doctoral dissertation]. University of Northern Colorado.
Williams, K. J. (2018). The structure of models of second-order set theories [Doctoral dissertation, City University of New York]. Kameryn J. Williams. http://kamerynjw.net/research/pubs/diss/kwilliams-diss.pdf
Baretta, M. (2021). Exploring communication strategies used by speech-language pathologists and nursing professionals prior to and during the coronavirus disease 2019 pandemic [Master's thesis, University of Northern Colorado]. Scholarship & Creative Works @ Digital UNC. https://digscholarship.unco.edu/theses/213/
Gallagher, W. J. (1990). The effect of altitude induced hypoxia on visual evoked potentials [Unpublished master's thesis]. University of Northern Colorado.
Han, M. N. (1994). State succession by Ukraine: Territories and armed forces from the former USSR [Master's thesis, Central Michigan University]. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.
Ardovino, A. (2013). Heroes of rock: A design post mortem exploring the video game design process as it relates to player satisfaction [Undergraduate honors thesis, University of Utah]. USpace Institutional Repository. https://collections.lib.utah.edu/ark:/87278/s6611f5q
Brown, S. A. (2021). Understanding how high levels of noise affect the equine auditory system [Undergraduate honors thesis, University of Northern Colorado]. Scholarship & Creative Works @ Digital UNC. https://digscholarship.unco.edu/honors/48/
Chuor, B. N. (2018). Asian-American political participation: The consequences of social invisibility and political alienation [Senior honors thesis, University of Houston]. University of Houston Institutional Repository. https://uh-ir.tdl.org/handle/10657/4308
Information Needed
Examples
Chou, R. (2022). Subacute and chronic low back pain: Nonsurgical interventional treatment. UpToDate. Retrieved February 1, 2022, from https://www.uptodate.com/contents/subacute-and-chronic-low-back-pain-nonsurgical-interventional-treatment
Cohen, P. (2022). COVID-19: Outpatient evaluation and management of acute illness in adults. UpToDate. Retrieved March 5, 2022, from https://www.uptodate.com/contents/covid-19-outpatient-evaluation-and-management-of-acute-illness-in-adults
Thurber, C. A., & Walton, E. (2022). Homesickness. UpToDate. Retrieved March 17, 2022, from https://www.uptodate.com/contents/homesickness
Visual Works
Artwork in Museum • Artwork on Museum Website
• Clip Art, Illustration, Stock Image, & Vector Image • Exhibition • in Library Databases • Infographic
• Installation • Map • Mixed Media • Painting • Photograph • Sculpture • Slides
Needed Information
Examples
Birritjama, D. (n.d.). Cat and crow legend [Painting]. Art Gallery of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia.
Escher, M. C. (1935). Hand with reflecting sphere [Lithograph]. Detroit Institute of Arts Museum, Detroit, MI, United States.
Savage, E. (1796). The Washington family [Painting]. National Gallery of Art, Washington, DC, United States.
Kestrel, S. (1989). Spectre of ancient pathways [Sculpture]. Benson Sculpture Garden, Loveland, CO, United States.
Russin, R. (1959). Abraham Lincoln memorial monument [Sculpture]. Summit Rest Area, Interstate 80, WY, United States.
Weimer, D. (2004). Northern vision [Sculpture]. University of Northern Colorado University Center, Greeley, CO, United States.
Ducrollay, J. (1744). Snuff box [Object]. The Wallace Collection, London, United Kingdom. https://bit.ly/3iHcxr7
Macalister, M. (1966). Victim [Sculpture]. Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki, Auckland, New Zealand. https://www.aucklandartgallery.com/explore-art-and-ideas/artwork/3360/victim
Meucci, A. (ca. 1825). Mrs. Pierre Toussaint [Painting]. New York Historical Society Museum & Library, New York, NY, United States. https://bit.ly/3wq9efG
Vigée Le Brun, L.-É. (1780). La paix ramenant l’abondance [Peace bringing abundance] [Painting]. The Louvre, Paris, France. https://collections.louvre.fr/en/ark:/53355/cl010061985
Bourke-White, M. (1936). Wind tunnel construction, Fort Peck Dam, Montana [Photograph]. ArtStor. https://www.artstor.org/
Donald Trump – make America hate again. [Political sticker]. (2015-2016). ArtStor. https://www.artstor.org/
Murakami, T., & Louis Vuitton Design House. (2003). Bag (iid-bfl-141508) [Purse]. Bloomsbury Fashion Central. https://www.bloomsburyfashioncentral.com/
Oscar de la Renta. (ca. 1984). Dress (iid-bfl-141595) [Clothing]. Bloomsbury Fashion Central. https://www.bloomsburyfashioncentral.com/
Clip Art, Illustration, Stock Image, & Vector Image
bniique. (2021, June 2]. [Photograph of close-up of eye with reflection of window]. Pixabay. https://pixabay.com/photos/eyes-look-face-eye-cat-girl-5248678/
Boulart, G. (1877). Exocoetus volitans [Illustration]. Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Exocoetus_volitans.jpg
grmarcstock. (n.d.). Diversity skins of black women and men cartoons [Vector image]. Vecteezy. https://www.vecteezy.com/vector-art/1760631-diversity-skins-of-black-women-and-man-cartoons
Prado, L. (2019, October 24). Dancer [Clip art]. The Noun Project. https://thenounproject.com/icon/dancer-3462518/
Crooks, J. (Curator). (2021, September 1-2022, February 21). Fragments of epic memory [Exhibition; Photographs]. Art Gallery of Ontario, Toronto, Ontario, Canada. https://ago.ca/exhibitions/fragments-epic-memory
Mangat, T. H. (Artist). (2021, October 8-2022, April 23). Capturing the moment: Works by Terrie Mangat [Exhibition; Quilts]. International Quilt Museum at the University of Nebraska, Lincoln, NE, United States.
Oliver, V. C. (Curator). (2021, November 5-2022, February 6). The dirty south: Contemporary art, material culture, and the sonic impulse [Exhibition; Mixed media]. Contemporary Arts Museum, Houston, TX, United States.
Bernander, P. (n.d.). Social capital and global health: What trusting relationships tell us about the global burden of disease [Infographic]. https://bit.ly/36etoP6
Cash, I. (n.d.). Infographic of infographics [Infographic]. http://www.ivan.cash/infographic-of-infographics/
León, W., Martinez, J. D., Ramos, C., Saab, Z., & Pacific Rubiales Energy. (2013). History of life as we know it [Infographic]. Bēhance. https://www.behance.net/gallery/10901127/History-of-Life
Beuys, J. (1983-1985). The end of the Twentieth Century [Installation]. Tate Modern, Bankside London, United Kingdom. https://www.tate.org.uk/art/artworks/beuys-the-end-of-the-twentieth-century-t05855
Christo. (2021, September 18-October 3). L’Arc de Triomphe, wrapped [Installation]. L’Arc de Triomphe, Paris, France. https://christojeanneclaude.net/artworks/arc-de-triomphe-wrapped/
Cummins, P., & Piper, T. (2014, July-November). Blood swept lands and seas of red [Installation]. Tower of London, London, United Kingdom.
Kusama, Y. (2013). Infinity mirrored room – the souls of millions of light years [Installation]. The Art Gallery of Ontario, Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
Clark, W., & Lewis, S. (1814). A map of Lewis and Clark’s track, across the western portion of North America from the Mississippi to the Pacific Ocean by order of the executive on the United States [Map]. Wikipedia. https://bit.ly/3iyHwW5
Google Maps. (n.d.). [Terrain map of Pawnee Buttes Trailhead in Colorado]. Retrieved March 24, 2022, https://bit.ly/3Jz1jk2
Humphreys, A. A., & Egloffstein, F. W. (1858). Rio Colorado of the West (No.2) [Map]. Library of Congress Geography and Map Division, Washington, DC, United States.
International Gay & Lesbian Aquatics. (2020, December). Sexual orientation laws in the world: From criminalisation of consensual same-sex sexual acts between adults to protection against discrimination based on sexual orientation [Map]. Retrieved from https://ilga.org/sites/default/files/downloads/ENG_ILGA_World_map_sexual_orientation_laws_dec2020.png
National Geospatial Technical Operations Center. (2022, March 14). US topo 7.5-minute map for Clarkville SE, CO [Map]. United States Geological Survey. https://www.sciencebase.gov/catalog/item/623a7c15d34e915b67cdf824
United States Forest Service. (2020). Winter motor vehicle use map: White River National Forest, Dillon Ranger District, Colorado, effective dates Nov. 23-May 20 [Map]. University of Northern Colorado James A. Michener Library, Greeley, CO, United States.
Anatsui, E. (2005). Fading cloth [Mixed media artwork]. Saint Louis Art Museum, St. Louis, MO, United States. https://www.slam.org/collection/objects/48425/
Bradford, M. (2007). Helter skelter I [Mixed media artwork]. The Broad, Los Angeles, CA, United States.
Kokin, L. (2003). Approximation #3 [Mixed media artwork]. Boise Art Museum, Boise, ID, United States. http://www.boiseartmuseum.org/exhibition/bam-unpacked-for-kids/
Pindell, H. (1990). Autobiography: Scapegoat [Mixed media artwork]. Garth Greenan Gallery, New York, NY, United States.
Dali, S. (1972). Mae West lips sofa [Furniture]. Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, Rotterdam, Netherlands. https://www.boijmans.nl/en/collection/artworks/122647/mae-west-lips-sofa
Oscar Heyman Brothers. (1929). Marjorie Merriweather post brooch [Jewelry]. Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, MA, United States. https://bit.ly/3wtwaLe
Tiffany, L. C. (ca. 1910-1920). Hibiscus and parrots [Stained glass window]. The Met, New York, NY, United States.
United States Army. (1912-1923). 115th cavalry WWI corporal garrison uniform [Clothing]. Military Memorial Museum, Cheyenne, WY, United States.
Boardman, S. A. (2011). President Obama, Denver State Commission [Painting; Portrait]. Colorado State Capitol, Denver, CO, United States.
Duesberry, J. (n.d.). Still life with chintz and books [Painting]. University of Northern Colorado Archives & Special Collections @ Digital UNC, Greeley, CO, United States. https://digarch.unco.edu/islandora/object/cogru:119851
Green, W. O. (n.d.). The search for knowledge [Painting; Triptych]. University of Northern Colorado James A. Michener Library, Greeley, CO, United States. https://www.unco.edu/library/about_us/art.aspx
Silva, A., & Kiess, Z. (2020). In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity [Painting; Mural]. 9th Avenue and 7th Street, Greeley, CO, United States.
Bell, C. M. (ca. 1849-1893). American Indian man with headdress and bear claw necklace and ornaments [Photograph]. Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History, Washington, DC, United States. https://www.si.edu/object/archives/components/sova-naa-photolot-80-ref540
McClure, L. C. (1927). [Photograph of the view of Voorhies Memorial with Christmas decorations, Civic Center, Denver, Colorado]. Western History Collection, Denver Public Library, Denver, CO, United States.
Vavra, R. (n.d.). Portrait of James A. Michener [Photograph]. University of Northern Colorado Archives & Special Collections @ Digital UNC, Greeley, CO, United States. https://digarch.unco.edu/islandora/object/cogru:125648
Woodman, F. (ca. 1975-1978). [Self-portrait in cemetery with camera in front of face] [Photograph]. Museum of Contemporary Art, Denver, CO, United States. https://mcadenver.org/exhibitions/francesca-woodman
Černý, D. (2007). Metalmorphosis [Sculpture]. Whitehall Corporate Center, Charlotte, NC, United States. https://www.whitehallcorporatecenter.com/metalmorphosis
Kim, M. C. (1998). Sugar Land quan âm [Sculpture]. Vietnamese Buddhist Center, Sugar Land, TX, United States.
Lundeen, G. (1993). The promise of the prairie [Sculpture]. Lincoln Park, Greeley, CO, United States.
Shippen, G. (2016). Sentinel of the Plains [Sculpture]. Brinton Museum, Big Horn, WY, United States. https://thebrintonmuseum.org/collections/sculptures/
When Websites Are NOT Websites
When citing the digital version of another type of source, cite it not as a website but as the specific type of source. For example, a digital journal article should be cited as journal article, not a website; a YouTube video should be cited as a video, not a website. This is true for books, book chapters, newspaper articles, magazine articles, dissertations, theses, capstones, grants, podcast, government reports, etc. For more information, refer to the Publication Manual, p. 282, 9.2.
Information Needed
Examples
Website, Author and Publisher Are Different
Central Intelligence Agency. (2022, March 3). Bolivia. The World Factbook. https://www.cia.gov/the-world-factbook/countries/bolivia
Mullis, K. (n.d.). Altermune: Chemically programmable immunity. Dr. Kary Banks Mullis 1944-2019. http://www.karymullis.com/altermune.shtml
National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine. (2022, January 15). Famotidine. MedlinePlus. Retrieved March 17, 2022, from https://medlineplus.gov/druginfo/meds/a687011.html
Murray, J. (2021, July 29). What are goji berries? The Spruce Eats. https://www.thespruceeats.com/what-are-goji-berries-3376443
Website, Author and Publisher Are Same
American Red Cross. (n.d.). Building safer communities: Preparing families for disasters around the globe. https://www.redcross.org/about-us/our-work/international-services/building-safer-communities.html
Life Is Good. (n.d.). One van two brothers three simple words: Life is good. https://www.lifeisgood.com/company/about.html
The King Center. (n.d.). The King philosophy – Nonviolence365. https://thekingcenter.org/about-tkc/the-king-philosophy/
University of Northern Colorado. (2022, January 20). Office of the president: About President Feinstein. https://www.unco.edu/president/about.aspx