Skip to Main Content
Main site homepage

MAS 225: Possible Topics for Research

Topics

Potential Topics for Research

Below are a few local history topics student might choose to explore for their projects, and some potential sources to help them get started on their research. This list is not exhaustive and is just a snapshot to help give students a place to start.

  • Spanish Colony in Greeley
    • Greeley Museum
    • Greeley Tribune
      • Microfilm copies on the 2nd floor of Michener Library
      • Print copies available through Archives
    • UNC Archives has secondary sources

  • Greeley Grey’s baseball team
    • Greeley Museum
    • Greeley Tribune

  • Deportation efforts of the 1930s under Governor Edwin Johnson
    • Colorado State Archives
    • Colorado Historic Newspapers

  • Bracero workers program 1940s
    • Colorado Historic Newspapers
    • Audio tapes – Falcon collection

  • Sugar Beet Industry
    • CSU: /great%20western%20sugar%20company%2C%20publisher/field/creato/mode/e
    • Greeley Museum:
      • Great Western Sugar Company Collection 2013.30
        • This collection contains slides, photographs, and film reels relating to the Great Western Sugar Company’s agricultural research and beet processing practices from the 1950s through the 1980s. This includes documentation of local sugar beet fields and farmers, research into best practices for sugar beet farming, pesticide research, documentation of local agricultural machinery, and documentation of local beet processing factories. Also included are slides and photographs of what are presumably Great Western employees.
        • https://greeleymuseums.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/Great-Western-Sugar-Company-Collection-2013.30.pdf
    • Greeley Tribune
    • Loveland Museum
      • Documentation of Hispanic workers at Great Western
    • UNC Archives have company newsletters from Great Western, and secondary sources

 

  • Chicano Activism of the 1960s-1970s
    • UNC Archives:
      • Jay Alire Collection
        • An organized collection of reports, newspaper articles, correspondence, and other materials documenting the career of Jay Alire. Alire was active in the Chicano movement and AIM in northern Colorado, and continued working in social justice causes throughout his career. He was also interested in exploring prison reform and police brutality.
    • History Colorado Collections

  • National Floral Workers Strike, 1968-1969 at Brighton led by Lupe Bresino

  • 1966 Coors Strike & Boycotts at Golden

  • Immigration History
    • UNC Archives:
      • Weld County Migrant Council Records (SC055)
        • Details the efforts in Weld County in starting summer schools for children of migrants (1951-1989)
      • Reports of the Immigration Commission (Govt. Publications– J 21.2)
        • 41 volume report of a commission appointed by President Theodore Roosevelt that was published in 1911
        • Statistics and analysis of the impact of immigrants on such things as the U.S. job market, schools, etc.
      • End of the Row by Carmel C. Solano
        • Autobiography of a migrant’s experience – opportunity for some oral history

  • Education History
    • UNC Archives:
      • North Central Association. Colorado State Committee (C002)
        • Annual accreditation reports for all the junior and senior high schools in the area dating from 1914-1991; includes demographic information the student populations, hygienic conditions, laboratory and library facilities, pupil-to-teacher ratio, and more.
      • Hispanic Studies – once Mexican American Studies
        • Box: RG007.080 (U185011929940), Folder 21
        • This folder contains brochures, flyers, application forms for the Hispanic Honors Program, and the Department of Hispanic Studies newsletter listed below: Mosaico Hispanico. No. 1, Spring 1984. 2 copies.
      • Confluencia
        • RG007.083a (U185011929982)
        • A scholarly journal of Hispanic studies, celebrated its 25th anniversary in 2010
      • UNC Student Organizations collection RG010-S005
        • MEChA, Sub-Series 12
        • Black and Hispanic Coalition, sub-series 16
      • Martin Candelaria Papers SC064
        •  Candelaria as a leading figure in foreign language education development
      • UNC Cesar Chavez Cultural Center records (RG009-S028)
        • Materials related to the Hispanic student experience at UNC (1954-2011)

  • Mariano Medina
    • Loveland Museum
      • Medina was born in Taos, New Mexico, served as a guide for one of Fremont’s expeditions, and settled in the Big Thompson Valley in the 1850s.  .