Research Guides: MAS 225: Secondary Sources

Finding Books & eBooks

Finding Books and eBooks in the Catalog

Use filters on the left to narrow your search (by format, date, etc.)
Read eBooks by clicking on the title. You'll need to log in with your UNC username and password if you're off campus.
Request print books with the "Request it" button to the right of a title. You'll get an email when the book is ready to check out.
Or you can find a book on the shelf yourself. Books with call numbers starting with A-F are on the second floor. G-Z are on the third floor.
The core section for Chicano/a and Latinx Studies is E184.M5 on the second floor.

Checking Out Books

You can pick up and check out books at the large desk on the main floor.
You'll need your BearID
You can check out as many books as you'd like
Books are due back at the end of the semester

Finding Articles

Summon

Start with Summon, which searches all University Libraries databases at once.

Summon is good for finding articles. Use the "Peer-Reviewed" and "Journal Article" filters on the left.
Save sources and send them to yourself using the bookmark symbol.
Save sources to RefWorks or other citation management tools using the menu symbol (three dots).

Subject-Specific Databases

If Summon gives you too many results or irrelevant results, try a subject-specific database. Below are some relevant databases:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window A leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window With its curated full-text materials, Ethnic Diversity Source is essential to support the study of African Americans, Arab Americans, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans, Latinx Americans, Multiracial Americans, and Native Americans, among others, with respect to their cultures, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences. Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, historical documents, and biographies are complemented by primary sources, such as speeches and interviews. Complete with robust collections of videos and e-books, Ethnic Diversity Source creates a dynamic research experience for students and researchers.
Fuente Academica This link opens in a new window Over 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window Journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Providing full text for thousands of journals, books and other published sources from around the world, this authoritative resource offers an invaluable collection for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Homepage for journals published on the JSTOR platform. UNC does not subscribe to all titles.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window Contains indexing for more than 500 publications covering a wide range of interdisciplinary fields such as addiction studies, anthropology, corrections, economics, gender studies, gerontology, minority studies, political sciences, psychology, sociology.

Browsing Journals

You can also browse through individual journals for articles. Click on the "Journals" tab on the Libraries homepage and search for the journal's name. Below are a few examples of relevant journals:

Afro-Hispanic Review
Aztlan: A Journal of Chicano Studies
The Hispanic American Historical Review
Hispanic Health Care International
Hispanic Journal of Behavioral Sciences
Harvard Journal of Hispanic Policy
Journal of Hispanic Higher Education
Journal of Latinx Psychology

Search Strategies

Use these strategies in Summon, subject-specific databases, or the Catalog.

Expanding Your Search:

Use a truncation symbol. For example, Latin* will find Latina, Latino, Latinx, etc.
Use OR in the advanced search mode. Latina OR Chicana will find sources with either keyword.
Clear all filters/limiters

Narrowing Your Search:

Use a phrasal search. "Chicano Movement" will find those two words together and in that order.
Use AND in the advanced search mode. Mexican American AND education will find sources with both keywords.
Use filters such as date, content type, and discipline.

Other Search Strategies:

Use old-fashioned citation searching. Search in a source's references to find more sources.
Use newer citation searching tools. Put the title of a relevant source into Summon or Google Scholar. Then click on the "Cited by" link to find newer sources that cite your source.
Look for a relevant source's subject headings. These are like librarian hashtags that you can use to improve your search.