Eliminating Barriers to Education: University Libraries' Involvement in UNC's OER InitiativeOpen Educational Resources (OER) increase access for students by reducing costs of textbooks and other course materials. Over the past three years University Libraries staff and faculty have collaborated with others across campus on the UNC OER Initiative Committee, supporting faculty in adopting, adapting, and creating openly-available resources using Colorado Department of Higher Education grant funds.
Student Spotlight: Jakob CoykendallJenn Beck and Cat Hildebrand interviewed Jakob Coykendall, a McNair Scholar and senior majoring in Asian Studies. Jakob, who has been working with librarian Darren Ilett, discusses the impact the University Libraries had on their education as a First-Generation student and their McNair research project.
Connie Willis: Her Collection and Her WordsA UNC alumna, Connie Willis is an extraordinary writer whose wit and skill with dialogue are legendary. Archives & Special Collections holds the Connie Willis Collection, which spans from the late 1970s to the present. This article details her career and collection but also contains a snippet of her chat with Katie Shull, archivist. (Photo by Cordelia Willis)
Capturing the Unprecedented: The Coronavirus at UNC CollectionWhen faced with the challenge of recording the COVID-19 pandemic in early 2020, UNC archivists decided to be proactive. Asking for submissions from the Bear community, the Archives & Special Collections Department gathered a wide array of personal stories and documentation.
Comings & GoingsPlease join us in congratulating our seven staff that retired this year and 15 student employees that graduated during the 2020-21 academic year. While their departures are bittersweet, we are excited to welcome a dynamic group of faculty and staff to the team.
