Pandemic Parallels: A Look Back at the 1918 Influenza Through the Lens of 2020This year is not the first time that UNC’s campus has faced a global pandemic. Just over 100 years ago Colorado State Teachers College had to take drastic measures to battle the 1918 influenza outbreak. Read more in this article from Archives & Special Collections.
Supporting Campus Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, & Antiracism EffortsThe University Libraries, in collaboration with the UNC Office of Equity and Inclusion, assembled an online guide providing resources to help educate members of the UNC community and raise awareness of different lived experiences. This research guide is a starting point for discovering UNC Libraries resources on DEI (Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion) and anti-racist topics. The guide includes a link for suggestions for additional resources.
Colorado Association of Libraries Recognizes Two UNC University Libraries EmployeesHelen Reed, Dean Emerita, and Sarah Vaughn, Head of Access Services, were recognized at this year’s Colorado Association of Libraries Annual Conference in September.
Student Spotlight: Jasmine Poblano, Archives & Special Collections InternCat Hildebrand interviewed Jasmine Poblano, a student intern in Archives & Special Collections (ASC), about her experience at UNC. Jasmine is a McNair Scholar and Mexican American Studies major. Her work in ASC has focused on processing items from the Jay Alire collection and coordinating the current Day of the Dead exhibit.
2020 by the Numbers2020 has been an unusual year at UNC, but the Libraries have remained available to support students in both on-campus and remote learning. This infographic provides information on a variety of Libraries offerings and activities during the 2020 academic year.
